Skip to Main Content

Black Sabbath: Ozzy Osbourne

Black Sabbath were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2006.

Ozzy Osbourne

Rock's Prince of Darkness & the Godfather of Heavy Metal

Ozzy Osbourne has made a lasting impact on rock music and influenced countless artists. With his longevity, enormous impact, and iconic persona, Ozzy is a phenomenon unlike any other in rock music. More on rockhall.com...

Click images for source information.

Books

Books from the Library's collection can be found here. See examples below.

The Wit and Wisdom of Ozzy Osbourne by Dave Thompson
Call Number: ML420.O83 A25 2010
I Am Ozzy by Ozzy Osbourne; Chris Ayres
Call Number: ML420.O83 A3 2009
Steal Away the Night by Martin Popoff
Call Number: ML420.O83 P67 2014
Ozzy Osbourne : The Story of the Ozzy Osbourne Band : An Unofficial Publication by Garry Sharpe-Young
Call Number: ML420.O83 S53 2002
Black Sabbath's Master of Reality by John Darnielle
Call Number: FIC DARN MAST 2008

Podcasts

Spotify Playlist

Video

Commercial video from the Library's collection can be found here. See examples below.

God Bless Ozzy Osbourne by Various
Call Number: BRD OSBO-O GOD 2011
Speak of the Devil : Live from Irvine Meadows '82 by Various
Call Number: DVD OSBO-O SPEA 2012
Never Say Die : A Decade of Black Sabbath by Various
Call Number: VID BLAC-S NEVE 2003
Black Sabbath. Volume One, 1970-1978 by Various
Call Number: VID BLAC-S STOR 2002

Audio

Commercial audio from the Library's collection can be found here. See examples below.

Diary of a Madman by Ozzy Osbourne
Call Number: CD OSBO-O DIAR 1981
Tribute by Ozzy Osbourne
Call Number: CD OSBO-O TRIB 1987
Blizzard of Ozz by Ozzy Osbourne
Call Number: CD OSBO-O BLIZ 1981
Black Sabbath by Black Sabbath
Call Number: CD BLAC-S BLAC 1988

Youtube

Archival Resources

Listed below are notable collections and items from the Rock Hall's Archives. You can find more by searching our catalog here.

Churchmouse / Moyssi Programs
Osbourne, Ozzy, 1981
Jules Belkin Collection
Poster, Osbourne, Ozzy with Metallica at Richfield Colisuem, Richfield Township, Ohio, 1986 April 9.
Gary Hyman Collection of Live Concert Recordings
Audiocassette, Osbourne, Ozzy, 2001 August 07
Frederick S. Boros Audio Recordings
Audio, Osbourne, Ozzy, Cleveland, Ohio, 1981 May 11
Rolling Stone Collection
Subseries 1: Artist Files, Osbourne, Ozzy, 1981-1986
Jane Scott Papers
Series XV: Set Lists, Osbourne, Ozzy, 1986

Rock's Backpages Articles

Free articles are available on Rock's Backpages through the Free on RBP link. The articles below may require you to be on-site at the Library & Archives in order to read them.

The Ozzmosis of Ozzy Osbourne
Ben Thompson, Independent on Sunday, 1995
Ozzy Osbourne: I am Oz the Great and Terrible
Glenn O'Brien, Spin, September 1986
Ten questions for Ozzy Osbourne
Sylvie Simmons, MOJO, November 2000
Ozzy Osbourne Drops The Bomb
Sylvie Simmons, Creem, July 1986

Other Articles

Ozzy Osbourne: How the Prince of Darkness Defied the Odds and Found Happiness
Nick Reilly, Rolling Stone, 23 November 2023
‘Blizzard of Ozz’ at 40: Ozzy Osbourne Reflects on Career-Reviving Solo Debut
Kory Grow, Rolling Stone, 18 September 2020
Black Sabbath is Formed and Metal is Born
Michael Hann, Guardian, 11 June 2011
Tea with Ozzy Osbourne: ‘I’ve sung that song for 55 years. I’m not going to forget the words’
Craig McLean, Guardian, 28 August 2022
Ozzy Osbourne: Our 1986 Cover Story
Staff writers, SPIN, 3 August 2019

Influence & Legacy

Ozzy Osbourne was influenced by...

Beatles
Kinks
Sam & Dave

Ozzy Osbourne inspired people like...

Metallica
Lita Ford
Rage Against the Machine

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame | Library & Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | rockhall.com/library