Archival Collections: ARC-0451 to ARC-0500

ARC-0451 Flipside Collection, 1978, 2012, undated, 0.07 l.f
The Flip Side Collection consists of ephemera related to Los Angeles' Flip Side fanzine, including 20 stickers with seven different designs, business cards, a distribution letter and flyer, a Fanzine Nation letter, photocopy of an article by Jeff O'Neill in the Rio Hondo College publication El Paisano entitled "Punk Rock: The Sick Shall Inherit the Earth" from February 24, 1978, and the Summer 2012 issue (#45) of Colorado's Dagger fanzine that contains an interview with Flip Side staffers Patrick DiPuccio and Holly Hudson. Also included in the collection is a document created by donor DiPuccio describing the items in the collection at length. The Flip Side Collection provides a business context to the fanzine. Seen in a broader context, the collection highlights the do-it-yourself aesthetic of 1970s punk fanzines and illustrates their evolution into the new millenium.

ARC-0452 KQRS Collection, 1973-1976, 5.0 l.f.
The KQRS Collection contains audio reel-to-reel tapes of advertisements played on KQRS radio for upcoming concerts and album releases during disc jockey Shel Danielson's radio shows from 1973 to 1976; two CDs containing digital versions of the taped advertisements; and an early interview with Patti Smith, also on CD. Some of the advertisements have been produced twice for separate audiences: one audience being the more "mainstream" crowd; the second, the "alternative" crowd. The collection provides an example of targeted music marketing from the mid-1970s.

ARC-0453 Jay W. Ruby Rock 'n' Roll Conference Lecture, 1967, 0.07 l.f.
The Jay W. Ruby Rock 'n' Roll Conference Lecture comprises a single disc recording of "'You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here': The Social Implications of Rock 'n' Roll," a lecture given at the Rock 'n' Roll Conference at Mills College in Oakland, California, on March 18, 1967. Ruby's lecture is introduced by Dick Baker. Topics of discussion include musical communities of the era, particularly the rock and roll community's fascination with hallucinogenic drugs and religion. Also briefly discussed is the marketing methods of popular radio stations of the time.

ARC-0454 Music's Bottom Line Interviews, 1998-2003, 0.42 l.f.
The Music's Bottom Lines Interviews were recorded from 1998-2003 with various musical artists by Tom Swope for the monthly publication, Music's Bottom Line. The collection contains 21 compact discs with recorded interviews and the news publications in which each were featured. The files are arranged chronologically.

ARC-0455 Derek Redmond Home Movie on Woodstock, 1969, 0.78 l.f, 112.07 GB
The Derek Redmond Home Movie on Woodstock contains audiovisual materials related to the Woodstock Music Festival in 1969. The collection consists of a 1/4-inch reel-to-reel tape and 8mm film recorded and shot by donor Derek Redmond, as well as a DAT and digital video which are copies of the original materials.

ARC-0456 Collection on the Kinks, 1970-1997, undated, 1.48 l.f.
The Collection on the Kinks consists of a scrapbook of newspaper clippings and promotional items related to the Kinks. The materials date from 1970 through 1997, with the bulk of the clippings dating from 1970 to 1981. The contents of the scrapbook were removed for preservation purposes, but the original order of the materials was maintained--the exception being oversized items, which are stored separately. There are two non-Kinks items in this collection, a poster of the Rolling Stones, and an album flat for the Anthology of British Rock.

ARC-0457 Helen Hersh Collection, 1965-1974, 3.01 l.f.
The Helen Hersh Collection spans the years 1965 to 1974 and consists of 92 items relating to the artist’s output. The collection includes ads, flyers, handbills, letterhead, original art, posters, and sheet music created and designed by Hersh, as well as some materials that illustrate her artistic process: photographs that served as inspiration and layout material for newspaper advertisements. The collection also contains two copies of Space News (Volume 1: Issue 2) and seven issues of Rock Magazine, A Music Review (September-November 1969), for which Hersh was the art director. Hersh's work helped to promote a number of New York City music venues, including the Fillmore East and Village Theatre, as well as several rock performers, including Aretha Franklin, John Mayall, Moby Grape, the Moody Blues, Mylon, Savoy Brown, the Soul Survivors, and Ten Years After.

ARC-0458 Roy Orbison Interview, 1988 December, 0.5 l.f.
The collection consists of one VHS video tape containing Roy Orbison's final interview, recorded at the Front Row Theater in Highland Heights, Ohio, after Orbison's show there on December 4, 1988 (two days before Orbison died). The interview is conducted by Tony Weber for use on a public access television show that he created, which aired from 1987-1988. This is the original VHS tape on which the interview was recorded. Pirated versions of the footage have appeared on You Tube. There are two additional interviews on the tape with Alexander O'Neal and Information Society.

ARC-0459 Collection on Peter Laughner, 1970, 1976, undated, 2.57 l.f.
The Collection on Peter Laughner documents the work of Cleveland musician Peter Laughner. It includes a poster for Laughner's first band, a white blues group named Mr. Charlie. The collection is arranged alphabetically.

ARC-0460 Fugazi Video Recording, July 31, 1998, 0.79 l.f.
The Fugazi Video Recording consists of two Digital-S (D9) videocassettes of a live performance by the band Fugazi on July 31, 1998 at Calvery-Casa del Pueblo United Methodist Church in Washington, DC. The concert was sponsored by the non-profit activist group Positive Force D.C.

ARC-0461 Bob Dylan Tour Itinerary, 1978 March-April, 0.14 l.f.
The Bob Dylan Tour Itinerary documents Dylan's tour of New Zealand and Australia in March and April of 1978. The itinerary is 53 pages, and includes names of the band and tour personnel, as well as information on hotels, venues, restaurants, and health clubs in each city on the tour.

ARC-0462 Wes Hopkins Photograph, circa 1959, 0.07 l.f.
The Wes Hopkins Photograph consists of a promotional image of Hopkins, autographed on the reverse. The photograph was obtained by the donor on October 6, 1959, in Canton, Ohio, at a performance of The Dick Clark Caravan of Stars. Also advertised were Paul Anka, Lloyd Price, Annette Funicello, Duane Eddy, Jimmy Clanton, LaVern Baker, the Coasters, Drifters, Skyliners, Bobby Rydell, the Jordan Brothers, Phil Phillips, and Arnold Dover.

ARC-0463 Humes High School Yearbook (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1953, 0.21 l.f.
The Humes High School Yearbook documents the senior class of 1953 at this Memphis, Tennessee, high school, of which Elvis Presley was a member. The yearbook belonged to Patricia Ann Johnson, and features a note from Elvis to the donor, next to his picture.

ARC-0464 Paul Ingles Public Radio Specials, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Paul Ingles Public Radio Specials contain two programs created by Ingles: one on Bonnie Raitt; the other, the Rolling Stones. Both programs are two hours in length. The collection also includes a handbill for another series produced by Ingles called "Peace Talks Radio."

ARC-0465 Rudies Photograph, undated, 0.07 l.f.
This collection consists of one promotional photograph of the New York punk band the Rudies. Donated by Rudies' bass player and singer Mark Lamendola.

ARC-0466 Schaefer Music Festival Film, July 18, 1970, 0.6 l.f.
This reel of super 8mm film is of the Schaefer Music Festival in Central Park, New York. It includes performances by Little Richard and Wayne Cochran and the C.C. Riders, recorded on July 18, 1970. The film is silent and in color.

ARC-0467 Photographs of Jerry Lee Lewis, 2010 October
The Photographs of Jerry Lee Lewis consist of three black-and-white portraits of Lewis taken in October 2010. A fourth photograph is of a piano, presumably located in Lewis' home; and a fifth is a mock-up of the cover for the magazine Twisted South, with one of the portraits on the cover.

ARC-0469 Jason Burchaski Collection of Posters, 1996-2008, 2.5 l.f. 
The Jason Burchaski Collection of Posters is dated from 1996 to 2008, with some undated material. The collection contains eleven promotional posters from concerts by a variety of artists, primarily located in Texas and the West Coast. The printed posters feature artists like Ween, Stevie Wonder, the Cure.

ARC-0470 Richard S. Becker and Pamela Grillon Collection, 1952-1982, undated, 1.41 l.f.
The Richard S. Becker and Pamela Grillon Collection is dated 1952-1982 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of lead sheets, concert programs, a playbill, ticket, and sheet music related to Alex Bradford's musicals Your Arms Too Short to Box with God and Don't Cry Mary, as well as songs written by Bradford, including "He Never Sleeps (He's Busy Making Decisions for Me)," "Your Arms Too Short to Box with God," "God Is Good to Me," "Let Us Praise the Lord," and "What Did John Do?" The collection also includes copies of royalty statements for the Beatles song, "Anna (Go to Him)" and a 1961 Beatles program.

ARC-0471 Raquel Concepcion Collection, 1976-1981, undated, 0.42. l.f.
The Raquel Concepcion Collection spans the years 1976 to 1981 and includes some undated materials. The collection primarily consists of promotional materials related to Rundgren's career with the band Utopia, which in addition to Rundgren included Kasim Sultan, Roger Powell, and John Wilcox. Promotional materials include advertisements, press kits with biographies and photographs, and tour programs. The collection also includes clippings related to Utopia, a press kit for Rundgren's solo album Nearly Human, an LP record of an episode of Rock Around the World featuring Rundgren and Pablo Cruise from May 22-28, 1977, and two 1/4-inch reel-to-reel audiotape recordings of Rundgren and the band Renaissance on The King Biscuit Flower Hour from September 23, 1979. The recordings include Rundgren, the Todd Rundgren Band, Moogy Klingman, and the Hello People on "Real Man," "It Wouldn't Really Make Any Difference," "Love of the Common Man," "Can We Still Be Friends," "Love in Action," and "Hello It's Me;" as well as Renaissance (Annie Haslam, vocals; John Tout, keyboards; Terence Sullivan, drums/percussion; John Camp, bass; and Michael Dunbud, guitars) on "Can You Understand," "Vultures Fly High," "Jekyll and Hyde," "Flood at Lyons," and "Prologue." The collection will be of interest to those researching Rundgren, Pablo Cruise, or other members of Utopia, and those interested in live recordings of Rundgren and Renaissance.

ARC-0472 Wolfgang Posters, 1972, 1.35 l.f.
The Wolfgang Posters are from 1972 and include two posters: one promoting the band with Midnight Productions with photography by David Derus, and the other advertising a benefit concert for the Allen Theatre at 14th and Euclid in Cleveland, Ohio, which featured Wolfgang along with musical groups Damnation, Eli Radish, Dragonwych, Dave Bacha, Artmeus, and Sweetleaf, courtesy of the Cleveland Federation of Musicians. The Save the Allen benefit concert took place on Sunday, April 16, 1972 and, in addition to the bands, included a fashion show, hair trends, Chinese food, and art displays.

ARC-0473 Eddie Araya Hip-Hop Collection, 1995-2002, undated, 0.42 l.f.
The Eddie Araya Hip-Hop Collection spans the years 1995 to 2000 and includes some undated materials. The collection mostly consists of ephemera from the Washington, D.C. hip-hop scene, including zines, trading cards, stickers, publications, programs, posters, postcards, photographs, invitations/passes, handbills, flyers, clippings, CD inserts, and album flats. There are a few items documenting the Baltimore and College Park, Maryland scenes. All of the materials are promotional in nature. A few major hip-hop acts are featured in the materials: Afrika Bambaata, Busta Rhymes, De La Soul, Fugees, Ice T, KMD, Kut Master Kurt, Mos Def, Nas, Raekwon, the Roots, Rza, Tupac Shakur, and Tribe Called Quest. The collection specifically documents the D.C. hip-hop scene of the 1990s, but, viewed more broadly, also illustrates hip-hop culture of that time through the artwork and advertising techniques.

ARC-0474 Alison Munin Recordings of Elvis Costello, 1977-2003, undated, 6.0 l.f.
The Alison Munin Recordings of Elvis Costello span the years 1977 to 2003, with the bulk of the material dating between 1980 and 1998. The collection includes six linear feet of VHS and audiocassette materials related to Elvis Costello’s concert tours, television and radio interviews, live performances, and rehearsals. The collection contains performances of Elvis Costello with the Attractions, the Imposters, the Brodsky Quartet, Anne Sofie von Otter, and Burt Bacharach. Also included are interviews from well-known NPR and PBS programs such as Off the Record with Mary Turner. The collection will be valuable to researchers interested in performances by Costello that have not been commercially released, as well as interviews with Costello spanning more than 20 years of his career.

ARC-0475 Bill Lowery Music Publishing and Southern Tracks Records Collection, 1950-2013, undated, 6.21 l.f.
The Bill Lowery Music Publishing and Southern Tracks Records Collection spans the years 1950 to 2013 and contains artist files, song files, publications, and business records related to the publishing firm's early enterprises and affiliated artists, primarily from 1950 to 1994. The collection materials range from sheet music and court records to photographs, royalty statements, periodicals, and a Bill Lowery Tribute DVD. All are arranged alphabetically by file title. Also included are files regarding regional music events, focusing on the Atlanta, Georgia area where the publishing company was located.

ARC-0476 Eva Cassidy Live Recording, 1994, 2013, 0.07 l.f.
The Eva Cassidy Live Recording is a soundboard concert recording of Eva Cassidy at Fleetwood's, in Alexandria, Virginia, in 1994. The show features Mick Fleetwood, who owned the club, on drums. In addition to the recording, the file contains a track and credit listing, and short essay by the donor.

ARC-0477 Photograph of Keith Richards, undated, 1.34 l.f. 
The Photograph of Keith Richards consists of an undated, 16" x 20" black-and-white photograph of "Keith Richards in his kitchen," by Brian Ashley White.

ARC-0478 Collection on Little Willie John, 1953 December, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Little Willie John includes one 8" x 10" black-and-white photograph and three photocopies of photographs of Little Willie John. The photograph depicts John as he is departing by plane from Detroit to New York City in December 1953 to promote "Mommy, What Happened to Our Christmas Tree?" on the Prize label. John is accompanied by his manager Harry Balk and producer David Usher.

ARC-0480 Christian Ricci Collection, 1988-2009, undated, 4.07 l.f.
The Christian Ricci Collection spans the years 1988 to 2009. The majority of the collection consists of signed, limited edition concert posters for alternative rock bands, but there is also a promotional handbill, sticker, and two flyers. Musicians featured include 311, ...And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead, Bauhaus, the Bravery, Death Cab for Cutie, Decemberists, Dinosaur Jr., DKT/MC5, Jesus Lizard, Korn, Low, Melvins, Modest Mouse, Mogwai, Mudhoney, No Doubt, Panic at the Disco, Pere Ubu, Pixies, Iggy Pop, Reverend Horton Heat, Sebadoh, Shins, Snow Patrol, Social Distortion, and many more. Poster artists whose work is featured are Guy Burwell, Tad Carpenter, El Jefe Design, Emek, Johann A. Gomez, Gordon and Shirtsleeve, Justin Hampton, Derek Hess, Nels Jacobson (Jagmo), Rob Jones, Jeff Kleinsmith, Frank Kozik, Lindsey Kuhn, Jesse LeDoux, Dan MacAdam, Tara McPherson, Michael Michael Motorcycle, Jermaine Rogers, Denny Schmickle, Silent Giants, Todd Slater, Chuck Sperry, Dan Stiles, Andrew Vastagh, and Bob X. Seen as a whole, the collection provides insight into promotional materials for alternative bands during the 1990s and 2000s, as well as poster art of the time.

ARC-0481 Globus Design Associates Records, 1998, 2004-2010, 1.0 l.f.
The Globus Design Associates Records documents the design team's collaborative efforts to create and design the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's Library and Archives through documents and audiovisual materials. Documents include notes, quotes, blueprints, and minutes. Audiovisual materials contain a USB drive and audio cassettes that have recorded audio of conferences with staff members from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in 1998.

ARC-0482 Bloodshot Records Collection, 2001-2013, undated, 7.42 l.f.
The Bloodshot Records Collection dates from 2001-2013, including some undated materials. The photographs cover the various artists featured on the independent record label, Bloodshot Records. The posters promote Bloodshot's artists, as well as Bloodshot Records itself, its events, albums, and concerts. The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by the featured artist(s) or subject. Seen in a broad context, the Bloodshot Records Collection provides insight into the advertising and marketing strategies of independent record labels in the 2000s.

ARC-0483 Sugar Blue Photographs, undated, 7 items
The Sugar Blue Photographs include seven digital images of Sugar Blue with John Lee Hooker, Memphis Slim, Buddy Guy, Eric Clapton, Muddy Waters, Taj Mahal, B.B. King, Phil Collins, Mick Jagger, and Willie Dixon.

ARC-0484 Collection on Philip Lynott, 2005-2013, undated, 1.0 l.f.
The Collection on Philip Lynott documents efforts to preserve Lynott's memory after his death in 1986.

ARC-0485 Barry Tashian Collection on the Remains, 1964-2000, 0.07 l.f.
The Barry Tashian Collection on the Remains documents this group's role in support of the Beatles' 1966 U.S. tour. The collection contains a press kit with reproductions of clippings from the 1960s, and a promotional photograph of the Remains.

ARC-0486 Laurel Pipoly Mamich Collection on the Dave Clark Five, 1964-1967, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Laurel Pipoly Mamich Collection on the Dave Clark Five spans 1964 to 1967, including some undated materials, and mostly consists of fan club material for the group, including promotional photographs, snapshots, tour books, and newspaper and magazine clippings. Of particular note is a letter from the group to their fans announcing their disbanding. Also included is a personal account of a Chicago trip where the group performed on June 18, 1967.

ARC-0487 Morris Levy Interviews, 1996-1997, 1.04 l.f.
The Morris Levy Interviews include 15 audiocassette recordings from 1996 and 1997 of conversations between Levy and Nashville session musicians Joe Babcock (background vocals), Harold Bradley (electric guitar), Jerry Carrigan (drums), Ray Edenton (rhythm guitar), Buddy Harman (drums), Jerry Kennedy (electric guitar), Charlie McCoy (harmonica, bass), Weldon Myrick (steel guitar), Gordon Stoker (background vocals), Bobby Wood (piano), and Chip Young (rhythm guitar). Each recording comes with a summary of the contents with timecodes. Although session musicians rarely achieve popular celebrity outside of the music industry, notable exceptions include several of the individuals featured here. Bradley, Edenton, Harman, and McCoy were part of the original Nashville A-Team, a group of A-list session musicians from the Nashville Sound era, whose contributions began in the 1950s with artists like Elvis Presley. Carrigan was part of the first wave of the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section before moving to Nashville and performing as a session musician for over three decades. Jerry Kennedy was a producer, songwriter, session guitarist, talent scout, and record executive for Smash Records, a subsidiary of Mercury, during the country music boom of the 1960s in Nashville. Stoker was the leader of the Jordanaires. Over the years, this storied collection of musicians has performed with numerous Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees, including Solomon Burke, Johnny Cash, Ray Charles, Elvis Costello, Bobby Darrin, Neil Diamond, Bob Dylan, Duane Eddy, the Everly Brothers, Buddy Holly, Elvis Presley, Brenda Lee, Jerry Lee Lewis, Clyde McPhatter, Rick Nelson, Roy Orbison, Carl Perkins, Wilson Pickett, Del Shannon, Paul Simon, Dusty Springfield, and Bobby Womack.

ARC-0488 Dayton Ballet Tommy Poster and Program, 2007, 0.92 l.f. 
The Dayton Ballet Collection consists of a poster and program for the company's world premier production of The Who's Tommy, as choreographed by Christopher Fleming. The ballet was performed from April 26 to April 29, 2007, at the Victoria Theatre in Dayton, Ohio. The poster is signed by the choreographer, many of the dancers, and others involved in the production. The collection will be of interest to researchers looking at various adaptations of Tommy, or alternative uses and interpretations of rock and popular music in general.

ARC-0489 James Stansbury Photograph of Ray Charles, 1999, 1.34 l.f. 
The James Stansbury Photograph of Ray Charles documents Charles' appearance at the 1999 New Orleans Jazz Fest. The color photograph shows him on stage in between songs, with his glasses removed.

ARC-0490 Peter Ruenitz Collection of The Beach Boys: The Best Summers of Our Lives Audio, 1976-1976, 0.21 l.f.
The Peter Ruenitz Collection of The Beach Boys: The Best Summers of Our Lives Audio was recorded in 1976. It consists of three 90-minute cassettes and features a program hosted by Charlie Van Dyke and Wolfman Jack. The program also includes interview clips with members of the Beach Boys, Audrey Wilson, and special guests such as Elton John and Jan and Dean.

ARC-0493 Michael Sonnenfeldt and Katja Goldman Collection of Ken Regan Photographs, 1959-2002, 2.8 l.f. 
The Michael Sonnenfeldt and Katja Goldman Collection of Ken Regan Photographs consist of 375 black-and-white images of a variety of musical performers and events from 1959 to 2002, with the bulk of the photographs dating from 1968 to 1986; including some undated material. The collection documents important music festivals: Woodstock, Amnesty International, Farm Aid, and Live Aid, as well as several artists from various musical genres. Regan not only captured these individuals performing but also with their family and friends in more informal settings. The collection offers insight into Regan's decades-long career and his relationships with his subjects. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides documentation of many rock and pop musicians who became popular during the late 1970s and into the 1980s. Accruals have been added to the end of the appropriate series.

ARC-0494 Kathy Sumer Poster of Peter Frampton, undated, 4 l.f.
This collection consists of one undated poster of Peter Frampton on A&M Records &Tapes. The poster is on cardboard.

ARC-0495 Vans Warped Tour Poster and Photograph, 2000, 5.07 l.f.
The Vans Warped Tour Poster and Photograph consists of an oversize poster advertising the 2000 Vans Warped Tour and a photograph of Steve Van Doren with unidentified individuals.

ARC-0496 Lynn Goldsmith Photographs, 1988, 5 l.f.
The Lynn Goldsmith Photographs consist of two gallery-sized prints of an image entitled, "Keith Richards Guitar Hero," and another of Frank Zappa and his family. Both images are from 1988.

ARC-0497 Collection on Stewart Copeland's Holy Blood and Crescent Moon, 1989, 0.42 l.f.
The Collection on Stewart Copeland's Holy Blood and Crescent Moon is dated 1989. It consists of photographs, slides, programs, and the operatic score for the production with the Cleveland Opera. The photographs include images of Copeland working with members of the Cleveland Opera Company. The programs and score are autographed by Copeland. The collection provides insight into Copeland's career as a composer. 

ARC-0498 Collection on Silverchair, 1994-2008, undated, 0.42 l.f.
The Collection on Silverchair documents the output of the band's official fan club, the Llama Appreciation Society, from 1999 to 2008. Other items in the collection include a 1997 tour program, an undated issue of the fanzine Wombat Stew, and a VHS recording of a live concert.

ARC-0499 Ira Kaplan Collection of Publicity Materials, circa 1970s-1996, 1.0 l.f.
The Ira Kaplan Collection of Publicity Materials contains promotional photographs and a poster. The photographs feature individual artists and bands active in the 1970s through 1996. Items were collected during Kaplan's tenure at the Soho Weekly News.

ARC-0500 2 Live Crew Obscenity Trial Document, 1992, 0.07 l.f.
The 2 Live Crew Obscenity Trial Document is a reprint that summarizes the trial held in the United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit, on May 7, 1992. This trial occurred after a sheriff in Broward County, Florida, obtained an order to prevent the selling of the album As Nasty As They Wanna Be by the rap group 2 Live Crew.