Library & Archives

Hours

The Library & Archives is open to visitors by appointment only. Please contact us at least 24 hours in advance. Research and class visits are available by advance appointment, Monday through Thursday, 9am to 5pm, and Friday 10am to 5pm. Contact us as far in advance as possible to schedule:

library@rockhall.org
(216) 515-1956

2019 Closures:
January 1-2
January 21
February 18
May 27
July 4
September 2
November 28-29
December 24-25

Search for Archival Materials

Search here for documents, images, and recordings from artists, executives, fans, and the Rock Hall itself. Browse here

 

Having trouble with the search box? Try this link

Search for Library Materials

Search here for books, magazines, CDs, and DVDs in the Rock Hall collections. This will take you to the
WorldCat online catalog and allow you to locate resources both in our library and libraries near you.

On Exhibit

King Records: 30 Years that Changed American Music 1943-1971

Please note the Library & Archives will be free and open without an appointment for visitors to view the exhibit 9AM - 5PM every Friday in February.

If you wish to visit a different day of the week, please contact us to make an appointment at library@rockhall.org.

From 1943 to 1971, Cincinnati's King Records and its subsidiaries, including Queen, DeLuxe, and Federal, revolutionized the ways in which popular music was recorded, manufactured, distributed, and promoted. Under the leadership of founder Syd Nathan, King became a major independent record label, with nearly 500 singles on the R&B, country, and pop charts, and 32 songs making it to Number One. 
 
This traveling exhibit on the history of King Records was developed to tell the unique story of this influential company beyond its home of Cincinnati. Following a symposium and exhibit at the Public Library of Cincinnati in 2008 to mark King Records’ 65th anniversary, King Studios, a nonprofit organization was formed at the original King Records headquarters. With funding from ArtsWave, King Studios board member Tim Riordan, the Community Building Institute, historian Brian Powers and designer Chris Schadler collaborated to visually present 30 years of legendary music created by King Records. 
 
The traveling exhibit has been enhanced with artifacts and archival items from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s collections. Over 20 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees recorded at King Records, including Hank Ballard and the Midnighters, Dave Bartholomew, James Brown and the Famous Flames, Bootsy Collins, the “5” Royales, Little Willie John, Freddy King, and Professor Longhair. In 2008, King Records was officially designated as a Rock & Roll Hall of Fame landmark. At the ceremony, then-president Terry Stewart stated, “There’s not a more important piece of real estate in musical history than the building over there on Brewster.” 
 
Our Library & Archives staff has curated a Spotify playlist showcasing some of our favorite music released by King Records during its 30-year history. The playlist can be accessed at http://bit.ly/RHKingRecords.

Something Going On: Jeff Rusnak, A Rock & Roll Life

Devo: Jeff Rusnak

Highlights from a newly acquired photography collection are on exhibit in Something Going On: Jeff Rusnak, A Rock & Roll Life at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Starting in the 1970s, Jeff Rusnak (1956-2016) was a fixture in the pits of rock clubs and concert halls in New Jersey, Philadelphia and New York City – snapping hundreds of thousands of images, a fraction of which are now on display in the Rock Hall’s new photography gallery.

Rusnak had a deep love of music that was evident in every part of his life. He was a late-night disc jockey, musician, producer and manager at the legendary Princeton Record Exchange, and an incessant photographer. Many of the photos he took were of bands as they were just getting started, such as Black Flag, U2, the Clash, and Ween.

Rusnak himself was an intensely private person. Much of his collection was discovered after his passing and generously given to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame to enhance the museum’s mission to engage, teach and inspire through the power of rock and roll. His photographs permanently reside in the Rock Hall’s Library & Archives.

On display are images of some of the most iconic figures in rock in the past forty years, showcasing national, international and local Philadelphia acts, including David Bowie, Henry Rollins, Joe Strummer, Elvis Costello, Frank Zappa, Stevie Nicks, Nancy Wilson, Tina Weymouth, Annie Golden, Wayne Coyne, Jello Biafra, Peter Gabriel, the Who, Talking Heads, Adam Ant, Devo, Ramones, the B-52’s, Frank Zappa, Flaming Lips, Yes, Gary Numan, Chuck Berry, and more.

Original and digital prints on display are just a few examples of the thousands of photographs in the Rusnak collection, now housed at the Library & Archives, located on the Metro campus of Cuyahoga Community College at 2809 Woodland Avenue in Cleveland. To view the collection, please make an appointment by contacting library@rockhall.org.

 
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org