Library & Archives

From acid house to zydeco, and from Acapulco to Zanzibar, Bloomsbury Popular Music provides unrivalled scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, covering the mid-20th century to the present day. It is an ideal resource for students and academics across disciplines including music, ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.

The CREEM Archive features 20 years of music, art, culture, and rock journalism through 224 issues published 1969-1989. It includes over 69,000 articles, reviews, images, and ads, and each page has been meticulously scanned and presented in its original form. Contact library@rockhall.org to access the archive on-site at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Music ID is an academic research tool that utilizes powerful analytics to compile global music industry data into three, easy-to-use platforms: Music ID Data, Music ID Revenue, and Music ID Impact. Incorporating 5,452 different charts spanning 74 countries, with data going back to 1900 Music ID Data provides access to perpetually-updated, week-to-week information on iTunes downloads, Spotify and Apple Music streams, and Shazam searches, as well as contemporary and historical data from Billboard, the Official Charts Company, GfK, and more. Music ID’s more than 200 million data points let you track major industry trends across decades, breakdown individual performance week-by-week, compare success internationally, and so much more. Its built-in visualization tools also provide exportable graphic representations of overall sales patterns. Quantify the cultural impact of music.

The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe, Oxford Music Online is the gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music Includes quick access to brief articles on genres and styles, as well as artist biographies.

Rock’s Backpages is the largest database of music journalism online, featuring— as of Spring 2018—over 35,000 articles on thousands of artists from The Beatles to Taylor Swift. The library also boasts over 500 exclusive audio interviews. Written by almost 700 of the biggest names in music journalism, they are taken from the widest possible range of publications in the US and UK: from Creem and Rolling Stone, and from NME to MOJO. The articles are full text, primary-source and fully searchable (by artist, date, genre, publication, keyword etc.) including an advanced search option with faceted search results and a mobile version optimized for all devices to allow easy reading and research on the go.

This database from ProQuest offers full-color, full-page content, giving users anytime, anywhere access to the entire publication’s print backfile from 1967 to today. Does not include access to Rolling Stone Digital or Special Collectors Editions.

This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The expanded Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Included in this Oxford Digital Reference Shelf edition are online-exclusive entries that originally appeared on Oxford Music Online.

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera, and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history. The Library and Archives of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum contributed over 7,000 items from its collections to the project. The database allows you to explore an interactive chronology to learn a wealth of fascinating facts, take a tour of the site's visual resources, and watch video footage to experience the spectacular sights and sounds of the period for yourself.

RaJaRo is a large free music magazine index covering rock, jazz, roots music, pop, punk, reggae, blues etc. RoJaRo-Index covers publications from as many countries & language areas as possible, and includes references to articles, interviews, books, live-reviews, discographies, fanzines and record label information.

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food, music and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

This resource administered by the Web of Science has an index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities. The database covers 1,144 arts and humanities journals and individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 science and social science journals.

Provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.

Go-to database for articles (academic, peer-reviewed, magazines, trade literature, newspapers), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results.

The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles. New articles are added daily.

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. This database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It offers dissertations and theses on Business, History, Social Sciences, Technology and the Arts.

WorldCat is a catalog containing more than 57 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Materials covered are books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers journals and magazines, sound recordings, videotapes. Each record contains information on which libraries own the item, and the Rock Hall's resources are typically pinned to the top. Updated daily. Covers earliest print materials to the present.