Archival Collections: ARC-0851 to ARC-0900

ARC-0851 Tony Roberson Photograph of the Jackson 5 and Cash, 1976-1978, 48.8 MB
The Tony Roberson Photograph of the Jackson 5 and Cash consists of one digital image of members of the Jackson 5 and the band Cash, from Cleveland, OH, taken circa 1976-1978.

ARC-0852 Jeff Shaw Collection of Autographed Photographs, undated, 405 MB
The Jeff Shaw Collection of Autographed Photographs is undated and consists of 4 digital images of signed photographs and promotional material from the Grammy Awards. Artists include Frankie Avalon, Peter Noone, and Gary Lewis.

ARC-0853 Joel Yarvis Collection on Cab Calloway, 1942-1945, 224 MB
The Joel Yarvis Collection on Cab Calloway consists of 3 digital images relating to Calloway, including an autographed promotional photo, Western Union telegram (1942 February 2), and mat with mounted autograph and matchbook (1945). The collection sheds light on the style and use of promotional materials in the 1940s, as well as relations between Calloway and American broadcast journalist, Walter Kaner.

ARC-0855 George Wein Collection on the Newport Jazz Festival, 1955-1969, 1997, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The George Wein Collection on the Newport Jazz Festival is dated 1955-1969, 1997, and contains undated materials. The collection consists of clippings, programs, and a photograph of John Coltrane.

ARC-0856 Richie Rotkin Caravan of Stars Tour Itinerary, 1964, 0.07 l.f.
The Richie Rotkin Caravan of Stars Tour Itinerary consists of a three page typed itinerary from the summer of 1964 and a calendar. Included on the typed itinerary are handwritten notes by Richie Rotkin and Jimmy Ford.

ARC-0857 Joe Rotz Collection of Business and Membership Cards, 1967, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Joe Rotz Collection of Business and Membership Cards is dated 1967 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of nine business cards from Cleveland bands: Coachmen, Down Unders, Jack and the Rippers, Knight-Ryders, Others, Kicks Incorporated, and the Teques. It also includes three membership cards for KYWW radio, J-Teens, and CYO Hi-Club.

ARC-0860 Bill Payne Little Feat Collection, 1970, 1972, undated, 0.14 l.f. 
The Bill Payne Little Feat Collection encompasses various items relating to keyboardist / songwriter Bill Payne's life and career in the 1970s, especially his work with Little Feat, a band he co-founded. Payne's business dealings are represented through documents in the collection, as well as aspects of his creative work, represented by lyric sheets, set lists, and spiral notebooks full of lyrics, set lists, drawings, and other notes on song arrangements and chord progressions. Payne's day planner from 1973, offers a particularly in-depth look at both the business and creative sides of his work, giving evidence of his busy schedule, with meetings, recording sessions, rehearsals, and other commitments mixed in with set lists, contacts, and notes on daily expenses. Other artists mentioned in the planner in the context of rehearsals and recording sessions include Bonnie Raitt and the Doobie Brothers. One item in the collection not directly related to Payne is a black-and-white promotional photograph of Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention, which features Little Feat co-founder Lowell George.

ARC-0861 Seth Matlins "Rock the Vote" Collection, 1994-1999, undated, 4.21 l.f.
The Seth Matlin "Rock the Vote" Collection spans 1994 to 1999 and contains undated materials. The collection has two series: Series I: Subject Files and Series II: Posters. Series I: Subject Files consist of a press kit, voters brochures and guides, pledge cards and voter registration forms, ads, and CDs and VHS compilations of PSA announcements. Series II: Posters consists of five posters advertising "Rock the Vote."

ARC-0862 Susan Shuptrine Collection of Programs and Ticket, 1956-1957, 0.07 l.f.
The Susan Shuptrine Collection of Programs and Ticket consists of three rhythm and blues programs and one ticket to the Midnighters. The programs are titles "Rhythm 'N Blues of 1956," "The Biggest Show of Stars for '57," and "The Roy Hamilton Show."

ARC-0863 Les-Buzz Ballroom Audio Recordings, 1957, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Les-Buzz Ballroom Audio Recordings contain two 1/4 inch audio tapes recorded in the late 1950s at the Les-Buzz Ballroom in Spring Valley, Illinois. The tapes, recorded by donor Duane Adams' father, feature live performances by Gene Vincent and Eddie Cash.

ARC-0864 Elvis Presley Jailhouse Rock Personnel Record, 1957, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of the personnel record for Elvis Presley for the filming of Jailhouse Rock. It is dated May 14, 1957.

ARC-0865 Jim Stincic Collection, 1960-1992, 0.07 l.f.
The Jim Stincic Collection consists primarily of promotional photographs featuring musical artists in films from the 1960s, as well as a copy of a promotional photograph used during a 1992 tour by Chuck Berry, and an undated record sleeve containing names and illustrations of several Atlantic Records R&B recording artists of the mid-1950s. Two promotional photos depict scenes from the film "Help!" featuring The Beatles and include an image of Paul McCartney playing the organ and an image of all four Beatles in uniform in a marching band. The promo photo of Fabian is from the 1960 film "High Time". All the photos are in black-and-white and are 8 by 10-inch in size. They serve as representative examples of promotional materials for artists and films from that era. The performers depicted on the back of the Atlantic record sleeve are The Clovers, Ruth Brown, Joe Morris, The Cardinals, Joe Turner, and Al Hibbler. A number of names of other R&B performers on Atlantic are also listed on the sleeve, which helps indicate how Atlantic used genre-specific record sleeves to advertise similar recording artists on their label to people purchasing their records.

ARC-0866 Rena Speisman Collection of Fillmore East Programs, 1969-1970, 0.07 l.f.
The Rena Speisman Collection of Fillmore East Programs consists of ten concert programs for the Fillmore East dated from 1969 to 1970. Performances include Santana, the Byrds, Neil Young, Traffic, John Mayall, and the Grateful Dead. 

ARC-0867 Helena Street Rolling Stones Fan Club Letter and Photograph, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Helena Street Rolling Stones Fan Club Letter and Photograph consists of a letter from the official Rolling Stones Fan Club and one black-and-white autographed photograph of the band. 

ARC-0868 Michael and Thomas Scoville Fender Reverb Amplifier Manual and Schematics, 1977, 0.07 l.f.
The collection contains one manual and one page of schematics for the Super Twin Reverb Amplifier by Fender and is dated 1977. The documents in the collection were from a Fender amplifier owned by Stiv Bators, a member of the Dead Boys and The Lords of the New Church.

ARC-0869 Bruce Snively Collection, 1979-1999, undated, 1.41 l.f.
The Bruce Snively Collection consists of twelve programs, three flyers, one postcard, and one promotional photograph. Four programs, postcard, and photograph feature Elvis Costello and the Attractions and are dated 1979 to 1983. The flyers are for the Marquee Club in London and are dated 1979. In addition the collection contains programs for the Beach Boys, Paul McCartney, Bruce Spingsteen and the E Street Band, and Wings, dated from 1975 to 1999 . The collection provides insight into the promotion of bands, especially on tour, in the 1970s and 1980s.. The collection is arranged by format and then alphabetically by artist.

ARC-0870 Greg Kot Papers, 1966-2013, undated, 39.82 l.f. 
The Greg Kot Papers span the years 1966 to 2013, with the bulk of the collection dating from 1988 to 2005. The collection consists of Kot’s research files on artists and music-related topics. Materials in the collection include clippings and copies of articles, press releases, publicity photographs, slides, interviews, and research notes used by Kot in his work as a music critic for the Chicago Tribune and contributor to national publications, Entertainment Weekly, Vibe, and Rolling Stone. The files represent over 2,000 artists from a wide range of popular music genres and topical files, such as music aid benefits, the Chicago music scene, music genres, record labels, and MTV. The collection provides insight into late twentieth and early twenty-first century music journalism.

ARC-0872 Collection on Nick De Caro, 1926-2016, undated, 2.18 l.f.
The Collection on Nick DeCaro spans the years 1926-2016 and includes undated materials. The collection documents DeCaro's evolution as a composer and arranger through handwritten arrangements and lyrics, sheet music, and biographical and discographical information documenting DeCaro's long career. The scores, musical sketches, lead sheets, and instrumental arrangements relate to DeCaro's work with Yasuko Agawa, Tori Amos, Paul Anka, Shirley Bassey, Glenn Frey, Gordon Lightfoot, Dolly Parton, Barbra Streisand, and Livingston Taylor, among others. Also included in the collection are award certificates, report cards, musical sketches, photographs, and ear training and theory books from DeCaro's childhood and musical training. Many of the materials in the collection also relate to Frank and Denise DeCaro and Tommy LiPuma. There are descriptive notes throughout the collection, provided by Denise DeCaro. 

ARC-0873 Ileen and Tom Gallagher Grand Ole Opry Poster, 1953, 2.5 l.f.
The collection consists of one Grand Ole Opry poster dated January 1, 1953. The reproduction poster features Hank Williams, Patsy Cline, Johnny Horton, Marty Robbins, Loretta Lynn, and Hank Thompson.

ARC-0876 Rob Cohn Collection of Jerry Garcia and Neil Young Photographs, 1991-1995, 1.34 l.f.
The collection consists of two 16 by 20-inch color photographs of Jerry Garcia of the Grateful Dead by photographer Rob Cohn. "Bird Song" features Garcia playing the guitar at the microphone and is dated June 30, 1995. "Forever Young" features Jerry Garcia and Neil Young and is dated November 3, 1991. The photographs are limited edition prints signed by the photographer.

ARC-0877 Tom Moffatt Photograph of Eddie Cochran and Frankie Lymon, 1958, 2.5 l.f.
The Tom Moffatt Photograph of Eddie Cochran and Frankie Lymon consists of one enlarged black-and-white photograph, dated February 23, 1958. The photograph was taken at the Reverend Hiro Higuchi's church in Pearl City, Oahu, Hawaii prior to a performance at the Conroy Bowl at Schofield Barracks in Oahu. The photograph includes Jerry Capheart (manager of Eddie Cochran), Cochran, Rev. Hiro Higuchi, Frankie Lymon, Tom Moffatt (Hawaiian DJ), and Maxwell T. Cohen (Lymon's attorney).

ARC-0878 Maria Pia Shuman Photographs of Mort Shuman, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Maria Pia Shuman Photographs contains two Mort Shuman photographs and a song book.

ARC-0879 Dr. Barry Scurran Collection on Maundy Quintet, 1965-1988, 0.92 l.f.
The Dr. Barry Scurran Collection on the Maundy Quintet is dated 1965 and 1988 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of three black-and-white photographs, a business card, a small promotional poster, clippings, and a WUWU radio playlist. The collection provides insight into the early careers of members of the Eagles.

ARC-0881 Ruth Simonis Concert Program and Newspaper Clipping Collection, 1979-1981, 1.34 l.f.
The Ruth Simonis Concert Program Collection consists of four souvenir programs from 1979-1980 tours by Queen, John Denver, the Doobie Brothers, and Bruce Springsteen, and three newspaper clippings from the Cleveland Plain Dealer from 1980 and 1981 about Bruce Springsteen. Two of the Plain Dealer clippings are concert reviews written by Jane Scott. The two concert reviews provide an overview of the environment and experience at Bruce Springsteen concerts in Northeast Ohio.

ARC-0882 Brenda Siegelman Collection, 1984-2005, undated, 1.55 l.f. 
The Brenda Siegelman Collection includes set lists, contracts, riders, handbills, posters, itineraries, invitations, manuscripts, correspondence, advertisements and promotional materials, drawings, venue layouts, lighting diagrams, printed emails, passes, schedules, and hotel rooming information. Many of the materials provide a window into behind-the-scenes aspects of concert production and touring life. Artists represented include the Clash, Feelies, R.E.M., Henry Rollins, and the Replacements, to name a few. The folder of Joe Strummer materials includes an advertisement, photocopies of set lists and a handwritten manuscript, as well as an original hand-drawn map of Central and South America. The folder of Live 8 materials includes a copy of the official concert pass and a fake pass, show rundowns, dressing room layouts, and a copy of a hospitality email. Of particular note are the multiple revised rundowns demonstrate the planning process for a major, internationally televised concert event.

ARC-0883 Andrew Lamchick Photographs of Frank Zappa, 1981, 0.92 l.f.
The Andrew Lamchick Photographs of Frank Zappa are dated 1981 and are taken in Providence, Rhode Island by Andrew Lamchick. The collection contains six negatives, three colored prints, and one CD-R that contains duplicates of the prints. The collection provides insight into Frank Zappa’s performances in 1981.

ARC-0884 Dave Swanson Collection of Flyers, 1986, 1220 MB
The Dave Swanson Collection of Flyers consists of 13 digital images of concert flyers for Cleveland and national bands at local Cleveland venues, such as the Phantasy Nite Club. Bands featured include Death of Samantha, Mazzy Star, New Salem Witch Hunters, and the Rainy Day Saints. The collection sheds light on the Cleveland punk and rock music scene, particularly in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

ARC-0885 Cindy Barber Collection on Beachland Ballroom and Tavern, 1999-2018, 366.03 GB, 4.0 l.f
The Cindy Barber Collection on Beachland Ballroom and Tavern spans the dates 1999-2018 with undated materials and contains four posters and digitized artist files, concert flyers, and setlists generated and collected by the Beachland Ballroom and Tavern, a live music venue located in Cleveland, Ohio. Artist files make up the bulk of the collection and include artist contracts, stage layouts, promotional materials, and correspondence primarily between artist management and the Beachland Ballroom staff. Concert flyers document musical acts both national and native to Northeast Ohio. The collection details entertainment business transactions from the perspective of both artist and venue management, as well as providing insight into the diverse music scene in Northeast Ohio with concert ephemera relating to rock, blues, jazz, funk, soul, R&B, and afro-centric musical groups.

ARC-0886 Ronald Suchiu Print Collection, undated, 4.0 l.f.
The Ronald Suchiu Print Collection consists of four undated artist rendering prints of Garth Hudson, Sting, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and the Blues Brothers.

ARC-0887 William Morris Agency Files, 1965-1979, 4.07 l.f.
The William Morris Agency Files document various aspects of the music industry between the years 1965 and 1979. Three documents related to David Geffen offer some insight into Geffen's early career transition from the agency's mail room to working as an agent. A majority of the files detail Bruce Springsteen's first four years with the agency, and provides information about concerts and tours that they booked for him. Other documents of note include a 1970 contract signed by Duane Allman for a show at Tulane University, and three issues of the William Morris Agency, Inc. Bulletin from 1972.

ARC-0888 Bruce Ellis Photograph of Scoundrels of York, 1967, 0.07 l.f.
This collection consists of a single black and white promotional photograph of the band, Scoundrels of York. The photograph was taken at the Scene Lounge in Cleveland, Ohio, circa 1967. The photo provides an example of the fashion and appearance of local rock bands and venues in Northeast Ohio in the late 1960s.

ARC-0889 Gary Hyman Collection of Live Concert Recordings, 1996-2004, 6 l.f.
The Gary Hyman Collection of Live Concert Recordings contains audiocassettes, DATs and compact discs containing recordings from the Tweeter Center/ Xfinity Center in Mansfield, MA from 1996-2004. Featured artists include Aerosmith, Alice Cooper, Allman Brothers Band, Jeff Beck, Black Sabbath, Bon Jovi, Jackson Browne, Chicago, Eric Clapton, Joe Cocker, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Crosby Stills & Nash, the Cure, Dave Matthews Band, Deep Purple, Depeche Mode, Dr. John, Bob Dylan, Emerson Lake & Palmer, Melissa Etheridge, Fleetwood Mac, Peter Gabriel, Grateful Dead, Green Day, Buddy Guy, Iron Maiden, J. Geils Band, Journey, B.B. King, Kiss, Lynyrd Skynyrd, John Mellencamp, Steve Miller, Moody Blues, Parliament, Pearl Jam, Tom Petty, Robert Plant, Pretenders, R.E.M., Rage Against the Machine, Bonnie Raitt, Santana, Paul Simon, Steely Dan, Rod Stewart, Sting, James Taylor, Tina Turner, Van Halen, the Who, Hank Williams Jr., Brian Wilson, Yes, and Neil Young, among others.

ARC-0890 Peter LaRose Collection, 1966-1969, 1.34 l.f.
The Peter LaRose Collection contains materials from 1966 to 1969 and includes undated materials. The collection consists of a concert handbill for the Byrds; a Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and Joni Mitchell concert program; and a Buffalo Springfield Stampede album slick. The collection provides insight into promotional graphic design from the late 1960s.

ARC-0891 Don and Judy Kramer Collection on Al Green, 1975-1991, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Don and Judy Kramer Collection on Al Green consists of souvenir concert programs, photographs, and record flats related to the career of Al Green from approximately 1975 through 1991. The concert programs can be split into two types: small, monochrome programs from individual performances, and larger, full-color souvenir programs that were sold either as part of a larger tour or at individual shows. The smaller programs primarily come from concerts in the Cleveland area, including the Front Row Theatre in Highland Heights, and Musicarnival in Warrensville Heights. One of the programs does not provide any information on the performance date or venue but lists the full setlist and all involved personnel. The larger souvenir programs include an official program from a performance in London in 1984 and programs from tours in 1975 and 1976. Much of the written material is similar or identical between the two tour programs, but the photographs and information about current and upcoming albums are different. The 1976 program also contains information on Green’s backup singers, musicians, and administrative staff from Green Enterprises in Memphis, Tennessee. One of the two color promotional photographs of Al Green is undated and depicts him wearing a suit and sitting in a chair, with a glass of wine on a nearby table; the other photo dates to circa 1979 and is inscribed and autographed in blue pen. The record flats are two identical copies of an advertisement for Green’s 1991 album, “One In A Million”, and reproduce the album’s cover artwork and list featured songs. The collection demonstrates how Al Green was advertised and promoted throughout this phase of his career, and provides additional contextual information about everything from Green’s touring ensemble to local businesses in the Cleveland area in the 1970s.

ARC-0892 Barry Robinson Clippings and Radio and Record Shop Surveys, 1966-1980, 0.07 l.f.
The Barry Robinson Clippings and Radio and Record Shop Surveys is dated 1966 to 1980.The collection consists of 73 hit music surveys from radio stations and record shops and includes two clippings of hit charts. The collection provides insight into the popularity of music in specific markets as well as documents the history of radio.

ARC-0895 Marie Vivolo Flyer Collection, 1979, 0.07 l.f.
The Marie Vivolo Flyer Collection consists of 16 digital images of scanned concert flyers, radio program guides, photographs, and one original concert flyer from national and local bands at Cleveland area venues, such as the Agora Theatre and Ballroom. Featured artists include John Cale, Devo, Pere Ubu, and Iggy Pop, among others. The materials were created circa 1970s and 1980s, and shed light on the history and promotion of the music scene in Cleveland, Ohio, with regard to rock, punk rock, and new wave bands.

ARC-0896 John Bean Collection of Flyers, Handbills and Zines, 1994-1996,undated,  0.07 l.f.
The John Bean Flyers, Handbills, and Zines spans 1994-1996 with undated materials. The collection includes promotional materials for concerts at Cleveland area venues, program guides for Cleveland area college radio stations, and 2 fanzines. Artists in this collection include Laurie Anderson and Bob Mould, and the venues included are the Phantasy Nightclub, Odeon, Grog Shop, and Euclid Tavern. The collection will be of use to researchers studying the history and promotion of rock and punk bands, music venues, and radio stations in Cleveland, Ohio.

ARC-0897 Melissa Etheridge "Refugee" Video Storyboard, 2005, 0.07 l.f.
The Melissa Etheridge "Refugee" Video Storyboard is a 16-page, letter-size, black-and-white music video storyboard for the song "Refugee", which was a newly recorded tune despite being featured on her 2005 album, Greatest Hits: The Road Less Traveled. The material provides a glimpse into music video direction and production, as well as insight into behind-the-scenes activities. Digital copies of the material are also available.

ARC-0898 Shawn Mishak Collection of Handbills and Flyers, 2004-2010, 10.59 GB
The Shawn Mishak Collection of Handbills and Flyers spans the dates 2004 to 2010 and contains undated material. The majority of the collection consists of digital images of 105 promotional flyers, handbills, and printed ephemera for national and Cleveland area bands, concerts, and other events at venues in Cleveland and Northeast Ohio. Artists represented in the materials include 9 Volt Haunted House, Blonde Redhead, Bryon Miller, Carlsonics, Charles Hill Jr., Coffinberry, Corissa Bragg, Daniel Johnston, Davila 666, Founding Fathers, Gandhi SS, Kid Tested, Grievants, Heartless Bastards, Heroine Sheiks, Jake Kelly, Land of Buried Treasure, Lives of the Saints, Long Way To Oblivion, Machine Go Boom, Meat Puppets, Melt Banana, Melvins, Modest Mouse, Mudhoney, Neil Blender, Neo Nothing, Pink Eye, Plastic Crime Wave, Radio Birdman, Self Destruct Button, Shawn Flowers, Sofa King, Stinking Lizaveta, Sunburned Hand of Man, Tara Jane O'Neil, Broken Letters, Franchise, Green Room, Hot Rails, Joggers, Posi Burnouts, Thermals, Washout Corps, Thursday Club, Tinko, USA is a Monster, Very Knees, Yukon, and many more. Prominent venues represented in the collection include Beachland Ballroom, Pat's in the Flats, Now That's Class, and Grog Shop. Additional materials include an event program for Studio-A-Rama, an annual event held by local radio station WRUW FM 91. (a non-commercial educational college/variety radio station licensed to Cleveland, Ohio), and "Don't Blame Cleveland" zine. The collection provides insight into the promotion and history of bands, events, and music venues in Cleveland and Northeast Ohio.

ARC-0899 Jeff Jankovic Flyers on Crime, 1977, 616 MB
The Jeff Jankovic Flyers on Crime consist of 6 scanned images of concert flyers and one ticket for San Francisco punk band Crime. The collection sheds light on one of the first punk bands to emerge from the west coast in the late 1970s, whose music and promotional artwork earned as many enemies as fans. Several items are inscribed by bassist, Ron "The Ripper" Greco.

ARC-0900 Tom Constanten Collection of Scores, 1980-1983, 0.92 l.f.
The Tom Constanten Collection of Scores is dated 1980 to 1983. The collection consists of five scores written by Tom Constanten: "Alaric's Premonition," "Dejavalse," "Fandango Maltallado," "The Heretic Strut," and "Kentucky Chaconne."