Archival Collections: ARC-0601 to ARC-0650

ARC-0601 Robert F. Toomey Collection, 1992, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Robert F. Toomey collection consists of promotional stickers for the Cleveland radio station WMMS, a souvenir program from a Cleveland-area Beatles convention, and an advertisement for Beatles recordings on Capitol. Most of the items in the collection are undated. The collection is arranged by size and format. The collection provides a glimpse into the culture of Cleveland-area rock fans and collectors and helps show how local rock radio stations promoted themselves over the years.

ARC-0604 First Annual Ernie the Chickin' Festival Poster, 1971, 1.34 l.f.
The First Annual Ernie the Chickin' Festival poster, featuring Dr. Zoom and the Sonic Boom with Bruce Springsteen, also Sunny Jim and Oden and others, Newark State in Union, New Jersey, May 15, 1971. Donated by poster artist Robert Yoskowitz. Approximately 50 were printed and posted around the Newark State College campus (now Kean University).

ARC-0605 Music Box Supper Club Setlists and Posters, 2014-2015, 6.67 l.f.
The Music Box Supper Club Setlists and Posters are dated 2014 to 2015. The collection is arranged into two series: Series I: Setlists and Series II: Posters. Series I: Setlists include physical and digital copies of setlists with notations for performances at the Music Box Supper Club by Steve Earle and the Dukes, Booker T. Jones, the Mekons, and Lucinda Williams. Series II: Posters consists of vinyl and mounted posters for performances and coming soon schedules. The coming soon schedules range from August 2014 to September 2015. The performance posters include artists Kat Edmonson and Robert Ellis, Graham Parker and the Rumour with Lowell Thompson, The Lone Bellow, Maria Muldaur, Hot Tuna, Macy Gray, Marc Cohn, Lucinda Williams, X, Carrie Rodriguez, Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, Steve Earle and the Dukes Honey Honey, Portland Cello Project, Parachute, and Trevor Hall. The collection provides insight into a northeast Ohio music venue and serves as a reference for the musicians that played at the Music Box.

ARC-0607 Jerome "Bigfoot" Brailey Photograph, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Jerome "Bigfoot" Brailey Photograph consists of one undated black-and-white photograph (digital print) of Brailey behind a drum kit.

ARC-0609 Lou and Jan Shone Lead Sheets for the Mamas and the Papas, 1967, 0.07 l.f.
The Lou and Jan Shone Lead Sheets for the Mamas and the Papas are for two songs performed by the group at the Monterey Pop Festival in 1967. One sheet is for "Creeque Alley," and there are two copies for "Dedicated to the One I Love." According to the donor, these lead sheets were used by the band on stage at the festival.

ARC-0610 Deborah Chessler Collection, 1948-1950, undated, 0.92 l.f.
The Deborah Chessler collection is dated 1950 and contains undated materials. The collection is comprised of newspaper clippings featuring the Orioles, two pieces of sheet music written by Chessler, “Its Too Soon to Know” and “Forgive and Forget,” and a telegram.

ARC-0611 Northeast Ohio Jazz Society Records, 1973-2007, undated, 4.82 l.f.
The Northeast Ohio Jazz Society Records is dated 1973-2007, including undated materials. The collection consists of administrative files, as well as materials related to educational programs and jazz elders. The administrative files contain meeting records, funding and grant information, and documents related to work with the Cleveland Browns. The educational program materials consist of school information, feedback from classes, and programming notes for Jazz Week and Roadshows; while jazz elders includes documents, photography and video for the society's Jazz Elders video project. The collection provides insight into the influence of jazz throughout Northeast Ohio, especially in local schools from the 1980s to the early 2000s.

ARC-0613 Collection on the Beach Boys (Terry Stewart Collection), 1961-1979, undated, 0.42 l.f.
The Collection on the Beach Boys (Terry Stewart Collection) consists primarily of legal documents, internal memos, correspondence, contracts, and invoices pertaining to the Beach Boys from 1961 to 1979, with some undated materials. Most of the documents are carbon copies. Items of particular note throughout the collection are letters, memoranda, contracts and other correspondence for Candix, Pacific Records, Capitol, and various attorneys. Some of the early files go into detail about working with minors signed to a major recording label. The collection provides documentation on the early years of the Beach Boys and provides insight into how a major record label interacted with its artists.

ARC-0614 Dan Angelo Article and Digital Photograph of the Grateful Dead, 1981-2011, 0.07 l.f.
The Dan Angelo Article and Digital Photograph of the Grateful Dead documents a 1981 appearance by the band in Cleveland, as well as an article on the band's business practices written by Angelo.

ARC-0615 Gene Pitney Videotapes, 1993, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Gene Pitney Videotapes are dated 1993 and contain undated materials. The collection consists of three VHS tapes from the Gene Pitney International Fan Club of performances by Pitney. “A Piece of Pitney” at the Casino at Hampton Beach, NH, “An Evening With...Gene Pitney” and “Something’s Gotten Hold of My Heart and You’re the Reason.”

ARC-0616 Allen Burke Spinners Scores, ca. 1994, 0.92 l.f.
Two undated pieces of music arranged by Allen Burke for accompanying the rhythm and blues vocal group the Spinners. The first piece is a handwritten conductor's score for a medley of three songs: "I'll Be Around," "Cupid," and "Loved You For A Long Time." The second piece is a piano score for the same medley of songs; this score was used at the 1994 Newsweek American Achievement Awards.

ARC-0617 Winter Dance Party Handbill, 1959, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of one program dated February 2, 1959, for the Big Bopper, Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, Dion and the Belmonts at the Winter Dance Party, Surf Ballroom, Clear Lake, Iowa. The Surf Ballroom was the last venue Big Bopper, Buddy Holly, and Ritchie Valens played at before dying in a plane crash on February 3, 1959.

ARC-0619 Tom Tewell Collection, 1969, 0.07 l.f., 81.5 MB

  The Tom Tewell Collection consists of 2 scans of black and white photographs of Ian Hunter by Janet Macoska and 1 Woodstock program, 1969. Materials will be of interest to researchers studying Woodstock ephemera and the rock and roll photography in the Cleveland area.

ARC-0620 Ella Fitzgerald Collection, 1937-1992, 5.13 l.f.
The Ella Fitzgerald Collection contains materials dated 1937 to 1992, with a significant amount being undated. The collection includes business and membership cards, photographs, sheet music, lyrics, and a poster. The photographs are promotional photographs with one autographed by Fitzgerald. Additionally, the lyrics appear to have been written as prompts for performances. The collection provides insight into the career of Fitzgerald.

ARC-0621 Michael Boyer Collection, 1964-1979, 0.14 l.f. 
The Michael Boyer collection contains 79 Beatles "plaks," cardboard trading card-like items that were manufactured by Topps. They were originally sold in packs of bubble gum in 1964. These plaks contain images of the Beatles and a variety of slogans (e.g. "I have Beatlemania"), and were intended to be linked together and hung up on display. The collection also contains photographs taken by the donor of Rod Stewart at Richfield Coliseum in May 1979 and the Rolling Stones at Municipal Stadium on June 14, 1975. 

ARC-0622 Eddie Floyd Photograph, 1967, 0.07 l.f.
The Eddie Floyd Photograph is a black and white photograph of Floyd performing in London during the 1967 Stax/Volt Revue tour of Europe.

ARC-0623 Kathy Blecher Woodstock Festival Brochure, 1969, 0.07 l.f.
The Kathy Blecher Woodstock Festival Brochure is a brochure for the Woodstock Festival in 1969. The days of the festival are listed along with the musicians and bands that were scheduled to play the event. The brochure offers researchers a look at the original concept of the festival.

ARC-0624 Scott Olsin Photographs, 1974-1978, 0.07 l.f. 
The Scott Olsin Photographs contain two color photographs taken at concerts in Northeast Ohio during the 1970s. There is one photograph of the Grateful Dead at Blossom Music Center in 1978, and the second photograph is of Roger Powell, from the band Utopia, at the Agora in 1974. Digital images of both photographs are also available.

ARC-0625 Jeff Cole Collection, 1971-1990, 0.07 l.f. , 241.6 MB
The Jeff Cole Collection is dated from 1971 to 1990. The collection contains a physical copy and digital image of a letter from radio station WIXY, a physical copy and digital image a ticket voucher from an Eric Clapton/Stevie Ray Vaughan concert and digital images of newspaper clippings regarding Elvis Presley, the Rolling Stones, the World Series of Rock and Led Zeppelin.

ARC-0626 Ken Pepera Flyers and Digital Photograph, 1965-1972, 0.07 l.f. , 41.4 MB
The Ken Pepera Flyers and Digital Photograph spans the years 1965-1972, and contains flyers for the "Britain-American Show" at Cleveland Arena, Kris Kristofferson and Rita Coolidge at Blossom Music Center, and a digitized photograph of a female crowd at the Beatles concert in Cleveland. The collection provides a glimpse into the British Invasion of the 1960s and the history of rock and folk music in Northeast Ohio. Digital copies of the flyers are also available.

ARC-0627 John and Marian Damico Collection, 1964, 86 MB
The John and Marian Damico Collection consists of three digitized items, including one article from an unidentified Cleveland newspaper about audience misconduct at The Beatles' September 15, 1964 performance at Public Auditorium, and two stickers from Cleveland radio station WMMS 101FM, circa 1970s. The collection will be of interest to researchers studying the history of teenagers' misconduct during performances in the Cleveland music scene, as well as marketing and ephemera of popular music radio stations.

ARC-0627

ARC-0628 Cheri Morabito Laserock Program, 1977, 83.9 MB
The Cheri Morabito Laserock program includes one digitized copy of bi-fold event program for "Laserock" at the Allen Theater in Cleveland, Ohio, 1977. The item sheds light on the use and promotion of laser technology in its early years.

ARC-0629 Bill Carothers Clippings on Summer Jam at Watkins Glen, 1973, 501 MB
The "Summer Jam at Watkins Glen" was a 1973 rock festival that once received a Guinness Book of World Records entry for the "Largest audience at a pop festival." An estimated 600,000 rock fans came to the Watkins Glen Grand Prix Raceway outside Watkins Glen, New York on July 28, 1973, to see the Allman Brothers Band, Grateful Dead, and The Band perform. The eventwas organized and promoted by Shelly Finkel and Jim Koplik of Cornucopia Productions.

ARC-0630 Michael Galloway Promotional Card for Billy Joel at Gund Arena, 1994, 15 MB
William Martin Joel (born May 9, 1949) is an American musician, singer-songwriter, and composer. Commonly nicknamed the "Piano Man" after his first major hit and signature song of the same name, he has led a commercially successful career as a solo artist since the 1970s, having released 12 studio albums from 1971 to 1993 as well as one studio album in 2001. Billy Joel was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1999.

ARC-0631 Jeanette Germana Collection on Alex Bevan, 1977, 44.9 MB
The Jeanette Germana Collection on Alex Bevan includes two digital images of a newspaper article clipping detailing the aftermath of a rock concert at Berea Amphitheater on July 13, 1977. The free concert, given by performers Bob Sandham, Alex Bevan, and David Bodin, drew an unexpected crowd of around 8,000 people.

ARC-0632 Pat Depace Collection, 1993-2012, 228 MB
The Pat Depace Collection contains five digital images of ephemera from President Bill Clinton's pre-inaugural event, America's Reunion on the Mall, January 1993; the grand opening of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, September 1995, and an event with President Bill Clinton and Bruce Springsteen in Parma, Ohio, October 2012. This collection may be of interest to researchers studying social events hosted by the Clinton Administration, and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Grand Opening celebration.

ARC-0633 Al Jakuvowski Collection, 1973-1997, 162 MB
The Al Jakuvowski Collection spans the years 1973-1997 and includes a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame "I Want to Take You Higher" exhibit poster signed by inductees Sam Andrew, James Gurley, and Peter Albin of Big Brother and The Holding Company; a James Gang plus Buddy Miles concert poster; and ephemera from the "Concert for the Rock Hall", Rock & Roll Hall of Fame grand opening celebration. The collection will be useful to researchers interested in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum grand opening celebration, as well as promotional artwork and ephemera for concerts and similar events.

ARC-0634 Erika Snouffer Collection, 1960-1972, 278 MB
The Erika Snouffer Collection includes photographs taken by the donor, flyers, postcards, surveys, and other ephemera from 1960s, and 1972. Subjects include Jim Morrison, The Who, Peter and Gordon, Joan Baez, and Cleveland area radio station WIXY 1260. The collection will be of interest to researchers studying rock and folk music photos and ephemera from the 1960s and 1970s, and Cleveland radio stations.

ARC-0635 Dave Koubeck Collection, 2006-2007, 409 MB
The Dave Koubeck Collection includes scans of photographs taken by the donor, articles and backstage passes from Cleveland area concert venues featuring the Tubes and Ian Hunter as well as scans of signed publicity photos of Skid Row and L.A. Guns. The collection spans the years 2006-2007, with some undated material, and will be of interest to researchers studying the history of rock music in Northeast Ohio.

ARC-0636 Patty Duber Collection, 1998-2008, 1390 MB
The Patty Duber Collection includes scans of photographs of Robert Lockwood Jr. taken in Chicago and Cleveland plus scans of Lockwood's memorial service program, flyers of concerts given by Glenn Schwartz at Cleveland area venues, and promotional materials from Cleveland radio stations. The collection will be of interest to those researching Robert Lockwood Jr.'s final years (late 1990s through early 2000s) and the history of blues music in the Cleveland area.

ARC-0637 Alan Bescan Collection, 1967-1971, 254 MB
The Alan Bescan Collection includes 10 scans of handbills, tickets and flyers for concerts in San Francisco and Austin in the 1960s and 1970s featuring artists Richie Havens, Led Zeppelin, the Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, Buffalo Springfield, Donovan, Moby Grape, and Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young. The collection will be of particular interest to researchers studying the San Francisco psychedelic rock music scene, and promotional artwork and ephemera associated with the Fillmore West, Winterland Ballroom, Oakland Coliseum, Family Dog Productions, and Bill Graham Presents.

ARC-0638 Emin Batlak Photographs, 1972-1976, 10 items
The Emin Batlak Photographs consists of 10 scans of photographs that show bands performing and making appearances in Cleveland and Akron in the 1970s. The collection documents music events in Cleveland through the early- to mid-1970s, including the Mayor's proclamation of August 24, 1976 as "Wild Cherry Day," as well as performances by Rod Stewart and Aerosmith in the World Series of Rock in August of 1975, and a performance of Jefferson Airplane circa 1972. This collection would be of interest to researchers interested in Cleveland and Northeast Ohio's connections to rock history and bands of the 1970s. All photographs by Emin Batlak.

ARC-0639 Dennis Geffert Collection, 1991-2007, 81.1 MB   

The David Geffert Collection includes selected scans of the Who tour itinerary, and nine all-access passes from rock concerts featuring artists Kiss, Aerosmith, Eric Clapton, the Police, the Who, Metallica and Guns n' Roses. The collection will be of interest to researchers studying rock artist concert tours and rock concert ephemera from the 1990s and early 2000s

ARC-0640 Mary Ungarsky Photographs of Christine McVie, 1984 May 9, 10 items
The Mary Ungarsky Photographs of Christine McVie include 10 digital images of McVie during a performance at the Agora Theatre in Cleveland on May 9, 1984. Most photos feature only McVie with piano and microphone, with three images including background musicians. Photographs by Mary Ungarsky.

ARC-0641 David Dalton Collection, 1973-1996, 106 MB
The David Dalton Collection includes scans of 30 ticket stubs from rock concerts in the Cleveland area. The collection may be of interest to researchers studying the history and ephemera from Northeast Ohio rock concerts.

ARC-0643 Todd Anello and Denny McConnaughey 20th Anniversary Poster for WMMS, 1988, 4.0 l.f.
The collection consists of one 20th anniversary WMMS poster dated 1988 and celebrates the station's 20th anniversary. It is mounted on corrugated board.

ARC-0644 Laura Champa Collection on the Beatles, 1966, 0.07 l.f.
The Laura Champa Collection on the Beatles includes one concert ticket for The Beatles at Cleveland Stadium, August 14, 1966 (sponsored by WIXY 1260), and 45 Beatles trading cards. The ticket and nine of the trading cards were scanned at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Scan Day, November 14, 2015.The collection will be of interest to Beatles fans and researchers studying rock music history in Northeast Ohio.

ARC-0645 Michael Lippus Photographs and Newspaper Clipping, 1977-2005, 1 l.f., 83.4 MB
The Michael Lippus Photographs consist of photographs of Genesis and The Strawbs performing at venues around Northeast Ohio in the late 1970s and late 2000s, respectively; digital images of a newspaper clipping on a member of the Beatles' promotion team in the 1960s, Marilyn Doerfler; and digital image of promotional photograph of the band Crystalwood. The collection exemplifies amateur concert photography in the Northeast Ohio music scene as well as sheds light on behind-the-scenes details of rock and roll artist and tour management.

ARC-0646 Dana Aritonovich Collection, 1977-2003, undated, 0.07 l.f., 574 MB
The Dana Aritonovich Collection consists of one sticker promoting Nirvana and the In Utero album, and scans of flyers, newspaper/magazine clippings featuring Paul McCartney, Michael Jackson, Cher, Cyndi Lauper, Foo Fighters, and the Hives. The collection spans the dates 1977-2003 with some undated material, and provides a glimpse into popular music criticism and promotion from publications like New Musical Express (NME), Cleveland Plain Dealer, and Cleveland Free Times.

ARC-0647Jackie Beasley Collection, 1959-1989, 0.21 l.f.
The Jackie Beasley Collection is dated 1955 to 1985 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of concert programs and photographs for national bands and artists including Gladys Knight and the Pips, Al Green, Whispers, Isaac Hayes, the O’Jays, Temptations. and Spinners. The collection also includes promotional photographs for Northeast Ohio bands, the Metronomes, Don Banks Album, and Natural Born Soul.

ARC-0649 How About No Collection, 2003-2015, 0.92 l.f.
The How About No Collection spans the years 2003 to 2015 and consists of posters, promotional material and CDs from the Cleveland area punk band, How About No. The collection exemplifies promotional artwork and ephemera for rock bands and provides insight into the history of punk bands in the Cleveland area.

ARC-0650 Jimmy Jack Whitaker Concert Program Featuring Dusty Hill, 1964, 0.07 l.f.
The Jimmy Jack Whitaker Concert Program Featuring Dusty Hill documents a Woodrow Wilson High School Orchestra concert on May 15, 1964, with Joe "Dusty" Hill on cello. Whitaker was the assistant concertmaster.