Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections: RG-0001 to RG-0009

Records of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, RG-0001 to RG-0009

Available only via permission of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Contact us for more information.

 

National Archives NHPRCRG-0001 Curatorial Affairs Division Records (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Records), 1971-2010, undated, 241.56 l.f.
The Exhibitions and Curatorial Division Records of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum are divided into five subgroups, three of which represent the departments within the division: Collections Management, Curatorial, and Exhibitions. A fourth subgroup contains the records of the division Vice President; and, the fifth subgroup, the Division's audiovisual materials. The record group currently contains materials spanning the years 1971 to 2010 and includes some undated material; the bulk of the records falls between the years 1994 and 2008. The record group documents the varied activities of the Division, including the acquisition of materials for the Museum's permanent collection; accessioning, cataloging, and processing of donated and loaned materials; ensuring proper storage and exhibition conditions for the materials; curation and installation of exhibits; and artist relations. Due to the Division's close involvement in the grand opening of the Museum, the record group also contains materials related to the planning for many of the events and activities that took place at that time. Available by permission.

National Archives NHPRCRG-0002 Development Division Records (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Records), 1995-2017, 2.92 l.f
The Development Division Records of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum are dated 1995 to 2017 and contain undated materials. The records consist of office files that document the activities of the division.

National Archives NHPRCRG-0003 General Information and History Records (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Records), 1970-2003, undated, 72.42 l.f 
This record group documents the early history of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum from 1970-2003, with the bulk of the records dating from 1986-1996. There are eleven subgroups: artist files, research coordinator files, Development Department records, Membership Department records, photographs, architectural plans, special events, marketing, American Contemporary Music Center Development Corporation, audio-visual materials, Curatorial Department, and petitions.

National Archives NHPRCRG-0004 Education and Public Programs Division Records (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Records), 1968-2018, 101.54 l.f. The Education and Public Programs Division Records of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum currently consist of materials related to the departments of Education and Public Programs and the Library and Archives. 

National Archives NHPRCRG-0005 Marketing and Communications Division Records (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Records), 1989-2020, 39.38 l.f. 
The Marketing and Communications Division Records of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum are divided into five subgoups, three of which represent departments of the Division: Communications, Sales, Promotions and Programming and Marketing. A fifth subgroup contains the Divisions audiovisual materials.

National Archives NHPRCRG-0006 Executive Division Records (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Records), 1985-2019, 21.25 l.f.
The Executive Division Records of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum are dated 1985 to 2019 and includes undated materials. The materials consist of administrative files and are divided into two subgroups that document the Executive Division: Subgroup I: Director and Subgroup II: President and CEO.

National Archives NHPRCRG-0007 Finance and Administration Division Records (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Records), 1987-2016, 8.54 l.f.
The Finance and Administration Division of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum are dated 1987 to 2016 and includes undated materials. The records are divided into three series: Series I: Administrative Files, Series II: Legal Department, and Series III: Audio-Visual Materials.

RG-0008 Curatorial Photograph File (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum--Curatorial Affairs Division Records), 1923-2006, undated, 20.0 l.f.
The Curatorial Department's Photograph File for the Curatorial Affairs Division of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum consists of approximately 1,500 artist files, as well as files dedicated to specific locations, photographers, subjects, and exhibits. The bulk of the artist files consists of photocopies of images from Corbis, Getty, and the Michael Ochs Archives that include information on obtaining permission for the use of those images. Some of the artist files also contain original publicity stills, performance shots, negatives, and slides. These files were originally compiled by the Curatorial Department for reference in curating exhibits, but have also been used across the institution for development, marketing, publications, research, and other purposes as copyright allows. Also included in the collection are files of images with unidentified people and places, and subject-based folders containing images relevant to the work of the Curatorial Affairs Division (i.e., Artists and motorcycles). Researchers may want to view these files if a desired artist’s name is not found to be listed individually. There are also files containing the work of individual photographers; this material was originally filed at the end of the collection but is now filed alphabetically with the rest of the collection materials.

RG-0009 Library and Archives Subject File (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum--Curatorial Affairs Division Records), 1926-2011, undated, 1.0 l.f.
The Subject Files is an artificial collection, created by the Library and Archives of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. Materials span the years of 1926 to 2011, consisting mainly of original and photocopied newspaper and magazine clippings. Items such as concert programs, promotional brochures, and artist biographies are also included. These files were compiled by the Library and Archives for reference but are also used across the institution for curating exhibits, development, marketing, publications, research, and other purposes as copyright allows.

National Archives NHPRCRG-0014 Culture and Strategy Division Records (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum), 2017, 2.17 l.f.
The records of the Culture and Strategy Division of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum are dated 2017 and consist of a portfolio of photographs and paintings from the following sources: Hulton Archive, James Fortune, and Joe Petruccio.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org