LibGuides: African-American Women in Rock: Home

African-American Women Inductees

These links take you to the artist biography pages on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Website.

Podcasts

Books

African American music : an introduction by edited by Mellonee V. Burnim, Portia K. Maultsby
Call Number: Rock Hall Reference ML3556 .A37 2006
Black Diamond Queens: African American Women and Rock and Roll by Maureen Mahon
Call Number: ML82 .M25 2020
Black pearls : blues queens of the 1920's by Daphne Duval Harrison
Call Number: ML3521 .H37 1990
Electric ladyland : women and rock culture by Lisa L. Rhodes
Call Number: ML82 .R47 2005
Encyclopedia of African American music by Emmett G. Price III, executive editor ; Tammy L. Kernodle and Horace J. Maxile, Jr., associate editors
Call Number: Rock Hall Reference ML101.U6 E53 2011
Encyclopedia of Pop Rock and Soul by Irwin Stambler
Call Number: Rock Hall Reference ML102.P66 S83 1989
Icons of R & B and soul : an encyclopedia of the artists who revolutionized rhythm by Bob Gulla
Call Number: Rock Hall Reference ML3521 .G85 2008
Keep on pushing : Black power music from blues to hip-hop by Denise Sullivan
Call Number: ML3556 .S94 2011
Rage to survive : the Etta James story by Etta James ; and David Ritz
Call Number: ML420.J364 A3 2003
We gotta get out of this place : the true, tough story of women in rock by Gerri Hirshey
Call Number: ML3534 .H57 2001

CDs

The Library and Archives can help you learn more about these artists via our audio collection. Some suggestions, below.

Amazing grace by Aretha Franklin
Call Number: CD FRAN-A AMAZ 1990 Rock Hall Stacks 2
Be my baby : the very best of the Ronettes by The Ronettes
Call Number: CD RONE BE-MY 2011 Rock Hall Stacks 2
So much love : a Darlene Love anthology, 1958-1998 by Darlene Love
Call Number: CD LOVE SOMU 2008 Rock Hall Stacks 2
The essential Bessie Smith by Bessie Smith
Call Number: CD SMIT-B ESSE 1997 Rock Hall Stacks 2

DVDs

These are just a few of the DVDs available for viewing at the Library and Archives.

The best of the Supremes on the Ed Sullivan show by Sofa Entertainment ; producer, Josh Solt ; director, Andrew Solt
Call Number: DVD SUPR BEST-S 2011 Rock Hall Stacks 2
Mahalia Jackson : the power and the glory by Xenon Entertainment Group in association with Scheftel/Taylor Productions ; executive producer, S. Leigh Savidge ; produced by Grazka Taylor & Jeff Scheftel ; written by Michael Singh ; directed by Jeff Scheftel
Call Number: DVD JACK-MA POWE 2002 Rock Hall Stacks 2
Motown gold from the Ed Sullivan show [videorecording] by Sofa Entertainment ; producer, Josh Solt ; director, Andrew Solt
Call Number: DVD COLL MOTO-G 2011 Rock Hall Stacks 2

Search for Archival Materials

Search through the Rock Hall's archival collections here, including photographs, manuscripts, business records, posters, handbills, recordings, and much more from performers, bands, record label executives, recording studios, and the fans themselves!

Archival Collections

New to Archives? Check out:

Archival collections are described in Finding Aids that provide you with historical and organizational information on a collection, subject headings that tie it to other library and archival materials, and an inventory to help you pinpoint what you need. The detail of inventories vary. Search the full text of finding aids for these collections and more via the catalog.

Databases

These are subscription databases available only within the Library + Archives.