Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections: ARC-1201 to ARC-1250

Archival Collections, ARC-1201 to ARC-1250

ARC-1217 Joshua Levy Illustrated Prints of Jerry Garcia, 2018-2020, 2.5 l.f.
The Joshua Levy Illustrated Prints or Jerry Garcia span the dates 2018 to 2020 and include 3 limited edition screen-printed images of Jerry Garcia inspired by the iconic Baron Wolman photograph, "Jerry". The collection exemplifies the psychedelic style of art inspired by 1960s San Francisco area music and counterculture, with particular regard to how it is viewed and remembered through the lens of Baron Wolman, the first principal photographer for Rolling Stone Magazine and one of the preeminent photo journalists of the rock and roll music scene.

National Archives NHPRCARC-1218 Judy Mills Bob Dylan Program, 1961, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of one program for Bob Dylan’s first concert on November 4, 1961 at Carnegie Chapter Hall in New York City.

ARC-1224 Chris Dodge Collection on Punk and Hardcore, 1979-2018, 1 l.f.
The Chris Dodge Collection on Punk and Hardcore primarily documents the San Francisco Bay area punk and hardcore scene though concert flyers, posters and other promotional materials like fanzines, stickers, lyrics, backstage passes, and press kits with copies of photographs and newspaper articles, as well as correspondence with friends, fans and the artists themselves, often featured on the reverse of the flyers. Some of the flyers are original hand drawings / paste-ups created by Dodge. The collection is arranged first alphabetically by artist files, determined by the first artist listed on the flyer or promotional item, and then by other promotional materials dedicated to the San Francisco music business (record labels, record stores, venues), zines, and social justice concerns of the scene. Overall, the collection provides a broad sampling of touring punk and hardcore bands of the 1980s-1990s, their do-it-yourself ethos and social justice interests.

ARC-1236 Centenary College for Women Yearbook, Vol. 61, 1965, .14 l.f.
This collection consists of one copy of the 1965 Centenary College Yearbook. Page 140 of the book features 2006 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductee and then-senior Deborah Ann Harry.

ARC-1237 Gary Kale Collection on Billy Ward, 1950-1990, .07 l.f.
The Gary Kale Collection on Billy Ward, 1950-1990, undated, contains materials that document Kale's relationship with Ward over nearly five decades. The bulk of the collection contains correspondence from Billy Ward to Gary Kale. Other materials included in the collection are a document about Ward, written in 1987 by Kale; newspaper clippings on Billy Ward and His Dominoes; materials related to Ward's recording company Billy Ward Enterprises, Inc.; and promotional and press kit materials for Billy Ward and His Dominoes.

ARC-1239 Bruce Fleishhacker Photographs, 1977-1979, .21 l.f.
The Bruce Fleishhacker Photographs span the dates 1977-1979 and include both color and black-and-white photographic prints of concert performances by bands Aerosmith, Chicago, Genesis, Jethro Tull, Kiss, Styx, Yes, Frank Zappa, and Emerson, Lake, and Palmer at popular venues in and near New York, New York. Venues include Nassau Coliseum, Madison Square Garden, Capitol Theatre, and the Palladium. The collection exemplifies late 1970s amateur concert photography from the audience's perspective.

ARC-1240 Mickey Thrasher Digital Collection of Georgia Radio Interviews, 1970-2020, 39 GB, 0.07 l.f.
The Mickey Thrasher Digital Collection of Georgia Radio Interviews is dated circa 1970 to 2020, and includes undated materials. Interviews with Melanie, Don Mclean, Nancy Nevins, Wavy Gravy, Joel Rosenman, and Burk Uzzle focus on Woodstock. Artists include Ian Anderson, Don Mclean, Richie Furay, Jimmy Pankow, Robert Lamm,Russell Hitchcock, Tommy James, Stu Cook, Doug Clifford, Rob Thomas, Rick Hall, Norman Greenbaum, Mickey Thomas, Melanie, Wavy Gravy, Mark Lindsey, John Kay, Delbert McClinton, Jimmy Hall, Henry Gross, John Dillon of Ozark Mountain Daredevils, Jeff Carlisi, Doug Gray, Charlie Daniels, Ed King, Dewey Bunnell, Dave Mason, Dean Friedman, Corky Lang, Charlie Starr, Butch Trucks, Carol Kaye, Bruce Blackman, Atticus Pyle, Alan Walden, Bobby Whitlock, and Eric Bloom. The collection is arranged alphabetically by artist.

ARC-1241 Michelle Phillips Drawing of the Mamas and the Papas, 2021, .07 l.f
The Michelle Phillips Drawing of the Mamas and the Papas is dated 2021. The collection consists of a hand-drawn group image and a handwritten note from Michelle Phillips. The video of the drawing and the digital drawing were included in a NFT that was auctioned to raise funds for the charity, the Painted Turtle.

ARC-1242 John J. Keating and Judith Bennett-Keating Collection, 1957-2007, 5.5 l.f.
The John J. Keating and Judith Bennett-Keating Collection, 1967-2007, undated, contains an assortment of California-based concert posters, handbills, postcards, tickets, programs, and sheet music; the majority of which are for Bill Graham-produced shows at the Avalon and Winterland Ballrooms and the Fillmore East and West during the middle 1960s. There is also a complete run of posters from the Summer of Love 40th Celebration series (29). As a whole, the collection features a variety of popular artists, including Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees The Animals, Joan Baez, Ginger Baker, Jeff Beck, Chuck Berry, Big Brother & the Holding Company, Buffalo Springfield, Johnny Cash, Chicago, Eric Clapton, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Bo Diddley, Donovan, Doobie Brothers, The Doors, Duane Eddy, Everly Brothers, Jerry Garcia, Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Albert King, KISS, Led Zeppelin, Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil, Steve Miller,The Miracles, Joni Mitchell, Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Righteous Brothers, Santana, Sly & the Family Stone, T. Rex, Ike & Tina Turner, Velvet Underground, Muddy Waters, The Who, Jackie Wilson, Steve Winwood, and Neil Young, as well as Elvin Bishop, Blue Cheer, Canned Heat, The Charlatans, Country Joe & the Fish, Electric Flag, Grass Roots, Iron Butterfly, Richie Havens, J. Geils Band, James Gang, Jethro Tull, Arthur Lee, John Mayall, Moby Grape, The Monkees, Mountain, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Pacific Gas& Electric, Procol Harum, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Boz Scaggs, Sha Na Na, Sons of Champlin, Taj Mahal, Ten Years After, Three Dog Night, Tower of Power, Vanilla Fudge, The Youngbloods, and more. Poster artists featured include Frank Bettencourt, Churchmouse/Moyssi, Lee Conklin, Phil Cushway, Bob Fried, Rick Griffin, Greg Irons, Alton Kelley, Bonnie MacLean, Victor Moscoso, Stanley Mouse, Norman Orr, David Singer, Randy Tuten, and Wes Wilson, among others.

ARC-1243 Bill Bruford Papers, 1966-2015, 3.5 l.f.
The Bill Bruford Papers, 1966-2015, documents Bruford's lifelong career as a drummer with progressive rock bands Yes (active 1968-1972, 1990-1992), King Crimson (1972-1974, 1981-1984, 1994-1997), Genesis (1976), Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman, Howe (ABWH), an outgrowth of Yes (1989-1992), and jazz group Earthworks (1986-2009). The collection includes physical copies of tour itineraries, financial statements (tour expenses and accounting, record and publishing royalties, recoupment statements), and legal documents (contracts, correspondence, disputes), as well as digital copies of Bruford's career-related scrapbooks and gig books collected over five decades. Of particular interest to those researching the history of Yes may be substantial documentation of record and publishing company royalty statements; the legal and accountancy arrangements of Yes and ABWH in the 1990s, a period of much turmoil and documentation; the emergence of Discipline Global Mobile, the record company that controlled the curation and dissemination of King Crimson's music after their time with EG/Virgin/EMI; and King Crimson's tour-related financial records from 1994-1996, following the release of Thrak, when merchandising began to become increasingly important to the business. Individual items of note include copies of a Deed of Release for Bruford to move from Yes to King Crimson, modeled after the footballer transfer model to legitimize his transfer from one band to another within the E.G. Management firm; an original manuscript for Bruford's first book, When in Doubt, Roll!; detailed correspondence to the mix engineer Adrian Belew on how to handle the drums for the King Crimson on Broadway live CD (1999); early programming notes on the emerging electronic drum technologies that made Earthworks possible, in particular MIDI and data recording; and equipment and set lists, MIDI mapping and technical information related to Earthworks Live (1994). The collection is a comprehensive record of Bruford's dynamic 40-year career as a progressive rock and jazz drummer, from late education through retirement; providing insight into Bruford's evolution as an artist.

ARC-1244 Stu Deutsch Collection on Plasmatics, 1978-1981, 1.88 l.f.
The Stu Deutsch Collection on Plasmatics spans the dates 1978-1998, with the bulk of the collection between 1978-1981, and contains photographs, original concert posters from New York City venues including CBGB's, recordings, newspapers, magazines, reviews, handwritten lyrics and set list, and other ephemera related to New York shock punk and heavy metal group, the Plasmatics. The collection was compiled by the band's original drummer, Stu Deutsch, and provides insight into the early history of the band, the evolution of punk and shock punk music, and the New York music scene of the late 1970s and early 1980s.

ARC-1248 Randy Rhoads Video, 2021, 1.1 GB
The Randy Rhoads Video, titled "PLUSH at the MUSONIA," is a tribute video created by The Musonia School of Music.

ARC-1249 John DeMent Front Row Theater Recordings, 1981-1992, undated, 5.25 l.f.
The John DeMent Front Row Theater Recordings consist of 220 audiocassettes dated 1981-1992, including some undated cassettes. The audiocassettes contain soundboard recordings from performances from the Front Row Theater and include artists such as Joan Baez, The Band, Chuck Berry, Johnny Cash, Cheap Trick, Chicago, The Everly Brothers, Four Tops, Aretha Franklin, Isley Brothers, B. B. King, Patti LaBelle, Jerry Lee Lewis, Gordon Lightfoot, The Moody Blues, The O'Jays, Dolly Parton, The Righteous Brothers, and The Temptations. The collection provides insight into the Cleveland, Ohio music scene and the artists that performed there. The audiocassettes are arranged alphabetically by artist.

ARC-1250 Kent Smith Papers, 1994-2008, 2.92 l.f.
The Kent Smith Papers spans the years 1994 to 2008 and includes clippings, event advertisements, set lists, tickets, newsletters, invitations, merchandise catalogs, and other information from The Rolling Stones concert tours during this time. These papers provide insight into the routine and experience of an entourage member touring with a rock and roll band.

 

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org