Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections: ARC-0201 to ARC-0250

Archival Collections, ARC-0201 through ARC-0250

ARC-0201 Sylvia Kemble Photographs, 1956, 1958 January 17, 1 folder
The Sylvia Kemble Photographs consist of eight black-and-white photographs from 1956 and 1958. Six are promotional and include George Hamilton IV, Mello Kings, Royal Teens, an autographed image of Pat Boone, and two autographed images of the Everly Brothers. There are also two snapshots of unidentified individuals at a rock and roll show from January 17, 1958 in Hershey, Pennsylvania--possibly as part of an Everly Brothers' tour. The images provide insight to the rock and roll revues of the 1950s, as well as to the promotion of artists during that period.

ARC-0202 Collection on Carl Gardner, 2009, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Carl Gardner consists of one essay titled "An Interview with Carl Gardner of the Coasters," written by the donor Thomas J. Prestopnik, a photograph of Prestopnik with Gardner, and a program and "In Memoriam" card from Gardner's funeral.

ARC-0204 Sandy Cox Collection of Top 40 Lists, 1964-1977, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Sandy Cox Collection of Top 40 Lists contains approximately 100 Tunedex lists from  the Akron, Ohio radio station WHLO (1964-1973), as well as Top 40 lists from WAKR, WIXY, and other Northeast Ohio radio stations.

ARC-0205 Bruce Lundvall Collection, 1974-2009, 0.07 l.f.
The Bruce Lundvall Collection contains 52 photographs featuring Blue Note executive Bruce Lundvall and various recording artists, primarily from the 1970s and 1980s, as well as copies of letters sent to Lundvall from other recording artists. Artists represented include Jackson Browne, Billy Joel, Carlos Santana, Boz Scaggs, Willie Nelson, Janis Ian, Joan Baez, and Heart, among others.

ARC-0206 Bob Bonis Photographs, 1964-1966, undated, 0.92 l.f.
The Bob Bonis Photographs document the Beatles and Rolling Stones in the mid-1960s, both on-stage and off.  The collection contains 150 black-and-white and color prints. A majority of the images measure 11 x 7.5 inches, with some enlarged to 13 x 8.5 inches. The prints are arranged by band, and then chronological order.

ARC-0207 Little Steven's Underground Garage Radio Programs (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 2003-2008, 1.67 l.f.
Little Steven's Underground Garage Radio Programs (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection) consists of compact discs and track listings of Little Steven's weekly radio program from December 2003 to May 2008. The recordings are arranged chronologically by year and month of broadcast.

ARC-0208 Collection on Lonnie Johnson, 2011, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Lonnie Johnson consists of an early draft from Dean Alger's forthcoming book, Mr. Blues Walks In: The Music, Life, and Times of the Legendary Lonnie Johnson, as well as one CD compiled by Alger, entitled "The Ultimate Best of Lonnie Johnson." The Collection provides insight into early jazz and blues guitar music.

ARC-0209 Jeff Barry Collection, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Jeff Barry Collection contains three black-and-white photographs featuring Barry with various musicians, including Van Morrison. It also contains a page printed from Ellie Greenwich's website, featuring a photograph of Barry and Greenwich, as well as Paul Case, Jerry Leiber, Artie Ripp, Ed Silvers, and Phil Spector at a 1964 BMI dinner.

ARC-0210 Collection on Ricky Vac and the Rock-a-Ways, 2001-2005, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Ricky Vac and the Rock-a-ways contains two press clippings on the Berea, Ohio-based rock band, as well as a 2005 calendar from the Berea Historical Society that features a photograph of the Rock-a-Ways. The collection provides insight into the influence of rock and roll music on Northeast Ohio during the 1950s.

ARC-0211 Michael Zager Collection, 1977-1986, 2.0 l.f.
The Michael Zager Collection consists of 22 reel tapes, four vinyl test pressing albums, one 45 rpm record, and one 8-track tape, reflective of Zager's career as a musician, composer and producer. A highlight of the collection are the four reel tapes of the Michael Zager Band's single, "Life's A Party," featuring the first commercial recording of Whitney Houston singing back-up vocals at age 14. Other highlights include a very rare 8-track cassette of the #1 Billboard dance chart single, "Let's All Chant" by the Michael Zager Band; a reel tape of Raquel Welch's 1986 single, "This Girl's Back In Town;" reels and test pressings by The Spinners; and reel recordings of the original soundtrack from Friday the 13th, Part III.

ARC-0212 Yellow Submarine Cel, 1958, 1.5 l.f.
The Yellow Submarine Cel depicts John Lennon and George Harrison in a scene from the Beatles' 1968 motion picture Yellow Submarine. It measures 16" x 12.5".

ARC-0213 Collection on Erline Harris, circa 1940s, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Erline Harris consist of four black-and-white photographs of rhythm & blues singer Erline Harris, as well as three concert handbills and one newspaper clipping advertising Harris's performance at the Orchid Room, Kansas City, Missouri.

ARC-0214 Pete Seeger and Fillmore East Concert Programs, 1964, 1971, 0.07 l.f.
The Pete Seeger and Fillmore East Concert Programs consist of two concert programs, one of which document a Seeger performance in Israel in 1964; the other, the final performance at the Fillmore in 1971.

ARC-0216 Cass Paley Video Collection, 1982-2001, 8.21 l.f.
The Cass Paley Video Collection spans the years 1982 to 2001 and consists of 88 video tapes in these formats: VHS, Betacam SP, and 3/4" U-matic. The tapes feature video press kits, interviews, promotional materials, and music videos produced by Cass Paley. Artists featured in the collection include: Elvis Costello, Dr. John, Fleetwood Mac, Madonna, Lou Reed, The Replacements, Frank Sinatra, Bruce Springsteen, and Neil Young.

ARC-0217 Collection on Nirvana, 1993-1994, 0.21 l.f.
Collection consists of two newspaper clippings about Kurt Cobain and Nirvana, and one bootleg VHS video recording of a live Nirvana performance.

ARC-0218 Collection on the Rolling Stones, 1989, 4.07 l.f.
The Collection on the Rolling Stones consists of two color photographs of the Rolling Stones and one promotional poster for the film Let's Spend the Night Together.

ARC-0219 Neil Ladner Photographs, 2008, 0.07 l.f.
The Neil Ladner Photographs are from the seventh annual Ponderosa Stomp in 2008. The collection includes 69 images of artists performing at the celebration, including Lazy Lester.

ARC-0220 Steely Dan Handbill, 1974, 0.07 l.f.
The Steely Dan Handbill documents one of the last shows that Steely Dan played in the 1970s, at the University of California-Santa Barbara's Robertson Gym on June 23, 1974. The handbill is black-and-white with an image of the band. This handbill will be of interest to researchers of the band.

ARC-0221 MTV Networks VH1 Video, 1993-2002, undated, 32.08 l.f.
MTV Networks VH1 Video span the years 1993 to 2002 and contains 237 Betacam SP 60 minute and 160 Betacam SP 30 minute videocassette copies of television shows featured on the MTV Network channel VH1. Programs represented in the collection include 20 to 1All AccessBehind the MusicDuetsFan ClubLegendsOne to OnePresents the 70’sRockStoryStorytellers, and Video Timeline. The videos provide rich insight to VH1's attempts to expand its programming during the 1990s, and offer a glimpse into the documentation of rock and pop music history during time.

ARC-0222 Cleveland College Radio Audiocassettes, 1988-2011, 7.5 l.f.
The Cleveland College Radio Audiocassettes span the years 1988 to 2011 and consists of 1,140 audiocassettes of Cleveland college radio programs. Also included are two compact discs of Thomas Tobie appearing on a 2010 Halloween show on WRUW, 91.1 FM, Case Western Reserve University's radio station. The cassettes provide insight into the local alternative music scene of Cleveland, Ohio during this time span.

ARC-0224 Henry Kozek Collection, 1922-1990, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Henry Kozek Collection spans the years 1922 to 1990 and includes some undated material, with the bulk of the collection material from 1972 to 1990. The Collection contains assorted rock and roll memorabilia; clippings; ephemera (including "Great Moments in Rock 'n Roll" soundsheets from Quaker Oats granola bars in the 1980s), programs from University Amphitheatre in University City, Ca., and the Greek Theatre in Los Angeles; handbills and flyers from various events, including the KRLA Doo Wop Weekend; and a small selection of printed sheet music, mainly from the 1920s-1940s.The bulk of the collection relates to doo-wop, oldies radio stations, and Motown.

ARC-0225 Heroin Diaries Manuscript, 2007, 0.21 l.f.
The Heroin Diaries Manuscript collection consists of an unbound preview edition of the book The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star by Mötley Crüe bassist Nikki Sixx (with Ian Gittins). The book, arranged as a series of diary entries, chronicles the period leading up to Sixx's heroin overdose in 1987.

ARC-0226 Synchronicity Album Covers, 1983, 0.5 l.f.
Synchronicity Album Covers contains 36 album covers of the Police's 1983 LP, Synchronicity. This number includes two copies each of 18 different album designs. Five identical copies of the inner record sleeve are also included.

ARC-0227 Carry It On Manuscript, 1985, 0.07 l.f.
This collection consists of a 1985 pre-publication edition of Carry It On: A History in Song and Picture of the Working Men and Women of America, by Pete Seeger and Bob Reiser. Included is a  typewritten and signed letter from Seeger, photocopies of the book's front cover, and list of errata.

ARC-0228 Supremes at Lincoln Center Poster, 1965 October 15, 4 l.f.
The Supremes at Lincoln Center Poster is for a concert on October 15, 1965 in New York. The poster art is by Joe Eula.

ARC-0229 Theresa Chambers Collection, 1995-2001, 0.11 l.f.
The Theresa Chambers Collection spans the years 1995 to 2001 and contains one diary and one folder of correspondence from Chambers' work as a booking agent for the Mercury Lounge, a club located on Houston St. in New York City.

ARC-0230 Robert Altman Photographs, 1967-1978, 0.07 l.f.
The Robert Altman Photographs consist of 159 TIFF images (and corresponding low resolution JPEG derivatives) on a DVD-R, spanning the years 1968 to 1978, with the bulk of the photographs from 1969-1970. The collection focuses on both the folk-rock movement and San Francisco area psychedelic rock. The images in the collection feature a wide range of musicians and musical groups, as well as photographs from Altamont, the Big Sur Folk Festival, and a number of San Francisco music venues and anti-war demonstrations. There are numerous images of the members of Jefferson Airplane, the Rolling Stones, the Who, and Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young; in addition to images of Joan Baez, Chuck Berry, Elvin Bishop, Ray Charles, Eric Clapton, Joe Cocker, Commander Cody and his Lost Planet Airmen, Sam Cutler, Delaney and Bonnie, Bo Diddley, Cass Elliot, Aretha Franklin, Bill Graham, the Grateful Dead, Arlo Guthrie, George Harrison, Richie Havens, Chris Hillman, Elton John, Kris Kristofferson, Michael Lang, Taj Mahal, Country Joe McDonald, Steve Miller, Joni Mitchell, Jim Morrison, Mott the Hoople, Mountain, Laura Nyro, Phil Ochs, Gram Parsons, Iggy Pop, Linda Ronstadt, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Santana, Boz Scaggs, Tina Turner, Vanilla Fudge, Jann Wenner, Johnny Winter, and Jesse Colin Young. Item-level descriptions of the photographs, provided by the photographer, available upon request.

ARC-0232 Collection on The Who, 1982, 0.21 l.f.
The Collection on The Who consists of logistical information on the group's final concert on December 17, 1982 at Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto, Canada. The files contain information on stage design, schedules, technical and lighting specifications, contracts, and correspondence regarding the event.

ARC-0234 Collection on the Beatles in Cleveland, 1964, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of one DVD and one CD-R documenting the Beatles' performance at Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio on September 15, 1964. The DVD contains a reproduction of an 8mm silent film taken by the donor. The CD-R contains still photos of the Beatles from Cleveland radio station WHK.

ARC-0235 Dale and Jeanne Ketcham Sheet Music Collection, 1926-1991, 0.42 l.f.
The Dale and Jeanne Ketcham Sheet Music Collection spans the years 1926 to 1991 and consists of 336 pieces of sheet music. Artists of note featured in the collection include: The Beatles, Cher, Neil Diamond, The Doors, Elvis Presley, Queen, The Righteous Brothers, and Simon and Garfunkel.

ARC-0236 Gary Victor Collection of Circus Magazine, circa 1990, 0.92 l.f.
The collection consists of one 11-page flip chart from an advertising/sales presentation for Circus, and one color proof of an advertisement for Circus' 1991 Unsigned Band Contest. The collection provides insight into the business of rock music magazines during the early 1990s, as well as the practice of advertising to teenagers.

ARC-0238 Collection on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Opening, 1995, 0.21 l.f.
The collection contains brochures from the grand opening weekend celebration of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, clippings from local newspapers, and photographs taken during the festivities.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0239 Brian Ratner Collection, 1956-1990, undated, 4.21 l.f.
The Brian Ratner Collection consists mainly of planning and marketing documents kept by Ratner during the period leading up to the construction of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in Cleveland, Ohio. This includes three bound documents entitled, "Report of the Joint Strategic Planning Task Force," "Strategy Meeting Agenda and Meeting Minutes," and "Market Demand and Financial Analysis Study." Also included in the Collection are handbills from concerts by Bob Dylan and Elvis Presley, a concert poster for a Grateful Dead concert in Cleveland, and a color photograph of Eric Clapton performing.

ARC-0240 John Grybowski Collection, 1967-1980, 11.5 l.f.
The John Grybowski Collection consists of artist files, clippings, and posters from 1967 to 1980, with some undated items. The artist files and posters are arranged alphabetically by artist; clippings, chronologically. Artists featured include the Beatles, Doors, Jimi Hendrix, Elton John, Pink Floyd, and the Rolling Stones. The collection documents the classic rock music scene during the early-1970s and showcases rock music journalism of the era.

ARC-0242 Kid Cudi Collection, 2009, 1.99 l.f.
The Kid Cudi Collection consists of a tour itinerary, three promotional postcards for Day 'N' Nite and Man on the Moon, and three posters for Man on the Moon, "Kid Cudi On Tour," and Lollapalooza.

ARC-0243 Collection on Dion, 1949-1997, undated, 4.46 l.f.
The Collection on Dion spans the years 1949 to 1997, with the bulk of the material dating between 1980 and 1997. Four series make up the collection: audiovisual materials, papers, photographs, and posters. The collection mainly concentrates on the latter half of Dion's career and is not meant to be an exhaustive source of information about the singer.

ARC-0244 Newspaper Clippings on the Death of John Lennon, 1980-1981, 1.0 l.f.
The Newspaper Clippings on John Lennon contain clippings specifically related to the death of John Lennon. The clippings are from newspapers based in New York City, London, and Los Angeles, and include syndicated papers as well. The collection provides a glimpse into the world's reaction to Lennon's tragic death, and its impact upon his fans.

ARC-0245 Jim Randazzo Papers, 1968-1974, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Jim Randazzo Papers consists of business papers, photographs, press kits, and biographical information on The Who from Randazzo's career in the music industry during the late-1960s to early 1970s. Artists included in the collection are The Who, the Moody Blues, and John Mayall. Randazzo's papers provide a glimpse into the music industry during the formative years of rock and roll.

ARC-0246 William Wendling Collection on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, 1985-1988, 1995, 0.63 l.f.
The William Wendling Collection of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum is comprised of clippings, files from the Greater Cleveland Growth Association, and videocassettes related to the campaign to get the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in Cleveland. The collection provides documentation of the campaign process, as well as the early history and impact of the Museum in Cleveland.

ARC-0248 Rick Kollins Collection, 1956-1957, 0.21 l.f.
The Rick Kollins Collection consists of three concert programs and a fan club membership card for the singing group the Diamonds. Two of the concert programs are for line-ups of the Biggest Show of Stars for '57, and the third is for the Biggest Rock 'n Roll Show of '56.

ARC-0250 LaMont Robinson Collection, circa 1950s-1970s, 2.59 l.f.
The LaMont Robinson Collection spans the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s and primarily documents artists that performed at the Cleveland nightclub Leo's Casino. Artists featured in the photographs include the Jackson 5, Temptations, and Jackie Wilson. The digital portion of the collection contains photographs by Jimmy Baynes and supplements the photographs in ARC-0161 Jimmy Baynes Collection. The digital images are of national and local African American performers, dancers, politicians, and sports figures, as well as events in the local African American community.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org