Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections: ARC-0401 to ARC-0450

Archival Collections, ARC-0400 through ARC-0450

ARC-0401 Invitation to Janis Joplin's Wake, 1970 October 26, 0.07 l.f.
The Invitation to Janis Joplin's Wake was sent to donor Charles Pattie, who attended the event on October 26, 1970 at the Lion's Share, 60 Red Hill Road, San Anselmo, California. Pattie was a friend of Joplin and manager of the Haight Ashbury Free Medical Clinic in San Francisco, of which Joplin was a supporter. He remembers the wake as invitation-only and that the bulk of the attendees were Hell's Angels, Haight Clinic staff, and band members from the Grateful Dead, Big Brother and the Holding Company, and Quicksilver, among others.

ARC-0403 Poster of Richie Havens, 1973 May 11, 1.5 l.f.
The Poster of Richie Havens is for a show on May 11, 1973 with Bruce Springsteen at the Veteran's Memorial Auditorium at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio. It was a Red Road Production.

ARC-0404 Collection on Bill Monroe, 1967, 1982, 4.07 l.f.
The Collection on Bill Monroe includes two contracts and a reproduction poster dating from 1967 and 1982 respectively. The American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada contracts are from the Acuff-Rose Artists Corporation on behalf of Bill Monroe and The Blue Grass Boys. The first contract is dated September 18, 1967 and is between Acuff-Rose and the Big Brothers of Charlottesville-Albemarle, Inc. for a performance on November 25, 1967 at University Hall, Emmett Street, Charlottesville, Virginia for $750. The other contract is dated November 9, 1967 and is between Acuff-Rose and Ray Adkins for two shows on November 24, 1967 at the National Guard Armory, Elkins, West Virginia for $600. The reproduction poster is copyrighted 1982 by Hatch Show Print, Nashville, Tennessee. It is for a WSM radio broadcast of the Grand Ole Opry with Bill Monroe and His Blue Grass Boys. The collection materials are stored separately due to size.

ARC-0405 Shawn Hurley Collection, 1985-1986, 1988, 1994, 4.07 l.f.
The Shawn Hurley Collection spans the years 1985-1986, 1988, and 1994. The collection contains rock ephemera from Germany in German and English. Included in the collection is a handbill for Bruce Springsteen and the E-Street Band performing at Olympic Stadium in Munich, Germany; and three posters: the first, of the two-day Rock in Tiem festival in Munich, Germany, with Simple Minds, James Taylor, Talk Talk, The Cure, Marillion, Cock Robin, Simply Red, Chris Rea, Fine Young Cannibals, Feargal Sharkey, Waterboys, Mitteregger, the Alarm, Fritz Brause, the Damned, Ten Ten, Munich, and Cacuman, with special guests the Bangles and INXS; the second, for the Monsters of Rock trou in Schweinfurt, Germany at the Mainwiesen Gelände, featuring Iron Maiden with special guests David Lee Roth, Kiss, Megadeth, Anthrax, Great White, and Treat; and the third, for the Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds album Let Love In. The bulk of the collection provides examples of an interesting cross-section of rock and pop music concerts and how they were promoted in Europe, primarily during the 1980s.

ARC-0406 Photograph of Leonard Cohen, 2007 July 8, 0.07 l.f.
The Photograph of Leonard Cohen is a digital image on CD-R of Cohen that was taken by Dave Owen on July 8, 2007. The occasion was the opening of Cohen's art exhibit, "A Private Gaze," at the Richard Goodell Gallery in Manchester, England. This was the first public showing of Cohen's drawings.

ARC-0407 Song Lyrics for "Home," 2012, 0.07 l.f.
The Song Lyrics for "Home" are a typed page, written by Justin Gorski in 2012.

ARC-0409 Rock 'n' Roll High School Poster, circa 1979, 3.0 l.f.
The Rock 'n' Roll High School Poster is circa 1979, documenting the film and its associated advertising. The film is about a group of rock-music-loving students, who, with the help of the punk group the Ramones, take over their school to combat its oppressive administration. The poster is autographed by all four Ramones.

ARC-0410 Joel Peresman Collection, 1969, 2002-2003, 4.07 l.f.
The Madison Square Garden Dressing Room Signs consist of five laminated signs that were hung on the dressing room doors at Madison Square Garden during the years 2002-2003. Artists featured include Bob Dylan, Peter Gabriel, Madonna, Paul McCartney, and the Rolling Stones.

ARC-0411 Dusty Street Collection, 1971-2003, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Dusty Street Collection includes 15 handwritten and typed playlists from Street's work as a DJ at the following radio stations: KTIM (San Francisco, California), KROQ (Pasadena, California), and STAR 102.7. Three playlists are unidentified. Also included in the collection is a KMPX (San Francisco, California) staff photograph by Baron Wolman, inscribed to Street from Wolman. Seen as a whole, the collection provides data regarding popular music trends during the 1970s and 1980s, specifically in the San Francisco Bay Area.

ARC-0412 Ton-E Watson Photographs, 1994-1997, 1.55 l.f.
The Ton-E Watson Photographs span the years 1994-1997 and consist of 61 images of black artists performing in the Cleveland, Ohio, area. Artists featured include Arrested Development, Bone Thugs-n-Harmony, Chuck D (Public Enemy), George Clinton and Parliament-Funkadelic, De La Soul, Eazy-E (N.W.A.), Lenny Kravitz, Men at Large, Me'Shell NdegéOcello, Rahsaan Patterson, and Redman. Bone Thugs-n-Harmony and Men at Large are both originally from Cleveland, Ohio. Venues featured in the photographs include the Agora, Odeon, and Peabody's Down Under. The images of Chuck D and Men at Large were taken at an unidentified charity event in East Cleveland; while the images of Bone Thugs-n-Harmony and Eazy-E were taken while shooting the video for the song, "Thuggish Ruggish Bone." The collection highlights performances by black artists from various genres (funk, hip hop, rhythm and blues, and soul) who were influential on the music scene during the mid-1990s.

ARC-0413 Louis Jordan Collection, 1937-1992, undated, 1.33 l.f.
The Louis Jordan Collection spans the years 1937 to 1992, including some undated materials, with the bulk of the collection dating from 1965 to 1974. The collection includes biographical information on Jordan, clippings on his career, annotated lyrics and orchestral parts, photographs, programs, set lists, sheet music, slides, and song lists, as well as a few individual personal items. The collection provides insight into Jordan's personal life as well as his career, with a number of materials related to the 1974 musical revue "New Orleans and All That Jazz," produced by Tommy Walker and featuring Jordan and Didi Wilson at the River Queen Lounge, Marriot Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana.

ARC-0414 Beverly Ross Collection, 1954-1970, 0.21 l.f.
The Beverly Ross Collection documents Ross' work as a Brill Building songwriter in the 1950s, and in the late 1960s as a staff writer for Kama Sutra Records. The paper materials include her contract with Kama Rippa Music, Inc., copyright registration forms, lead sheets (some annotated), and sheet music. These items are arranged alphabetically by format and title. A copy of her detailed inventory is available upon request. Ross' collection provides insight to the work of popular music composers during the 1950s and 1960s.

ARC-0415 Eddie Cochran Papers, 1952-1994, undated, 3.5 l.f.
The Eddie Cochran Papers span the years 1952 to 1994 and include some undated materials. The bulk of the papers consist of fan mail and business records, but the collection also contains lyrics, music manuscripts, a set list, publications, and personal materials related to Cochran's childhood, schooling, church affiliation, and family. The key portion of the collection is the business records, which include contracts, correspondence, invoices and receipts, itineraries and schedules (including those for the 1957 Biggest Show of Stars and the film Untamed Youth), press releases, record distributor lists, rental and purchase agreements, and royalty and tax withholding statements related to Cochran's career and the American Federation of Musicians, the American Foundation of Television and Radio Artists, Bell Gardens Music Center, BMI, Gold Star Studios, Liberty Records, and the Screen Actors Guild. Highlights of the collection include correspondence between Cochran and Dick Clark, Freeman Hoover (disc jockey and longtime family friend), Georgia Winters of 16 magazine, Johnnie Rowe, and Cochran's fiancé Sharon Sheeley, as well as telegrams related to Cochran's death, handwritten directions to a party held by Connie Francis, handwritten and typewritten lyrics to songs including “Nervous Breakdown” and “C’mon Everybody,” handwritten musical arrangements, catalogs and price lists from Gibson and Gretsch, and several photographs, including promotional and middle school age photos of Cochran, Billy Fury, Charlie Grace (inscribed to Cochran), and a rare photo of Buddy Holly with Freeman Hoover and J.I. Allison. The Eddie Cochran Papers provide rich documentation of Cochran’s career and his impact on early rock and rockabilly music, as well as his impact on the public and his fan base. The collection also provides insight into the minutia of artist life during the 1950s: how and where equipment was rented and/or purchased, contract negotiation, tour and film schedules, and union membership.

ARC-0416 Photograph of Jann Wenner, 1978, 4.0 l.f.
The Photograph of Jann Wenner was taken in New York by Lynn Goldsmith in 1978. It is a black-and-white, matted print, approximately 26" x 28", that shows Wenner playing guitar.

ARC-0417 Collection on Joan Jett, 1982-2001, undated, 4.21 l.f.
The Collection on Joan Jett documents Jett's career from a fan perspective. This collection was compiled by Michelle Campana, publisher of the Joan Jett fanzine GROAMY (named after the album, Glorious Results of a Mispent Youth). The collection includes six issues of the publication and is arranged alphabetically by file title.

ARC-0418 Austin City Limits/KLRU Collection, 1974-2013, undated, 142.08 l.f.
The Austin City Limits / KLRU Collection spans the years 1974 to 2013, including undated materials, and consists of the records created during the process of planning, budgeting, contracting, producing, editing, distributing, and marketing the Austin City Limits television show. The majority of the collection documents the work of the show's executive and associate producers, including Bill Arhos, Dick Peterson, Lickona Watson and Casey Productions, and LickonaVision, as well as that of their teams, the associate producer/archivist, and photographer, as well as the Community Engagement Department for KLRU. The collection is organized into three series based on format: documents, photographs, and publications.

ARC-0419 Freda Kelly Collection, 1963-1968, 0.07 l.f.
The Freda Kelly Collection contains photographic reproductions of seven black-and-white photographs of the Beatles from the 1960s. A number of the images are of Paul McCartney alone. The collection also contains a photocopied letter, dated January 30, 1963, from Brian Epstein to Dave Moores regarding a Beatles appearance in Stowe, as well as 14 photocopies of telegrams sent to Kelly and Brian Norris upon their nuptials in April 1968.

ARC-0421 Collection on the Woodstock and Mountaindale Festivals, 1969-1970, 0.14 l.f.
The Collection on the Woodstock and Mountaindale Festivals documents two music festivals that did not go as planned. The collection consists of three items: a brochure for Woodstock at its original location of Wallkill, NY; an issue of the Times Herald Record from August 16, 1969; and a program for the Mountaindale Festival, which was scheduled for July 11, 1970. The collection is arranged chronologically.

ARC-0422 Bob Moody Collection, 1965-1976, 0.07 l.f.
The Robert A. Moody Collection spans the years 1965 to 1976 and contains radio-related materials collected by Moody, who served as a music director and on-air radio personality for several of the stations featured in the collection. The bulk of the collection contains original radio station playlists from KOTN-AM in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, KAAY-AM, KALO-AM, and KARK-FM, out of Little Rock, Arkansas, KTLK-AM in Dever, Colorado, and CKLW-AM. In addition to the playlists, there is a Stax Records newsletter from 1968, honoring Bill Gavin, and a KOTN-AM program log draft from April 15, 1969. The collection provides insight to Top 40 music of the mid to late-1960s and early-1970s.

ARC-0423 Philadelphia Inquirer Photographs, 1975-2003, undated, 37.5 l.f.
The Philadelphia Inquirer Photographs contains photographic publicity material of musicians, spanning the 1970s to 2000s. The collection was originally a part of the newspaper's photograph archives. The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by artist name, but is missing the majority of files for A and all of N and O. This collection will be of interest to researchers who are looking for images of musicians from almost any genre.

ARC-0424 Collection on Madonna (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1979-1981, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Madonna (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection) spans the years 1979 to 1981 and focuses on the beginnings of the singer's career. The collection includes a demo tape, circa 1979, that was sent to bars and clubs in the New York City area before Madonna was signed to a record label. The demo includes four songs: "I Want You," "Get Up," "Love on the Run," and "High Society." Also included in the collection is a head shot that includes biographical information on the back, and two copies of a letter from Don DeVito, then vice president of talent acquisitions at CBS Records, dated November 10, 1981, in which he passes on signing Madonna.

ARC-0425 The Who Poster, 1966 December 30, 4.0 l.f.
The Who Poster is from a concert at Cheam Baths in Surrey on December 30, 1966.

ARC-0426 Abbie Kearse Papers, 1989-1998, undated, 2.08 l.f.
The Abbie Kearse Papers span the years 1989 to 1998 and consist of artist files, personal files, and research files relating to rap, MTV, and hip hop artists, including Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, and Dr. Dre.

ARC-0428 Frederick S. Boros Audio Recordings, 1962-2012, undated, 25 l.f.
The Frederick S. Boros Audio Recordings span the years 1962 to 2012 and contain some undated materials. The collection contains 1,607 bootleg concert recordings on compact disc; many of the recordings consist of multiple discs. The discs are arranged alphabetically by artist, and then chronologically by date of concert. There are an additional 437 digital recordings not on compact disc that are not listed in this finding aid. The digital files are in FLAC format. A copy of the inventory of FLAC files is available upon request. Artists featured prominently in the collection include Bob Dylan, the Grateful Dead, Bruce Springsteen, U2, and Tom Waits. Many of the recordings were made at venues throughout the Northeast Ohio area.

ARC-0430 Joel Makower Woodstock Interviews Collection, 1988-1898, 1.5 l.f.
The Joel Makower Woodstock Interviews Collection is comprised of 55 individual audiocassette tapes. The tapes are recordings of interviews between the donor and people who participated in the original Woodstock music festival in 1969 in either an organizational or performative capacity. The interviews are also the subject of Woodstock: The Oral History written by Makower. The audiocassettes are stored in their original order as received.

ARC-0431 Radio Airchecks, 1962-2001, undated, 97 items
The Radio Airchecks span the years 1962 to 2001, with some undated materials and the bulk of the collection falling between 1962 and 1977. The collection consists of 97 airchecks in the form of digital wave and MP3 files. The files are arranged here alphabetically by radio station and then by disc jockey. The radio stations included in the collection are, for the most part, Los Angeles-based, but there are other stations from California (Berkeley, Glendale, San Francisco) and Michigan (Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, Jackson), as well as Tucson, Arizona; Tampa Bay, Florida; Boston, Massachusetts; Roswell, New Mexico; New York, New York; Fargo, North Dakota; Portland, Oregon; Tyler, Texas; and Seattle, Washington. Disc jockeys featured include Dick Biondi, Tom and Raechel Donahue, Bob Eubanks, Flo & Eddie, Humble Harve, Casey Kasem, Art Laboe, Wink Martindale, Robert W. Morgan, Murray the K, Gary Owens, John Peel, Jimmy Rabbitt, B. Mitchell Reed, Dusty Rhodes, Brother John Rydgren, Lee Baby Simms, China Smith, Don Steele, Shadoe Stevens, Sly Stone, Charlie Tuna, and Wolfman Jack. Radio airchecks serve as audio snapshots, illustrating the evolution of a disc jockey or particular radio station over time. Additionally, airchecks can act as audio time capsules--reflecting the sounds and culture of specific time periods through the patter, newsbreaks, music, and commercials.

ARC-0432 William Scheele Photographs and Exhibition Poster, 1973-1975, 2009, 2.68 l.f.
The William Scheele Photographs and Exhibition Poster collection contains 32 color and black-and-white photographs of or relating to The Band and Bob Dylan, and one exhibition poster. The photographs document the collaborative work of Dylan and The Band from 1973 to 1975. 1973 was an important year for both, as they left Woodstock and the management of Albert Grossman to start anew in Southern California. On July 28, 1973, The Band played the world's largest outdoor concert at the Watkins Glen Festival, along with the Allman Brothers and the Grateful Dead. This was followed by a concert on August 1, 1973, with the Grateful Dead, at Roosevelt Stadium in New Jersey. The 1974 tour of Dylan and The Band began in Chicago on January 3 and ended at the L.A. Forum on February 14. The tour was arranged with the assistance of Bill Graham Productions and David Geffen, at whose birthday party that year The Band and Dylan performed along with Cher. In March 1975, Dylan and The Band, as well as Neil Young, Tim Drummond, and Ben Keith performed at Bill Graham’s Students Need Athletics, Culture, And Kicks (SNACK) Benefit Concert, held at Kezar Stadium in San Francisco, California. The poster documents photographer William Scheele’s exhibition of these images, Look Out Cleveland: Bob Dylan and The Band, 1969-1976, Memorabilia and Photos, that was held at the Kokoon Arts Gallery, 78th Street Studios, in Cleveland, Ohio. The images are arranged in the numerical order provided by Scheele, except where the size of the image prohibited this. The dimensions given in the finding aid do not include the mounting board.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0433 George Shuba Photographs (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Collection), 1964-1970, 1.34 l.f. 
The collection contains 48 silver gelatin prints of musicians and bands performing in venues across Northeast Ohio. Prominent artists featured in the photographs are James Brown, the Beatles, Chubby Checker, Aretha Franklin, Dizzy Gillespie, Jimi Hendrix, B.B. King, Jim Morrison and John Densmore of the Doors, Smokey Robinson, Sly and the Family Stone, the Rolling Stones, David Ruffin of the Temptations, Taj Mahal, Joe Tex, Pete Townshend of the Who, Jackie Wilson, and Stevie Wonder. Venues include the Cleveland Arena, Public Auditorium, Music Hall, and the Convention Center. Of particular note are Shuba's photographs of Tom and Jerry’s first television appearance under their own names, Simon and Garfunkel, and Otis Redding’s final performance on December 9, 1967 before his untimely death the following day in a plane crash. Both appearances occurred on the nationally syndicated WEWS-TV show, Upbeat. The collection illustrates the connections of Cleveland and Northeast Ohio to the national rock music scene of the 1960s and early 1970s. It also provides insight into local media’s influence on that scene, as many of the performances photographed were produced by Cleveland radio and television stations.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0434 Record Art Collection of Album Cover Prints, 1991, 4.0 l.f. 
The Record Art Collection of Album Cover Prints consists of 18 limited edition prints of record album covers, printed in 1991. All of the prints, with the exception of Bob Dylan's Self Portrait, are hand-signed by the artists and numbered 46 of 200. Bob Dylan's Self Portrait is a plate signed edition with his signature printed. The prints are arranged in alphabetical order by musician or band and include album art from the Doors, Traffic, Stevie Wonder, Santana, Elvis Presley, Led Zeppelin, U2, and the Who among a number of other musicians.

ARC-0435 Buddy Holly High School Diploma and Gravesite Photograph, 1955, 1969, 0.92 l.f.
The Buddy Holly High School Diploma and Gravesite Photograph consists of one diploma issued to Holly on May 27, 1955. The photograph shows Holly's parents, along with George Collange, looking at Holly's gravesite in 1969.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0436 Temptations Collection, 1974, 1.34 l.f. 
The Temptations Collection is dated September 18, 1974 and contains undated items. The collection consists of three items: a tour itinerary, sound diagram and fan letter.

ARC-0438 Faith Whitehurst Collection on the Flamingos, 1958-2000, undated, 0.92 l.f.
The Faith Whitehurst Collection on the Flamingos spans the years 1958 to 2000 and includes concert programs, funeral service programs for second tenor Ezekial Carey and bass Jacob Carey, black-and-white photographs, clippings, business cards, a flyer, and a licensing agreement for "Without This Love."

ARC-0439 Rob Edelman Collection of Movie Stills, 1950-1997, 0.21 l.f.
The Rob Edelman Collection of Movie Stills consists of over 200 black-and-white 8" x 10" movie stills. Edelman, a film history lecturer and author based in Amsterdam, New York collected movie stills of various actors and actresses, including inductees Elvis Presley, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Michael Jackson, and Prince.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0440 Over the Rhine Collection, 1996-2001, 4.21 l.f. 
The Over the Rhine Collection spans 1996 to 2001 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of promotional photographs, promotional posters for tours and albums, and trading cards for Over the Rhine's Eve album.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0442 Brett Kaufman Photographs of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Grand Opening, 1995, 0.07 l.f. 
The collection consists of two 4x6 color photographs of the grand opening of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum.

ARC-0443 Cheese Borger Collection, 1962-1997, undated, 1.55 l.f.
The Cheese Borger Collection contains promotional materials from 1968 to 1997 on various rock artists, including photographs, press kits, and biographical information. Also included in the collection are top hits charts and lists from the 1960s and 1970s from Cleveland area radio stations.

ARC-0444 Eva M. Jones Audiocassettes, 1966-1978, 0.41 l.f.
The Eva Jones Audiocassettes consist of five bootleg recordings of concerts that occurred from 1966 to 1978. Performers include Bob Dylan, the Band, Bruce Springsteen, and Stephen Stills with Neil Young.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0445 Brian Methe Concert Posters, 2006-2012, 2.5 l.f. 
The Brian Methe Concert Posters collection is dated from 2006-2012. The collection consists of 25 hand-drawn and screen printed concert posters designed by Ohio artist Brian Methe (bMethe). Performers include Kings of Leon, Motion City Soundtrack, Panic! At the Disco, and the Killers. The collection provides a sampling of Brian Methe's artistic work. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into how mainstream and alternative rock bands and venues promoted their shows in the early 2000s and serves as a reference to artists that played during that era.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0446 Brian Methe Collection of Concert Posters, 1990-2012, 2.5 l.f. 
The Brian Methe Concert Poster Collection spans from 1990-2012 and includes 142 concert posters. The collection mainly focuses on bands and poster artists from the Pacific Northwest (with a concentration on Seattle, WA) from the 1990s. Bands represented include; The Melvins, Modest Mouse, Death Cab for Cutie, Daft Punk, Screaming Trees, Mudhoney, TAD, and 7 Year Bitch. Graphic artists and illustrators represented include; Jermaine Rogers, Jeff Kleinsmith, Jesse LeDoux, Shawn Wolfe, Justin Hampton, and Patent Pending. Festivals and events represented include; Breakfest, Capitol Hill Block Party, Flatstock, Wasted Festival, Van’s Warped Tour. The collection provides insight into how mainstream and alternative rock bands and venues promoted their shows in the 1990s and early 2000s and serves as a reference to artists that played during that era.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0447 Chris Allen Lyrics, 2006, 0.07 l.f. 
The Chris Allen lyrics consist of typed lyrics for “Odessa Not for Long” and are dated September 28, 2006.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0448 Jessica MacPhail Collection of Printed Materials on the Rolling Stones, 1962-2009, 8.9 l.f. 
The Jessica MacPhail Collection on the Rolling Stones is dated from 1962 to 2009. It contains magazines, newspaper clippings, journal articles, and fanzines on the Rolling Stones collected by Rolling Stones fan, Jessica MacPhail. Magazines collected include a number of teen, music, and entertainment titles, such as Tiger Beat, Keen Teen, Circus, Trouser Press, Creem, and People. The fanzines include "The Stones," "Beggars Banquet," and "It's Only Rock and Roll." The majority of the newspaper clippings are copies. The collection is arranged chronologically by the publication year, although the items within the years are not in any particular order. This fan created collection provides insight into the Rolling Stones throughout their career and their influence on rock and roll. It also highlights how a wide variety of publications reported on and documented the Rolling Stones.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0449 Mary Ruth Koogler Film and Digital Video, 1977-1978, undated, 0.42 l.f. 
The Mary Ruth Koogler Film and Video contains analog and digital footage of 7 Super8mm films that document primarily local rock concerts or related events from the late 1970s. Artists featured in the footage include Neil Diamond, Fleetwood Mac, Peter Frampton, Kenny Loggins, Sonny and Cher, and Wild Cherry. Some films document the Belkin family and Belkin Productions, a concert promotion company, behind the scenes of concerts. Footage of the 1977 World Series of Rock concert at the Cleveland Stadium includes footage of the Free Clinic of Cleveland. 

ARC-0450 James Shive Photographs, 1970s-1980s, 547 items
The James Shive Photographs span the decades of the 1970s and 1980s and include 547 digital, live concert photographs of a number of national and international acts during the early years of their careers. Most of the photographs depict shows played in the New York and New Jersey areas, specifically at Madison Square Garden, the Bottom Line, and Asbury Park, among other venues. Artists featured include .38 Special, Bryan Adams, Asia, Jeff Beck, Blondie, Blue Angel, Bon Jovi, Boston, David Bowie, Jackson Browne, Eric Clapton, Elvis Costello, Crosby Stills Nash and Young, Ronnie James Dio, Dire Straits, Bob Dylan, Eagles, Fleetwood Mac, Dan Fogelberg, Steve Forbert, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Peter Gabriel, Genesis, Andrew Gold, Grateful Dead, Hall and Oates, Heart, Hot Tuna, Billy Idol, Jefferson Starship, Garland Jeffreys, Billy Joel, Elton John, Rickie Lee Jones, Journey, Judas Priest, Huey Lewis and the News, Meat Loaf, Joni Mitchell, Pretenders, REO Speedwagon, Bonnie Raitt, Ramones, Rolling Stones, Linda Ronstadt, Scorpions, Brian Setzer, Carly Simon, Patti Smith, Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes, Talking Heads, James Taylor, George Thorogood, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Village People, Tom Waits, Who, Neil Young, and Warren Zevon. Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band are the most prominently featured artists in this collection.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org