LibGuides: Progressive Rock: Journey

Audio

Captured by Journey
Call Number: CD JOUR CAPT 1986
Performed by Journey (Steve Perry, vocals ; Neal Schon, guitar ; Gregg Rolie, keyboards, vocals ; Ross Valory, bass ; Steve Smith, drums).

Video

Journey Live in Houston 1981: The Escape Tour
Call Number: VID JOUR LIVE-H 2005
Recorded November 6, 1981 in Houston, TX, for broadcast on MTV. Performers include Journey (Steve Perry, lead vocals ; Neal Schon, lead guitar, vocals ; Jonathan Cain, keyboards, vocals ; Ross Valory, bass, vocals ; Steve Smith, drums).

Articles

Free articles are available on Rock's Back Pages through the Free on RBP link. The articles below may require you to be on-site at the Library & Archives in order to read them.

Journey: Hold The (Balls On The) Line by Geoff Barton, Sounds, 24 March 1979
Journey: No Longer an Uphill Road by John Swenson, Rolling Stone, 1 June 1978
Journey As A Way Of Life by Dave DiMartino, Creem, September 1981
Journey: Escape ** by Deborah Frost, Rolling Stone, 29 October 1981
Journey's trend: Why this band don't stop believin' by Simon Warner, Rock's Backpages, 16 December 2009
Why is Journey's 'Don't Stop Believin'' Back in the Charts? by Jude Rogers, Guardian, The, 5 November 2009
Hold Your Head Up: In Praise of Bi-Level Rock! by Barney Hoskyns, Rock's Backpages, February 2003
A brief review of a compilation album dedicated to rockers with mullet hairstyles. The author gives a nod to Steve Perry's coif, and Journey's "Any Way You Want It" is featured on the compilation.

Google Books

Open Arms: The Steve Perry Anthology (Songbook): 21 Classics from the Former Lead Vocalist of Journey (1978-1997)
Steve Perry: A Singer's Journey by Laura Monica Cucu
The Carefully Plotted Route to Rock's Summit by Jack McDonough
The 100 Greatest Bands of All Time: A Guide to the Legends Who Rocked the World edited by David V. Moskowitz
The chapter on Journey discusses the band's history and discography.

Books

Don't Stop Believin' by Neil Daniels
Call Number: ML421.J68 D36 2011
Don't Stop Believin': the Man, the Band, and the Song That Inspired Generations by Jonathan Cain
Call Number: ML420.C35 A3 2018
Recording Techniques of the Guitar Masters by Brian Tarquin
Call Number: MT580 .T37 2012
Includes a chapter on Neal Schon of Journey and his recording techniques.

Podcasts

Scores

Departure by Journey (Musical group), Audrey Kleiner. Kaplan, Steve Perry, Neal. Schon, Gregg. Rolie, Ross. Valory, Steve Smith
Call Number: M1630.18.J68 D47 1980

YouTube Interviews & Documentaries

Archival Resources

Listed below are notable collections and items from the Rock Hall's Archives. You can find more by searching our catalog here.

Bryan Ehlinger Collection of Posters
Includes a Journey poster for Departure, 1980.

Churchmouse/Moyssi Concert Programs
Journey concert program, 1982.

Jane Scott Papers Collection
Rock critic for the Plain Dealer, 1952-2002. This collection specifically includes materials related to Journey including photographic and promotional materials.

Michael Ochs Collection
This collection includes a folder of business papers for Journey from 1977. It also includes a recorded interview with Journey on audiocassette, and an audio recording of Journey's appearance on the radio show "Rockline" in 1986.

Philadelphia Inquirer Photographs
Photographs of Journey, 1978-2000.