LibGuides: Clarence Avant: Home

Clarence Avant

The Godfather of Black Music.

"Clarence Avant is someone who makes the impossible possible...He has spent a lifetime helping artists understand - and earn - their true value." More on rockhall.com...

Click image for source information.

Books

All of our books pertaining to Clarence Avant can be found here.

Q: the Autobiography of Quincy Jones by Quincy Jones
Call Number: ML429.J66 A3 2001

Video

All of our videos pertaining to Clarence Avant can be found here.

The Best of Soul Train
Call Number: DVB COLL SOUL-B 2010
Searching for Sugar Man
Call Number: BRD RODR-SI SEAR 2013

Youtube

Rock's Backpages Articles

Free articles are available on Rock's Backpages through the Free on RBP link. The articles below may require you to be on-site at the Library & Archives in order to read them.

Chuck Brown and The Soul Searchers: Bustin' Loose
John Abbey, Blues & Soul, February 1979
Bill Withers, Superstar
Roger St. Pierre, New Musical Express, 12 August 1972
Rodriguez: Coming in From the Cold
j. poet, Alarm, July 2008

Archival Resources

If available, all archival materials related to Clarence Avant can be found here . Listed below are notable collections and items.

Terry Stewart Collection
The Terry Stewart Collection contains rock and roll ephemera collected by Stewart over the course of several decades. From a general point of view, the collection offers an extensive survey of rock and roll as it appears in advertisements, film, and on stage. Pertinent to this guide, the collection includes a program for Michael Jackson's "Bad" World Tour 1988, which Clarence Avant promoted.

Clarence Avant: Home

Clarence Avant

The Godfather of Black Music.

Books

Video

Youtube

Rock's Backpages Articles

Other Articles

Archival Resources

Podcasts

Influence & Legacy

Clarence Avant was influenced by...

Joe Glaser

Nat "King" Cole

Quincy Jones

Clarence Avant inspired people like...

Berry Gordy

Don Cornelius

Sean "Diddy" Combs