Thank you for your interest in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Library & Archives. We are currently closed and unable to respond to reference and appointment requests at this time. We will update this website when we are back to normal operations. Please contact us again at that time.
Search through the Rock Hall's archival collections here, including photographs, manuscripts, business records, posters, handbills,
recordings, and much more from performers, bands, record label executives, recording studios, and the fans themselves!
Search here for books, magazines, CDs, and DVDs in the Rock Hall collections. This will take you to the
WorldCat online catalog and allow you to locate resources both in our library and libraries near you.
The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Library & Archives celebrates its current NHPRC grant project through an exhibit!
The National Archives grants program, carried out through the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), awarded a two-year grant to the Rock Hall to fund the accessibility of the institution's historically important music resources. Included in the grant project are a number of collections related to NEO Sound, the Rock Hall’s local music preservation initiative.
In the Library & Archives reading room, visitors can view Local Music U Want: Northeast Ohio Punk and New Wave, which showcases materials related to NEO Sound and made available through the NHPRC grant. Local Music U Want focuses on the unique Northeast Ohio punk and new wave scenes of the 1970s and ‘80s, fueled by the changing post-industrial landscape of the “Rust Belt.” Unlike other music scenes in the U.S., Northeast Ohio punk and new wave primarily flew under the radar, allowing the music to evolve into something more avant-garde and exploratory. Featured in the exhibit are photos, stickers, flyers, cassette zines and other promotional materials from the Rock Hall’s NEO Sound collections on local bands the Dead Boys, Devo, New Salem Witch Hunters, Death of Samantha, the Waitresses, Pere Ubu, the Styrenes, Pagans, Tin Huey, and 15 60 75 (The Numbers Band). Donors featured include longtime musicians and Rock Hall donors Chris Butler and Marky Ray and photographer Dave Treat.
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | firstname.lastname@example.org