More accurately, you can't talk about even recording music without Les Paul. The lifelong innovator created echo delay, overdubbing, multitracking and more. You can't overstate Les Paul's genius. More at rockhall.com...
These research databases can be accessed within the Library and Archives.
These are sound recordings of Les Paul available at the Library and Archives.
This is a video recording with Les Paul available at the Library and Archives.
These are video recordings created by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum's Education Department for the 2008 American Music Masters celebrations honoring Les Paul. These videos are only available at the Library and Archives.
American Music Masters. Les Paul. Henry Juszkiewicz lecture. Ace Frehley interview. Part 2.
In Part 1 of this video, CEO and Chairman of Gibson Guitar Corporation Henry Juszkiewicz discusses the genesis and basic history of the Gibson Guitar Corporation, Orville Gibson, and Les Paul's contributions as an innovator. In Part 2, Ace Frehley discusses using Gibson guitars, and is joined by Juszkiewicz near the end of the program.
Search through the Rock Hall's archival collections here, including photographs, manuscripts, business records, posters, handbills, recordings, and much more from performers, bands, record label executives, recording studios, and the fans themselves!
New to Archives? Check out:
Archival collections are described in Finding Aids that provide you with historical and organizational information on a collection, subject headings that tie it to other library and archival materials, and an inventory to pinpoint what you need. The detail of inventories vary. Search finding aids via the catalog.
There are individual items of interest on Les Paul in the following:
There are additional materials related to Les Paul in the following:
Rock & Roll Hall of Fame | Library & Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | rockhall.com/library