LibGuides: Chuck Berry: Home

Chuck Berry

Perhaps no one had more influence on the formation and development of rock & roll than Chuck Berry.

The St. Louis native internalized country, blues and R&B influences to create a singular guitar technique. More on rockhall.com...

Click image for source info. Open image in a new tab or window for a larger view.

Books

All books pertaining to Chuck Berry can be found here.

Chuck Berry: the Autobiography by Chuck Berry
Call Number: ML420.B47 A3 1987 c.2
Chuck Berry: the Biography by John Collis
Call Number: ML420.B47 C655 2004
The Chuck Berry International Directory; vols. 1 & 3 by Morten Reff
Call Number: ML420.B47 R44 2008

Publication Date: 2008
Chuck Berry: Rock 'n' Roll Music by Howard A. De Witt
Call Number: ML420.B47 D49 1985

Video

All video pertaining to Chuck Berry can be found here.

Brown Eyed Handsome Man
Call Number: VID BERR BROW 2020
Chuck Berry live at the Toronto Peace Festival 1969
Call Number: VID BERR LIVE-TO 2012
Hail! Hail! Rock 'n' Roll
Call Number: VID BERR HAIL 2006

Spotify Playlist

Audio

All audio pertaining to Chuck Berry can be found here.

Chuck Berry by Chuck Berry
Call Number: CD BERR CHUC 1999
The Chess Box by Chuck Berry
Call Number: CDB BERR CHESS 1988

Podcasts

YouTube Video

Archival Collections

Listed below are notable collections and items from the Rock Hall's Archives. You can find more by searching our catalog here.

ARC-0029 Herb Staehr Collection
Contains slide images and video of live performances by Berry in Paris, Greenwich Village, and on the television show Midnight Special.
ARC-0037 Jeff Gold Collection, 1938-2010, undated
Contains a poster, newspaper advertisement, artist file, and flyers related to Berry's career and live performances during the late 1960s to early 1970s.
ARC-0156 Manny and Skippy Gerard Collection, 1967-1982, undated
Consists of handbills for live performances by Berry with the likes of the Grateful Dead, Bill Haley and the Comets, Bo Diddley, the Platters, the Coasters, Ray Price, and others in the San Francisco Bay area, during the 1950s and 1970s.
ARC-0024 Michael Ochs Collection, 1948-1997, undated
Consists of an artist file for Berry from 1988 and an undated audiocassette recording of Eddie Cochran with Chuck Berry, Dr. Rock, and Jerry Lee Lewis.

Articles

Free articles are available on Rock's Backpages through the Free on RBP link. The articles below may require you to be on-site at the Library & Archives in order to read them.