Archival Collections: ARC-0701 to ARC-0750

ARC-0700 Helen Sinko Photographs of Led Zeppelin, 1975. 0.07 l.f.
The Helen Sinko Photographs of Led Zeppelin are dated January 1975. There are 12 digital images on CD-R and 4 4x6 prints from a Led Zeppelin concert at Cleveland Public Hall in January 1975. The photographs were taken by Helen Sinko.

ARC-0701 Patricia J. Williams Photograph of Billy Ward and His Dominoes, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Patricia J. Williams Photograph of Billy Ward and His Dominoes is undated. The collection contains one autographed black-and-white photograph of Billy Ward and His Dominoes.

ARC-0703 Tony Scalzo Lyrics for "The Way," 1999, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of one page of handwritten lyrics to "The Way," written by Tony Scalzo and recorded by Fastball. The lyrics are dated circa 1999.

ARC-0704 Ian and Bridget Brodie Dusty Springfield Packing List, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of an undated packing list created and/or used by Dusty Springfield.

ARC-0705 Charles Brown Lyrics and Ledger, 1964, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Charles Brown Lyrics and Ledger consist of handwritten lyrics for "These Blues" and a ledger for a salary advanced account dated April and May of 1964.

ARC-0706 Andrea Caruso Billy Joel Tour Program, 1979, 0.07 l.f.
The Andrea Caruso Billy Joel Tour Program consists of one tour program for Joel’s 1979 United States tour, Tour of America.

ARC-0707 Peter Bullock Fillmore West Handbill, 1971, 0.07 l.f.
The Peter Bullock Fillmore West Handbill contains one handbill for performances for June 17-20, 1971. The handbill features Boz Scaggs, Tower of Power, and Mason Proffit.

ARC-0708 Clevelend Collection, 1982-2009, 5.76 l.f.
The Clevelend Collection is dated 1982-2009 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of clippings, photographs, a 1988 edition of Guinness Book of World Records, VHS and digital footage of Clevelend's record-breaking marathon, and a proclamation and plaques given to the band for breaking the world record for continuously playing rock and roll for 100 hours and 2 minutes. The Clevelend Collection provides insight into the band's record-breaking marathon and their impact on publicity for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in Cleveland, Ohio.

ARC-0709 Susan Cain Collection, 1964-1967, 0.07 l.f.
The Susan Cain Collection consists of one tour program for the 1964 Caravan of Stars, six postcard handbills, and six handbills. The handbills and postcards feature concerts in a variety of venues in San Francisco, California, and are dated 1967. Artists include The Anonymous Artists of America, Chuck Berry, Big Brother and the Holding Company, Blue Cheer, Blue Crumb Truck Factory, The Blues Project, Canned Heat,Count Basie Orchestra, The Doors, Moby Grape, Grateful Dead, John Lee Hooker, Jefferson Airplane, B.B. King, Charles Lloyd, Loading Zone, Magic Fern, Steve Miller, Steve Miller Band, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Jimmy Reed, Otis Rush, Salvation, Siegel-Schwall, Soul Survivors, Sunshine Company, Wildflower, Young Rascals, and The Youngbloods. The postcards and handbills will be of interest to researchers of artists and the bands, as well as the music scene in late 1960s California. The collection is arranged by format and then alphabetically by artist.

ARC-0710 Buzz Knight Audio Recordings of Takin' A Walk, 2022-2024, 3.85 G.B.
Buzz Knight Audio Recordings of Takin' A Walk contain 93 digital files of audio recordings and transcripts dated 2022-2024. The recordings consist of episodes of the interview-style podcast "Takin' A Walk" from media personality Buzz Knight. Knight interviews a variety of guests about their personal and professional connection to music. Interviewees include many artists and media executives such as Rick Allen, Kenny Aronoff, Rob Barnett, Jeff Baxter, Gerald Casale, Felix Cavaliere, Jorma Kaukonen, Allen Kovac, John Oates, Bill Payne, Paul Rodgers, Dee Snider, and Matt Sorum. The collection provides insight into the music industry as a whole but also into the individuals' stories and experiences as the podcast format allows for more in-depth conversation to occur. The files are arranged by format and then alphabetically by subject.

ARC-0711 Barbara Pariser Adler Collection on the Monterey International Pop Festival, 1967, undated, 0.07 l.f. 
The Barbara Pariser Adler Collection on the Monterey International Pop Festival, 1967, undated, includes business cards, correspondence, contracts, and other legal documents related to the festival. The documents detail aspects of the founding of the Monterey Pop Festival, including correspondence, contracts for the production of festival artwork by Tom Wilkes (including business cards for Alan Pariser featuring art by Wilkes), and other legal paperwork concerning the founding partners of the festival, as well as a promissory note payable to Harry Manning, and a document confirming the festival's subsequent discontinuance as a business entity. The collection primarily represents aspects of the legal creation of the Monterey Pop Festival as it pertained to co-producers Alan Pariser and Ben Shapiro. Given the extent to which the running of the actual festival was taken over by Lou Adler and John Phillips, with Shapiro being cut out of the picture entirely and Pariser being given a much-reduced role, the documents in the collection represent some of the earliest stages of the festival's development. None of the collection materials relate to any of the bands contracted to play at the festival.

ARC-0712 Rosalind Ashford-Holmes Collection on Martha and the Vandellas, 1954-1992, 0.42 l.f. 
The Rosalind Ashford-Holmes Collection on Martha and the Vandellas includes materials from 1954 to 1992, with the bulk dated from 1963 to 1968. The files are organized into two series that contain materials on Martha and the Vandellas and the personal papers of Rosalind Ashford-Holmes. Series I: Martha and the Vandellas consists of contracts, clippings, postcards, photographs and slides, and documents for the Motortown Revue, including European tour information. Series II: Personal Papers consists of the personal documents and photographs of Rosalind Ashford-Holmes and include education documents, photographs, a passport, and Motown identification card. The collection provides insight into Ashford-Holmes' childhood and Motown's business and marketing for a popular 1960s female vocal group.

ARC-0714 Dave Madden Promotional Materials, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Dave Madden Promotional Materials are undated and consist of one photograph of the Partridge Family with Dave Madden (signed reproduction) and one promotional pamphlet showing Madden's work on various television shows.

ARC-0715 Tom Muccio Collection on Stea and Phillips Recording Studio, 1962-1965, 0.07 l.f.
The Tom Muccio Collection on Stea and Phillips Recording Studio contains items related to Stea & Phillips Enterprises from 1962 through 1965. Seven billing sheets are included from sessions recorded at the Stea-Phillips recording studio for Bob Crewe productions between August 18, 1962, and February 13, 1965. The billing sheets are arranged in chronological order, and provide information about the songs and parts recorded, their cost, the time the session took place, and other related details. Some of the sheets indicate the recording sessions were for an album by The Four Seasons. The prospectus is a business document from 1965 that outlines the history of Stea & Phillips, its staff, its income and expenses, and its plans for investment and growth in the coming years. It contains much information about Stea & Phillips both as a business enterprise and as a functioning recording studio, and also provides notes on its subsidiary enterprises, Tama Productions, Lenson Music, and Syntro Electronics. The prospectus also contains a number of photographs of the recording studio and a partial list of recordings made there. The collection would be of interest to anyone studying the recording of popular music in the early 1960s, or to anyone interested in the business side of recording technology.

ARC-0716 Hank Nystrom Upbeat Collection, 1965-1970, 0.07 l.f.
The Hank Nystrom Upbeat Collection is dated 1965 to 1970 and includes choreography notes, photographs, and a ticket from the Cleveland, Ohio television show Upbeat.

ARC-0718 Mark Avsec "Ah! Leah" Lyrics, 0.07 l.f.
The "Ah! Leah" Lyrics collection consists of a single sheet of handwritten lyrics to the Donnie Iris song "Ah! Leah", written circa 1980. The lyrics are written on the back of a recording session log from Jeree Records. Many numbers are written to the side of stanzas or lines of lyrics, which likely correspond to the point on the original tape reel where that line occurs in the song. There is also writing within the recording studio log on the back of the page. The item provides insight into aspects of the recording process from the point of view of a musician/songwriter.

ARC-0719 Mike Metoff Pagans Poster, 1979, 1.34 l.f.
The collection consists of one promotional poster for "Disasto 3" featuring the Northeast Ohio bands at the WHK Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio. The bands include Pagans, Styrenes, Money, Chi Pig, Lepers, and Cranks. The poster is dated December 30, 1979.

ARC-0721 Barbara Donahue Corrigan Collection on the Waitresses, 1962-1998, undated, 4.47 l.f. 
The Barbara Donahue Corrigan Collection on the Waitresses ranges from 1962 to 1998 and contains undated materials. The collection contains three series: the Waitresses, Patricia Donahue papers, and audiocassettes. The Waitresses materials include lyrics and correspondence, photographs, press kits, and clippings and magazines with reviews of the band. The personal papers of Patricia Donahue consist of documents from her education, post-Waitresses career, and personal life. The audiocassettes contain Waitresses recordings, compilations by Donahue, and recordings from her professional career working in talent and repertoire at MCA. The collection provides insight into the development and promotion of a Northeast Ohio band, as well as the career of woman in the music industry.

ARC-0722 Scott Rodas Squeeze and Hooters Poster, 1985, 2.5 .f.
The collection consists of one banner card poster for Squeeze and the Hooters dated August 8, 1985 at Garden State Arts Center, in Holmdel, New Jersey.

ARC-0723 Total Request Live Poster, undated, 2.5 l.f.
The Total Request Live Fan Poster is undated. It is a handmade sign used in front of the MTV studios during the TRL (Total Request Live) broadcast.

ARC-0724 Jim Summaria Photographs, 1973-1978, 0.21 l.f. 
The Jim Summaria Photographs consist of 44 images taken by Summaria at live performances between 1973 and 1978. The majority of the photos are of classic rock artists, but other genres like blues and psychedelic rock are represented as well. The photographs were likely taken at concerts in or near Chicago, Illinois, where Summaria was employed as a photographer. His press credentials allowed him to photograph from either the pit or the front row at most shows, so it follows that the majority of the images are fairly close-up shots of singers and/or instrumentalists, with only one or two performers in each photograph.

ARC-0726 John Ferree Digital Collection on Paul McCartney, 1969, 43.5 MB
The John Ferree Digital Collection on Paul McCartney includes one digital recording of a radio broadcast written, produced, and recorded by John Ferree at radio station WAPE (Jacksonville, Florida) in October 1969 about the rumor that Paul McCartney had died. The broadcast aired twice on October 24, 1969 and again on October 25, 1969.

ARC-0727 Bobby Briggs Collection of Sam Cooke Picture Sleeves, 1960-1965, 0.07 l.f.
The Bobby Briggs Collection of Sam Cooke Picture Sleeves is dated from 1960 to 1965. The collection consists of seven 45 rpm picture sleeves and one compact 33 picture sleeve of Sam Cooke releases. The collection is arranged alphabetically by release name. The collection provides insight into Cooke's career and the marketing of his releases.

ARC-0729 Smart Art Itineraries Collection, 1985-2015, 3.57 l.f.
The Smart Art Itineraries contains 245 tour itinerary books created by Smart Art for bands from 1985 to 2015. Many pieces of the collection are tour itineraries for inductees in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Notable pieces range from AC/DC, Pat Benatar, David Bowie, Eagles, Fleetwood Mac, Elton John, Kiss, John Mellencamp, Rod Stewart, Barbara Streisand, Donna Summer, Neil Young, and many others. The collection provides insight into the scheduling and travel arrangements of artists on tour from the late 1980s into the 21st century.

ARC-0730 Moe's Mo'Roc'n Cafe Concert Posters, 1994-1995, undated, 2.5 l.f.
The Moe's Mo'Roc'n Cafe Concert Posters are dated from 1994 to 1995 and include undated material. The collection consists of 15 screen-printedp osters from various concerts and shows at Moe's Mo'Roc'n Cafe in Seattle, Washington. The posters are arranged alphabetically by band name. The collection provides insight into how mainstream and alternative rock bands and venues promoted their shows in the mid-1990s and serves as a reference to artists that played during that era.

ARC-0732 Mike Aydelott Memorial Day Ball Poster, 1969, 0.92 l.f.
The Mike Aydelott Memorial Day Ball Poster documents a concert held at Rob Gym at the University of California, Santa Barbara, on May 29, 1969. Poster designed by Mike Aydelott. The concert featured the Grateful Dead and Lee Michaels and the Young Bloods.

ARC-0733 Rowland Scherman Photograph of Bob Dylan, 1965, 1.34 l.f.
The collection consists of two 13 x 16-inch color photo prints of Bob Dylan from 1965, Washington, DC. The uncropped image was used on the cover of the album Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits.

ARC-0734 James Kottak Audio Interview, 2023 December 6, 4.7 MB
The James Kottak Audio Interview is a digital audio recording of an interview by donor Jeffrey Johnson with James Kottak, the longest-serving drummer of the rock band The Scorpions. The interview was recorded on December 6, 2023 and provides insight into Kottak's drumming career and musical influences.

ARC-0735 Hunter Havens Collection of Handbills and Posters, 1967-1987, undated, 4.07 l.f.
The Hunter Havens Collection of Handbills and Posters is dated 1967 to 1987 and includes undated materials. The collection consists of 6 handbills and 11 posters for artists such as Butterfield Blues Band, Jefferson Airplane, Albert King, Yes, Fleetwood Mac. The collection provides insights into how rock bands from the late 1960s to the 1980s promoted themselves and the graphic styles of the time. The materials are arranged by format and are arranged alphabetically by headlining artist or band.

ARC-0736 Creedence Clearwater Revival Posters, undated, 4.0 l.f.
The Creedence Clearwater Revival Posters consist of two undated promotional posters for Creedence Clearwater Revival. One poster for the album Thank You! includes the signatures of the band members. The other poster is a four photograph montage of Creedence Clearwater Revival performing on stage.

ARC-0738 Tonic Set Lists, 2000, 0.07 l.f.
The Tonic Set Lists consist of three printed set lists for the band Tonic from a concert on June 24, 2000, at the Hurricane music festival in Germany. Each band member's name is written on the back of one of the setlists, along with the stage direction where that performer was located (e.g. "stage left"). The collection will be of interest to those curious about aspects of Tonic's live shows, such as which songs the band was performing at this point in time.

ARC-0739 Joseph Mackto Elton John Flyer, 1973, 0.07 l.f.
The Joseph Mackto Elton John Flyer consists of one flyer for an Elton John performance at the Sportatorium in Hollywood, Florida on October 20, 1973.

ARC-0740 Wayne Van Doren Collection, 1965-2018, 0.21 l.f.
The Wayne Van Doren Collection is dated 1965-2018. The collection contains programs, audio and lighting requirements, stage plots, set lists, and/or other information relating to concerts at the Ritz Theatre (Tiffin, OH) by the Charlie Daniels Band, Dennis DeYoung, Survivor, Gary Lewis & The Playboys, Air Supply, Melissa Manchester, the Beach Boys, Frankie Avalon, 38 Special, Paul Revere’s Raiders, and Michael McDonald. The collection also contains photographs and correspondence from the Ohio bands, Mail Order and the Vandaliers.

ARC-0741 Beachcombers Photographs, 1964, 0.07 l.f.
The Beachcombers Photographs are dated circa 1964 and include three 8.5 x 11.5-inch black-and-white photographs of the Beachcombers with Keith Moon. Two of the photographs show the band while performing and one is a posed group shot.

ARC-0742 Carl Gardner Photographs and Contracts, 1955-1993, undated, 0.07 l.f.
Spans the years 1955 to 1993, and includes 10 photographs of the Coasters, and two signed recording contracts for Gardner and the Coasters. The two contracts document the Coasters and Gardner's business dealings with Atlantic Records, where they released albums under the Atlantic subsidiary of Atco Records, and provide insight into signing with a major label in the 1950s and 1960s. The photographs visually document different line-ups of the Coasters over time, and the collection is a valuable resource for understanding Gardner's long career with the Coasters.

ARC-0744 Harry Marcus Capitol Theatre Handbill, 1970, 0.07 l.f.
The Harry Marcus Capitol Theatre Handbill is dated 1970. The handbill is for Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, New York for concerts held in March and April 1970. Featured acts include Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Steve Miller Blues Band, and Taj Mahal.

ARC-0746 Ed Nano Photograph of Kiss, 1976-1978, 0.07 l.f.
The Ed Nano Photograph of KISS is undated and consists of an 8” x 10” black-and-white photograph of the KISS crew and possibly KISS onstage at Richfield Coliseum, circa 1976-1978.

ARC-0748 Ben E. King Collection, 1959-1982, undated, 0.07 l.f. 
The Ben E. King collection contains seven items, donated by Ben E. King, which feature the Crowns, the Drifters, and King's work as a solo performer. It includes promotional photographs, a show flyer, a composite photograph featuring King and other performers at the Apollo Theater in Harlem, and a biography of the Drifters from Atlantic Records. Most of the items are undated; roughly half of them are from the late 1950s / early 1960s. The Drifters' biography and Kingston concert flyer both provide insight into the way R&B artists were promoted and advertised in the late 1950s into the 1960s. Of particular note is the significance of the song "Stand By Me" to the promotion of King's solo career, as the song title appears on both the 1962 concert poster and the later color promotional photograph of King.

ARC-0750 Darkness Lyrics and Setlist, 2004, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Darkness Lyrics and Setlist consist of one sheet of handwritten lyrics and one sheet set list for a concert in Chicago in 2004. The handwritten lyrics contain re-written "clean" fragments from "Black Shuck," "Stuck in a Rut," and "Givin' Up."