Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections: ARC-0151 to ARC-0200

Archival Collections, ARC-0151 through ARC-0200

ARC-0151 Lindsey Kuhn Collection, 1991-2012, undated, 8.07 l.f.
The Lindsey Kuhn Collection spans the years 1991-2012 and include undated materials. The collection consists of 174 concert posters and one flyer by Kuhn; arranged chronologically by performance date, then alphabetically by artist where necessary. The posters feature various bands, including the Black Keys, Cramps, Devo, Didjits, Flaming Lips, Flogging Molly, Fudge Factory, Reverend Horton Heat, Judas Priest, MC5, Modest Mouse, Queens of the Stone Age, Marky Ramone, Smashing Pumpkins, Sonic Youth, Vines, and White Zombie. Concert venues featured include the Bluebird Theatre, Casbah, Emo's, Fillmore Auditorium (Denver, Colorado), Gothic Theatre, Green Door, Jabberjaw Cafe, Larimer Lounge, Ogden Theatre, and One Eyed Jacks. The collection provides a sampling of Kuhn's artistic work, and, seen in a broader context, provides insight to how alternative rock bands and venues promoted their shows from the early 1990s to 2012, and serves as a reference to artists that played during that era.

ARC-0152 Kill Rock Stars Collection, 1991-2010, undated, 22.5 l.f.
The Kill Rock Stars Collection spans the years 1991-2010. It contains eighteen boxes of materials relating to Kill Rock Stars, including press releases, press clippings, original photographs, tour dates, radio reports, biographical information, art proofs, and original poster art. Also included is one box of files related to 5 Rue Christine, a subsidiary record company run by Kill Rock Stars.

ARC-0153 Lollapalooza Festival Press Release and Poster, 1991, 4.07 l.f.
The Lollapalooza Festival Press Release and Poster consists of one press release from June 17, 1991 for the August 5, 1991 concert at Blossom Music Festival, and a concert poster that was sold at the 1991 festival. The concert poster features artwork by Grant Blaha of Autodesk, Inc. Performers listed on the poster include the Butthole Surfers, Ice-T, Jane's Addiction, Living Colour, Nine Inch Nails, the Rollins Band, and Siouxsie and the Banshees. The collection provides information on the August 5, 1991 Lollapalooza Festival concert at Blossom Music Center, the ninth stop on the tour during the Festival's first year. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight to how festivals were promoted in the early 1990s and serves as a reference to artists that played during that era.

ARC-0154 Mile 44 Posters, 2005-2011, 4.0 l.f.
Mile 44 Posters span the years 2005 to 2011, and consist of 36 concert posters designed and created by Stacy Curtis and Dave Windisch. The concert posters feature various bands and concert venues throughout the United States, but primarily those in Illinois and Indiana. Bands and artists featured in the collection include Camera Obscura, Dinosaur, Jr., Guided By Voices, Melvins, Natalie Portman's Shaved Head, Pretty Girls Make Graves, Henry Rollins, Ronnie Spector, Spoon, and Toadies. The collection provides a sampling of Curtis and Windisch's artistic work, across musical genres. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into how mainstream and alternative rock bands and venues promoted their shows in the early 2000s, and serves as a reference to performers that played during that era.

ARC-0155 Rona Elliot Papers, 1963-2008, undated, 2.0 l.f.
The Rona Elliot Papers span the years 1963 to 2008. The collection consists of two series: artist and personal files. The artist files consist mainly of research material, clippings, and notes used by Elliot during her career as music correspondent for the Today show. Artists represented include Joan Baez, Ray Charles, Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, and George Harrison; there is also a substantial amount of material on the Amnesty International benefit concerts in 1986. This series is meant as a sampling rather than an exhaustive list of artists interviewed by Elliot during her ten years with Today. The personal files contains a small number of Elliot's personal papers and notes. The collection provides insight into music journalism in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries, as well as highlights from the career of a current board member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

ARC-0156 Manny and Skippy Gerard Collection, 1967-1982, undated, 0.42 l.f.
The Manny and Skippy Gerard Collection spans the years 1967 to 1982, and includes some undated material. The Collection consists of approximately four hundred calendars, handbills, newsletters, and promotional cards from concerts in the San Francisco Bay area, with a few additional items from venues scattered across the country. Artists of note in the Collection include Big Brother and the Holding Company, Buffalo Springfield, Crosby Stills Nash and Young, Deep Purple, Flamin' Groovies, The Grateful Dead, Humble Pie, Jefferson Airplane, Mamas and the Papas, Santana, and Ten Years After. The San Francisco Bay area venues featured in the Collection are Armenian Hall, Avalon Ballroom, Berkeley Community Theatre, California Hall, Carousel Ballroom, Casa Loma Swim Club, Cedar Alley, Committee Theater, Cow Palace, Dolores Park, Dovre Hall, Fillmore Auditorium, Inn of the Beginning, Keystone Korner, Longbranch, Longshoreman's Hall, Mandrakes, Matrix, New Monk, New Orleans House, Orphanage Restaurant, Pauley Ballroom, Pepperland, Regency Ballroom, Resurrection Ballroom, San Diego Community Concourse Convention Hall, Straight Theatre, West Dakota, Western Front, and the Winterland Ballroom. Other venues include the Mammoth Gardens (Denver, Colo.), Portland Memorial Coliseum, Vulcan Gas Company (Austin, Tex.), and Westside-6 (Detroit, Mich.). A number of items in the Collection are related to the Inn of the Beginning in Cotati, Calif. This Collection provides rich documentation of the San Francisco Bay area music scene in the late-1960s and 1970s, and offers a look into the venues, performers, poster art styles, and culture of the era. The Collection is arranged alphabetically by venue; the arrangement continues chronologically within each file.

ARC-0157 OKPANTS Posters, 2006-1020, 4.0 l.f.
OKPANTS Posters spans the years 2006 to 2010, and consists of 12 concert posters designed and created by Aaron Sechrist through his company OKPANTS. The concert posters feature various performers and concert venues throughout the Northeast Ohio area. Bands and artists featured in the collection include Adele, Angels & Airwaves, Alice Cooper, Fall Out Boy, Lil Wayne, Nas, and Slayer. The collection provides a sampling of Sechrist's artistic work, across musical genres and formats. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into how mainstream and alternative rock bands, hip-hop artists, and venues promoted their shows in the early 2000s and serves as a reference to performers that played during that era.

ARC-0158 Joe Smith Papers, 1947-1999, undated, 7.0 l.f.
The Joe Smith Papers span the years 1947 to 1999, with the bulk of the collection dating between 1980 and 1999. The collection consists of six types of material: appointment books, telephone logs, correspondence, office files, notepads, and graphic materials. The collection focuses mainly on Smith's research for his book, Off the Record, but there are also several items of note in that relate to Smith's early career as a disk jockey.

ARC-0159 DeForest Canfield Playtapes, undated, 0.5 l.f.
The DeForest Canfield Playtapes collection consists of a short-lived audio format called the "Playtape." Playtape is a 2-track tape cartridge, much like 8-track tapes, but smaller in both physical size and the amount of content held on the tape. Introduced onto the market in 1967, this format was no longer available by 1969. This collection of tapes includes such artists as Herb Alpert, The Beatles, Ray Charles, Nat King Cole, Gladys Knight & The Pips, Herman's Hermits, The Lettermen, Dean Martin, and Frank Sinatra.

ARC-0160 James Davis Rheem Posters, 2001-2010, 4.0 l.f.
James Rheem Davis Posters span the years 2001 to 2010 and consist of 82 concert posters, designed and created by Davis through his company GIÄNTSÜMO. The concert posters feature various bands and concert venues from across the United States, but are primarily focused in the Southwest. Bands and artists featured in the collection include The Bronx, Coldplay, Dashboard Confessional, Franz Ferdinand, Green Day, Head Automatica, Megadeath, My Chemical Romance, Pink, Slayer, Snow Patrol, Taking Back Sunday, Tool, and Weezer.  Venues include The Fillmore and The Warfield. The collection provides a sampling of Davis' artistic work across musical genres. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into how mainstream and alternative rock bands and venues promoted their shows from 2001 to 2010 and serves as a reference to performers that were active during that era.

ARC-0161 Jimmy Baynes Collection, 1953-1983, undated, 0.83 l.f.
The Jimmy Baynes Collection (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection) spans the years 1953 to 1983 and includes some undated materials, with the bulk of the collection materials falling between the years 1955 and 1966. The Jimmy Baynes Collection is arranged into eight series by content: Jimmy Baynes, artists, distributors, radio stations, venues, unidentified individuals, unidentified groups, and miscellaneous. The collection consists of black-and-white and color photographs and negatives taken at Cleveland music halls, as well as some promotional materials for local artists, concerts, radio stations, record distributors, and venues. Prominent artists featured in this collection include: Louis Armstrong, LaVern Baker, Count Basie, James Brown, Ruth Brown, Ray Charles, Bill Doggett, the Drifters, the Four Tops, Aretha Franklin, Alan Freed, Bill Haley and the Comets, Roy Hamilton, Lionel Hampton, Mahalia Jackson, Louis Jordan, Jerry Lee Lewis, Frankie Lymon, Memphis Slim, Rick Nelson, the O'Jays, the Platters, Lloyd Price, the Temptations, Joe Tex, Martha and the Vandellas, Dinah Washington, and Jackie Wilson. Cleveland venues/locations featured include the Ankara, Band Box, the Birdland Lounge, Cabin Club, Carlton House, Cleveland Arena, Club Manhattan, Club Trinidad, Cotton Club, Gus's Show Bar Lounge, Lake Glen Country Club, the Lancer, Leo's Casino, the Lorain Armory, Masonic Temple, the Mirror Show Bar, Music Box, Pla-mor Ballroom, the Sheraton-Cleveland, Statler Hotel, and the Wheel Lounge. These materials provide rich insight to the R&B, jazz, and rock performers of the 1950s and 1960s, but more specifically to the local Cleveland music community of that time. Handwritten notes in pencil found on the backs of any photographs were taken by the processing archivist during a meeting on January 9, 2013 with local jazz historian Joe Mosbrook, former Cleveland Public Library music librarian Bill Anderson, George Hendricks of the vocal group, the Hesitations, and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum employees Beverly Flowers and Howard Kramer. Extended notes included for some of the artists and venues are the result of research conducted for the Library and Archives' exhibit, "Through the Lens of Jimmy Baynes: Cleveland Rock and Roll History, 1950s-1960s" (February-April 2013).

ARC-0162 Nels "Jagmo" Jacobson Collection, 1982-2007, 5.42 l.f.
The Nels "Jagmo" Jacobson Collection spans the years 1982 to 2007 and consists of eight Club Foot Footprints newsletters with copy and design by Nels Jacobson, 56 event and concert posters, and a printer's proof for the 1992 South By Southwest Music and Media Conference program cover, designed and created by Jacobson through his company Jagmo. The concert and event posters feature various bands and concert venues across the United States but primarily in the Austin, Texas area. Bands and artists featured in the collection include the B-52's, James Brown, John Cale, Dead Kennedy's, Bob Dylan, John Lee Hooker, B. B. King, Etta James, Willie Nelson, New Order, NRBQ, Pixies, Iggy Pop, Public Image Limited, R.E.M., and Suzanne Vega. Events featured include Flatstock and the South By Southwest Music and Media Conference. The collection provides a sampling of Nels "Jagmo" Jacobson's artistic work across musical genres. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into how regional and mainstream performers and venues promoted their shows from 1982 to 2007 and serves as a reference to artists that were actively performing during that time.

ARC-0164 Mike Hoyt, 1968, 1977-1980, 4.07 l.f.
The Mike Hoyt Collection spans the years 1968 and 1977 to 1980. The Collection consists of one postcard, one concert poster, one autographed concert poster reprint, and two separate autographs. The collection provides a glimpse into the late 1960s San Francisco music and art scene. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insights to the promotion of rock artists and concerts and the graphic design of the period.

ARC-0166 Big Beat Heat Collection, circa 1920s-1995, 2.5 l.f.
The Big Beat Heat Collection spans the years of the 1920s to 1995 and includes some undated materials. The collection contains mostly photocopied research materials, a few photos, and different drafts of Jackson's first book, Big Beat Heat: Alan Freed and the Early Years of Rock & Roll. The book Big Beat Heat documents Alan Freed's life and his introduction and dissemination of rock and roll to the masses through radio and television, as well as the payola scandals of the late 1950s that exposed the links between radio airplay, record promotion, and the mob. The majority of the collection materials relate to media coverage of Freed's career and his early involvement in rock and roll promotion and entertainment. A few recordings of his broadcasts on various radio networks are included on audiocassette. The collection also contains a transcript of Freed's testimony to the U.S. House Payola Subcommittee that was restricted from public view until Jackson's request for his book research. There is no personal information on Jackson in this collection, so these materials will be of most use to researchers interested in Alan Freed, the early days of rock and roll promotion, and popular music radio broadcasting. This collection was formally known as the John A. Jackson Papers.

ARC-0167 Howie Klein Collection, 1983-2003, 9.33 l.f.
The Howie Klein Collection consists of electronic press kits, posters, artist itineraries, and the Warner/Chappell "Mighty Three Music Catalog." The material in this collection spans the years 1983 to 2001. Artists and bands appearing in the collection include B-52's, Barenaked Ladies, BoDeans, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Eric Clapton, Cult, The Cuts, Tanya Donelly, Depeche Mode, Faith No More, Filter, Fleetwood Mac, Joni Mitchell, Kasey Chambers, Lou Reed, Replacements, Steely Dan, Neil Young, and Zwan. This collection provides material on a cross section of bands and artists who appeared on the labels during his time as a record executive at Sire, Reprise, and Warner Brothers.

ARC-0168 Adam Fields Collection on Great Balls of Fire, 1957, 1986-1989, 9.46 l.f.
The Adam Fields Collection on Great Balls of Fire spans the years 1957 and 1986 to 1989, with the bulk of the collection dating between 1988 and 1989. The collection consists of promotional materials, audiovisual materials, and scripts primarily to related the 1989 film Great Balls of Fire, but also related to Jerry Lee Lewis. The files contains audiocassettes, a presskit, photographs, posters, programs, prop newspapers, scripts, slides, and videotapes. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight to the process of producing a major motion picture based on the life of well-known rock and roll performer.

ARC-0169 Collection on Bruce Springsteen, 1974-1976, undated, 4.42 l.f.
The Collection on Bruce Springsteen spans the years 1974 to 1976 and consists of two promotional posters and one lyric sample or rhyme sheet handwritten by Bruce Springsteen. The collection provides a look at how Bruce Springsteen was promoted by Columbia Records in the mid-1970s and his creative process. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into the songwriting process and various ways in which record labels promoted their performers.

ARC-0171 Les Paul Interview, 2005 August, 0.07 l.f.
The Les Paul Interview consists of one DVD containing a 62-minute interview with Les Paul on The Joey Reynolds Show, a nationally syndicated radio program hosted by former Top 40 radio personality Joey Reynolds. The footage was photographed and edited by donor Sandi Bachom.

ARC-0172 Bob Bartel Collection, 1963-2001, 0.42 l.f.
The Bob Bartel Collection, which spans the years 1963 to 2001, contains clippings and VHS video recordings related to the proposed demolition of the house of Louise Harrison Caldwell, sister of George Harrison, in Benton, Illinois. An amateur Beatles historian, Bartel lobbied to have the house preserved as a bed and breakfast. The collection also contains an interview Bartel did with a syndicated radio show produced by Westwood One.

ARC-0173 California '66 Revue Poster, 2009 August 4-2009 August 18, 1.58 l.f.
The California '66 Revue Poster is dated August 4-18, 2009. The poster is designed to promote the bands and 14 venues on the tour. Seen in a broader context, the poster provides insight to nostalgia tours.

ARC-0174 Led Zeppelin Concert Poster, 1969 August 1, 2.5 l.f.
The Led Zeppelin Concert Poster is for the August 1 show on their 1969 U.S. tour, at the Earl Warren Show Grounds in Santa Barbara, California. Supporting acts were Jethro Tull and the Fraternity of Man.

ARC-0175 Collection on The Everly Brothers, 1973-1988, undated, 1.83 l.f.
The Collection on the Everly Brothers spans the years 1973 to 1988 and includes some undated material. The Collection focuses mainly on the Everly Brothers' reunion tour in 1987. It includes clippings related to their reunion tour, as well as their visit to their hometown of Shenandoah, Iowa, following their induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1986. Also in the Collection is a small amount of correspondence, including a copy of a letter sent to the Everly Brothers' mother following her lawsuit against Don Everly, concert programs from the 1987 tour, and various fan club publications and membership information.

ARC-0176 Glen Smith Collection, 1975-1977, 1981, 4.0 l.f.
The Glen Smith Collection spans the years 1975 to 1977 and 1981, and consists of four concert posters promoting shows for Bruce Springsteen and the E. Street Band, Led Zeppelin, and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. The collection provides a look at how these specific performers promoted their shows and the venues they played. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into the promotional and graphic styles used during this period.

ARC-0177 LeRoi C. Johnson Collection on Rick James, 1930-1991, 4.21 l.f.
The LeRoi C. Johnson Collection on Rick James spans the years 1930 to 1991, with the bulk of the collection dating between 1971 and 1983. The collection consists of two files, one containing documents and one containing photographs, and a 1983 concert poster--all pertaining to the life and career of Rick James. The documents file contains material on the life and career of Rick James, and includes two copies of James' 1978 arrest record for marijuana possession; the Congressional Record from October 19, 1981 (James' second cousin, Rep. Louis Stokes, entered an article about James into the record); talking points and questions for a meeting with MTV on the lack of R&B music on the networ; and part of a April 18, 1983 article in Newsweek on MTV. The photographs file contains 40 photographs of various sizes, and includes photographs of James performing on stage, as well as relaxing with family and friends. Some of the photographs are marked as copyright of "Captan Clint." There are several portraits of family members, including James' parents, and promotional photographs of the Mary Jane Girls, a band James produced, and fellow Motown recording artists, Kagny and the Dirty Rats. People and dates have been identified where possible. The collection provides a glimpse into the private and public life of Rick James, as collected by his brother and manager, LeRoi C. Johnson.

ARC-0178 Joe Buchwald Papers, 1967-1990, undated, 1.42 l.f.
The Joe Buchwald Papers span the years 1967 to 1990, and include some undated material. The Papers includes artist agreements, correspondence regarding demo tapes and royalties, contracts, legal materials related to royalties disputes with RCA, and attorney billing statements. Some of the material in this collection is related to Buchwald as father, manager, and executive producer for Marty Balin, the founder and one of the lead vocalists for Jefferson Airplane.

ARC-0179 Keith Sinzinger Collection, 1991-2001, 4.34 l.f.
The Keith Sinzinger Collection spans the years 1991 to 2001, with the bulk of the material falling between 1996-1999. The Collection contains nearly one thousand individual pieces of printed ephemera, including flyers, postcards, and posters collected by Keith Sinzinger at raves in the Washington, D.C., and Baltimore areas. The Collection also includes an audio interview by Patrice Dickens with Mark Andersen for The Common Denominator, and a manuscript for Dance of Days: Two Decades of Punk in the Nation's Capital by Andersen and Mark Jenkins. Typically, the rave flyers were handed out to people leaving the event, or they were placed on car windshields during the event. To a lesser extent they could also be picked up at general music shops and local record shops geared towards a DJ-oriented crowd. These sorts of events were also promoted--sometimes exclusively--on members-only computer listservs. 

ARC-0180 Rolling Stones 35mm Film Reels, 1974, 2.55 l.f.
The Rolling Stones 35mm Film Reels consists of two 17-minute promos for the 1974 concert film Ladies and Gentlemen: The Rolling Stones.

ARC-0181 Collection on the House of Blues Radio Hour (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1994-1998, 1.42 l.f.
The Collection on the House of Blues Radio Hour (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection) consists of 383 compact disc recordings of the program, a weekly radio show produced by Ben Manila and initially distributed by CBS Radio. The show began in 1993 and is hosted by Dan Aykroyd (aka Elwood Blues). The shows in this collection span 1994 to 1998, and there are two compact discs for each show in most cases. Each show includes associated documents, including a printed program that lists the songs and commercial broadcast schedule, and, in some cases, promotional materials and correspondence. "Elwood's New Years Bash," "Elwood's Summertime Blues," "Elwood's Blues Fest," and "Red, White and the Blues" are special episodes of the program. Those recordings titled "House of Blues Breaks" include commercial spots advertising the show that were played the week before the show aired.

ARC-0182 Mandy Aftel Interviews on Brian Jones, 1974, 0.5 l.f.
The Mandy Aftel Interviews on Brian Jones consist of 15 original audiocassette interviews recorded by Mandy Aftel with friends of Brian Jones in 1974 for Aftel's research for the publication Death of a Rolling Stone: The Brian Jones Story (New York: Delilah Books, 1982). Interviewees featured on the audiocassettes include American rock journalist Al Aronowitz; Jo Bergman, the Rolling Stones' personal assistant from 1967-1973; Jim Carter-Fae, manager of the club The Speakeasy; Bo Diddley; Kathy Etchingham, one of Jimi Hendrix's girlfriends during the 1960s; filmmaker and music manager Giorgio Gomelsky; close friend of Jones, Richard Hattrell; Jon Hendricks of Lambert, Hendricks and Ross; recording engineer and record producer Glyn Johns; Peter Jones, journalist with the Record Mirror; blues musician and radio broadcaster Alexis Korner; Linda and Donovan Leitch (Donovan); Keith Richards and Ian Stewart of the Rolling Stones; and 1960s London model and former girlfriend of Jones, Penelope Tree.

ARC-0184 Neil Young DVD, 1990, 0.07 l.f.
The Neil Young DVD contains footage of Neil Young giving a tour of the barn where he recorded "Ragged Glory."

ARC-0185 Interviews on A Hard Day's Night, 1994, 0.21 l.f.
Interviews on A Hard Day's Night consist of video interviews with Phil Collins, Richard Lester, and Walter Shenson, surrounding the 30th anniversary of the Beatles' film, A Hard Day's Night. The film was produced by Shenson, and directed by Lester; while Collins had an uncredited role as a boy in the concert audience.

ARC-0186 Jerry Butler Awards, 1970-1993, 0.07 l.f.
The Jerry Butler Awards collection contains four awards granted to the singer, as well as one certificate of nomination declaring Butler a candidate for commissioner of Cook County, Ill.

ARC-0188 Chuck Mason Collection, 1966-1983, 1996, undated, 9.21 l.f.
The Chuck Mason Collection spans the years 1966 to 1996, with the bulk of the collection dating between 1966 to 1973. The Collection consists of 57 1/4-inch,  1/2-inch, 1-inch, and 2-inch audio tape reels of recordings made at Criteria Recording Studio in Miami, Florida, primarily for Atlantic Records' recording artists from 1966 to 1973. Some of these sessions may have been produced by Tom Dowd. Artists include James Anderson, the Bee Gees, Archie Bell and the Drells, Jimmy Cliff, Dr. John, Pete Dumser, Iron Butterfly, Jo Mama, April Lawton, Mylon LeFevre, Mitch Miller, Patterson Singers, Ramatam, Jerry Jeff Walker, and Jerry Williams. The Collection also includes some promotional material for Option 30, a synth-pop band Trent Reznor was in before forming Nine Inch Nails, and part of a 1996 Spin interview with Reznor. The Collection provides a rare look into recordings made at Criteria Recordings Studio for Atlantic Records in the late 1960s and early 1970s. Seen in a broader context, the Collection provides insight to the recording process as it existed from 1966 to 1973.

ARC-0189 Larry Schorr Photographs, 1973-1979, 0.07 l.f.
The Larry Schorr Photographs span the years 1973 to 1979, and contain sixteen digital photographs of live performances in the San Francisco Bay area. Artists that are pictured include Jello Biafra with the Dead Kennedys, David Byrne with the Talking Heads, Elvis Costello, Doug Feiger with the Knack, Peter Gabriel solo and with Genesis, Debbie Harry with Blondie, Bob Marley, Mark Mothersbaugh and Jerry Casale with Devo, Johnny Ramone with the Ramones, Patti Smith, Dave Vanian with the Damned, and Sid Vicious with the Sex Pistols. The images capture important events for a number of these groups, including the first U.S. shows for Elvis Costello and the Dead Kennedys, and the first U.S. tours for Peter Gabriel (solo) and the Knack.

ARC-0191 Collection on the Beatles, 1964, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on the Beatles consists of clippings from southwest Ohio newspapers and various teen magazines, as well as three "United States of Beatlemania" treasury notes featuring George Harrison, John Lennon, and Paul McCartney.

ARC-0194 George Clinton Sketch, 2011, 0.07 l.f.
The George Clinton Sketch was created by Clinton on July 31, 2011 during his Hall of Fame interview with Howard Kramer at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum.

ARC-0195 Laura Peskin Collection, 1969-1993, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Laura Peskin Collection spans the years 1969 to 1993 and includes some undated material. The collection contains 45 rpm record sleeves, handbills, and postcards related to various artists, including The Beatles, Jackson Browne, Alice Cooper, the Cure, Mary Hopkin, House of Large Sizes, Jesus and Mary Chain, Jethro Tull, Joan Jett, John Lennon and Yoko Ono, Julian Lennon, The Monkees, the Moody Blues, Ringo Starr, The Temptations, Traffic, and White Lion.

ARC-0196 Collection on Granicus, 1973, 0.25 l.f.
The Collection on Granicus contains photographs and biographical material related to the short-lived Cleveland-based hard rock band Granicus. The collection provides a unique insight into the rock music culture of Rust Belt-era Cleveland.

ARC-0197 Schwartz Brothers Records, 1955-1992, 10.21 l.f.
Schwartz Brothers Records spans the years 1955 to 1992, with the bulk of the collection dating between 1965 and 1985. The collection consists primarily of vendor files compiled by Schwartz Brothers, Inc. during their day to day operations from 1965 to 1985. These files contain catalogs, correspondence, and invoices from the various record companies, large and small, whose records the Schwartz Brothers, Inc. distributed. The Arista Records, Inc. and Motown Record Corporation files also contain legal documents, including depositions, for two separate court cases against the two companies in which Schwartz Brothers, Inc. was the plaintiff. Other materials in the collection relate to the promotion of Schwartz Brothers, Inc. and their chain of record stores, Harmony Hut. Included are advertising, articles, photographs, and posters (some autographed). The collection illustrates the day-to-day operations of a regional record distributor from 1965 to 1985. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight to the growth of family-run businesses as well as changes in the record industry during this era and resulting lawsuits.

ARC-0198 Yellow Submarine Photographs, 1968, 0.07 l.f.
The Yellow Submarine Photographs contain three reproductions of film stills from the motion picture Yellow Submarine and one receipt from the British Film Institute for the purchase of those stills. Items are titled "Cabaret," "Lady Sings the Blues," and "Yellow Submarine."

ARC-0199 Senator George V. Voinovich Collection, 1986, 1993, 4.07 l.f.
The Senator George V. Voinovich Collection documents the selection of Cleveland as the location for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. The collection contains four photographs and one poster: the groundbreaking for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, featuring Voinovich and Cleveland mayor Michael White; Voinovich and Rolling Stone publisher Jann Wenner posing with shovels (this photograph is autographed by Wenner); Voinovich and Ahmet Ertegun at a press conference, presumably announcing Cleveland as the location for the museum; and Voinovich with former Ohio governor Richard Celeste. The poster commemorates the date of the groundbreaking: June 7, 1993.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org