Library & Archives

Internship & Volunteer Opportunities

Available Internships

Archival Arrangement, Preservation, and Description

This internship provides the opportunity for a student to participate in archival processing and preservation work, such as inventorying, arranging and describing archival collections, entering data into an archival management system, helping to create an institutional disaster plan, and performing basic preservation work on document-based collections.

Cataloging and Metadata

This internship provides the opportunity for a student to work on projects to create and enhance bibliographic records in a library catalog and/or create metadata for digital collections. Such work may entail assigning subject and name access points, preparing descriptive summaries, and reviewing catalog records for accuracy.

Collection Development

This internship provides an opportunity for a student to participate in collection development activities in a music research library. Such work includes evaluating current materials and making recommendations for future additions to the collection. The student will gain an understanding of library users’ needs, the constraints of physical space, various resources and tools used in collection development, and the budgetary considerations required of such decisions.

Digital Projects

This internship provides the opportunity for a student to work in support of digitization initiatives to increase access to collections through digitization and website access. Possible assignments include scanning, entering and editing metadata in a digital asset management system, preparing technical and administrative documentation, testing digitization workflows, and assisting with interface design, usability studies, and related web development activities.

Reference

This internship provides the opportunity for a student to support the archivists and librarians on staff in response to research requests. Such work may include searching the online catalog, research databases, print reference sources, and archival collections for researchers at a distance, as well as staffing the Information Desk or Archives Reading Room to assist researchers in person.

Eligibility

An intern must currently be enrolled in a college or graduate school program, preferably sophomore - senior status. Internships are done on a volunteer basis. The Museum does not offer compensation. Availability to work 16 or more hours a week, up to 40 hours a week during the summer, for a minimum of 8 weeks. We offer

  1. Great work experience
  2. Exciting work environment
  3. Flexible work schedules
  4. Discounts on Rock Hall merchandise
  5. Paid parking
  6. Additional training, professional development and benefits during the summer session

Application Procedures

Complete the following steps to apply for an internship with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum:

  1. Prepare a cover letter and resume.
  2. Include a letter of reference/recommendation from a professor in your field.*
  3. Personal Statement - prepare a one-page summary describing what you hope to bring to the internship and what you hope to gain during the internship.
  4. Complete the online application.

*The letter of recommendation may be sent separately from the online application materials if necessary. Please submit to hr@rockhall.org.

Deadlines

  • Spring: October 15
  • Summer: February 15
  • Fall: June 15

Please note, if you are doing an internship for credit and your academic program deadlines vary from this schedule, please contact us at library@rockhall.org to check for flexibility on these dates!

 

Not in school and want to work with us?

Become a Roadie to volunteer!

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org