Archival Collections: ARC-1251 to ARC-1300

ARC-1251 Riverfront Coliseum Tragedy Collection, 1975-2022, .42 l.f.
The Riverfront Coliseum Tragedy Collection is dated 1975-2022 and consists of depositions and clippings compiled by Brian F.X. Powers about the concert disaster at Riverfront Coliseum in Cincinnati, Ohio, on December 3, 1979, where 11 people died while waiting to get into a concert by The Who.

ARC-1252 Zoltron Posters, 1996-2021, 4 l.f. 
The Zoltron Posters, 1996-2021, include 44 posters by San Francisco-based rock poster designer, street artist, and creative designer Zoltron. The posters feature Zoltron's specific style -originally inspired by Hipgnosis designer StormThorgerson -and eventually morphing into an anti-establishment "fuck you to the art world," featuring a mix of psychedelic sixties poster art with nineties comic book art and the DIY horror of punk flyers through retro pop culture references and a postmodern lens. The posters in this collection feature art promoting live concerts by Alice in Chains, Black Keys, Devo, Faith No More, Foo Fighters, Jerry Garcia, Kool Keith (recording as Dr. Octagon), The Melvins, Nine Inch Nails, Iggy Pop, Primus, Psychedelic Furs, Pussy Riot, Queens of the Stone Age, The Residents, Soundgarden, The Specials, Ween, Widespread Panic. Zoltron has helped shaped Primus' image since 1996, designing their albums, posters, website, and advertising as the visual equivalent of the band’s music -winning him an RIAA platinum disc award for Animals Should Not Try to Act Like People. Specifically, these posters provide insight into Zoltron's complete body of work, from his first professional poster of the Residents at the Fillmore in 1996 to more recent shows in 2021; more generally, the posters serve as exemplars for how art can shape a musical group's image as well as visually represent different musical styles.

ARC-1253 Dennis McHugh Collection of Flyers and Posters, 1986-2015, 2.92 l.f. 
The Dennis McHugh Collection of Flyers and Posters are dated 1986, 2015, and contains undated materials. The collection consists of flyers and posters from the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Punk Rock scene Bobby Startup. The materials in this collection document the Philadelphia punk scene from the 1980s to 2015.

ARC-1254 Merf Sohmers' Collection on Todd Rundgren, 1974-2008, 9.33 l.f.
The Merf Sohmers' Collection on Todd Rundgren spans the years 1969 to 2008 and includes four series: Business Papers, Promotional Materials, Photographs, and VHS Tapes. The materials in these series document the fan club of Todd Rundgren as they follow his career with the band Utopia and his endeavors as a solo artist. This collection provides insight into what it is like to manage and create content for a fan club of a rock star.

ARC-1255 James Render Handbills and Posters, 1968-1970, 4.07 l.f.
The James Render Handbills and Posters, 1969-1970, undated, is a small collection of Render's own artwork as produced for a number of different venues in the Ann Arbor and Detroit, Michigan areas. Artists featured include the Bob Seger System (the name 2004 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductee Bob Seger performed under while a locally-successful Detroit artist in the 1960s), Rock Hall nominees the MC5, the Psychedelic Stooges (the original 1960s name for the 2010 Rock Hall Inductees the Stooges), Iron Butterfly, the 1910 Fruitgum Company, Amboy Dukes, and the Shaggs, as well as a number of psychedelic, folk rock, and garage bands from the local Michigan music scene. Venues featured include Clawson Hideout, Silverbell, Something Different, Village Pub, Hidden Place (location of shows for the Ann Arbor Hullabaloo), Eastern Michigan University's Bowen Field House, and the Cavern. Of particular note is early documentation of performances by the MC5, Stooges, Bob Seeger System, and Shaggs. The Shaggs were an American all-female rock band formed in Fremont, New Hampshire in 1968. Through their lack of musical education and experience and the young age at which they recorded their only album, the Shaggs have become known as “the unwitting godmothers of outsider music." The collection exemplifies the popular psychedelic poster art style of the time, and provides insight into the Ann Arbor-Detroit music scene of the late 1960s.

ARC-1256 Herbert Perry Collection of Photographs and Programs, 1967-2004, 1.34 l.f.
The Herbert Perry Collection of Photographs and Programs is dated 1967-1968, 2004. It consists of five programs for Eric Clapton, Cream, Who, and the Festival of Music held at Cow Palace. It also includes three photographs from the Cream farewell tour in 1968.

ARC-1260 Dwight L. Hutton Photographs, 1976-1979, .42 l.f.
The Dwight L. Hutton Photographs include (443) 35mm color slides and photo negatives of concert photography by Hutton, a freelance photographer, and spans the years 1976-1979. Images include rock, folk, country, jazz, and pop artists performing at music venues primarily near Pittsburgh, PA, and surrounding regions of northwest Pennsylvania and northeast Ohio. Artists include Hall & Oates, David Crosby, Emerson, Lake and Palmer, Doobie Brothers, Bad Company, Chicago, Charlie Daniels, Judy Collins, Journey, Rod Stewart, Sha Na Na, Carlos Santana, Boston, Eddie Money, Chuck Mangione, Jefferson Starship, Barry Manilow, Guess Who, Fleetwood Mac, Ted Nugent, Aerosmith, Outlaws, Pure Prairie League, Spirit, Crosby, Stills, and Nash, Little River Band, Foghat, and the Atlanta Rhythm Section.

ARC-1261 Jean-Michel Basquiat Print of The Offs Album Art, 1984, 2.98 l.f.
This collection consists of a print designed by Jean-Michel Basquiat as the album art for The Offs' "First Record" in 1984. It is the only album cover he designed, and it is shown in the book published by Taschen "Art Record Covers." This print provides insight into the postmodern art scene of New York City during the 1980s.

ARC-1262 MUUS Photography LLC Collection, 1959, .92 l.f.
The MUUS Photography LLC Collection is dated 1959 and consists of six gelatin silver prints of Dion and the Belmonts by photographer Alfred Wertheimer.

ARC-1263 Second Chance Poster, undated, 4 l.f.
The Second Chance Poster is for the music venue of the same name in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The poster includes a photo by Peter Yates and features the names of national acts who performed there throughout its 23 year history.

ARC-1264 Wilbur Fleck Posters and Programs, 1966-1979, 1.83 l.f.
The Wilbur Fleck Posters and Programs span the years 1966 to 1979 and include posters and programs from concert venues in San Francisco, Berkeley, and Oakland. There are 29 posters in this collection that are primarily from Bill Graham events hosted at Fillmore Auditorium, Fillmore West Auditorium, and Winterland Ballroom, as well as Family Dog events hosted at Avalon Ballroom. Some of the featured artists and bands include Animals, Cream, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, Doors, Jimi Hendrix, Jefferson Airplane, Albert King, B.B. King, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Pink Floyd, and Rolling Stones. There are 2 programs from the Rolling Stones concert at Oakland Coliseum on November 9, 1969. These posters and programs provide insight into the live music scene in California during the 1960s and 1970s. The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by the name of the headlining performer.

ARC-1266 Ben Fong-Torres Recordings on Gram Parsons, 1964-1973, 1.5 l.f.
The Ben Fong-Torres Recordings on Gram Parsons consist of 24 audiocassettes dated 1964-1973, including some undated cassettes. The audiocassettes contain original interviews by Fong-Torres and research assistant Holly George-Warren, as well as other recordings, for the book "Hickory Wind: The Life and Times of Gram Parsons," published in 1991. Artists of note include Richie Furay, Chris Hillman, Roger McGuinn, John Phillips, and Michelle Phillips. The audiocassettes provide insight into rock music journalism and the primary source material necessary to the writing process. The audiocassettes are arranged into series by type and then arranged alphabetically by individual.

ARC-1268 Jack Plucinsky Raspberries Collection, 1963, .07 l.f.
The Jack Plucinsky Raspberries Collection is dated 1973 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of fan club materials, biographies, and publicity photographs of the Raspberries.

ARC-1269 Nancy Carter Collection, 1965-1970, undated, 56.59 GB
The Nancy Carter Collection spans the years 1965 to 1970, and includes undated materials. The collection consists of digital images and videos originally taken by prominent rock photographer Chuck Boyd. The images depict concerts, press conferences, and other music-related events in California. Artists include The Animals, Buffalo Springfield, Canned Heat, Cream, Donovan, The Doors, Frank Zappa, Jeff Beck, Jefferson Airplane, Jimi Hendrix, The Mamas and the Papas, The Rolling Stones, Sonny & Cher, and The Who; venues include Beverly Hills Hotel, Fillmore West, Hollywood Bowl, Kaleidoscope, Monterey Pop Festival, Newport Pop Festival, Santa Clara Pop Festival, Shrine Expo, Valley Music Center, and Whisky a Go-Go. The collection also contains images of the Tapia Park Love-in in Malibu, CA, Civil Rights demonstrations at the University of California, Berkeley, and Martin Luther King Jr.'s memorial at the LA Coliseum. Carter's collection presents a rich depiction of the California rock music and counterculture scene during the late 1960s.

ARC-1272 Jeffrey Nigh Collection of Postcards, 1967-1969, .07 l.f.
The Jeffrey Nigh Postcards, 1967-1969, include 11 postcards advertising shows at the Fillmore West, Winterland Ballroom, and Avalon Ballroom, all in San Francisco, California and promoted by Bill Graham and Family Dog Productions. Musical artists featured include Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Creedence Clearwater Revival, Albert King, Everly Brothers, Chuck Berry, Yardbirds, Jefferson Airplane, and Crosby Stills & Nash. The postcards illustrate the 1960s psychedelic art made famous by the host of artists that did commissioned work for Bill Graham and Family Dog, including Rick Griffin, Lee Conklin, David Singer, Greg Irons, Randy Tuten, and Wilfred Weisser.

ARC-1274 Charles E. Maples Photograph of Elvis Presley, 1958, .07 l.f.
The Charles E. Maples Photograph of Elvis Presley was taken on October 1, 1958, in Bremerhaven, Germany. It shows Elvis debarking the USS General George M. Randall (AP-115) troop transport ship.

ARC-1276 Gorman Bechard Collection, 2011-2021, 0.92 l.f., 4 TB
The Gorman Bechard Collection contains undated promotional and digital materials related to Bechard's rock documentaries Color Me Obsessed: a film about The Replacements (2011), What Did You Expect? The Archers of Loaf live at Cat’s Cradle (2012), Every Everything: the music, life & times of Grant Hart (2013), Who is Lydia Loveless? (2016), and Where are you, Jay Bennett? (2021).

ARC-1278 Paul Allen and Lucky Goldberg Digital Videos, 1985, 11.35 GB
The Paul Allen and Lucky Goldberg Digital Videos contain ten digital videos from original 1985 recordings of the event "Sun City: Artists United Against Apartheid." The "Sun City" video was made for the accompanying anti-apartheid song and was co-produced by Allen alongside Steven Van Zandt, Arthur Baker, Danny Schechter, Steve Lawrence, and Vinnie Longobardo. Goldberg served as cinematographer for the video. Artists who participated include Afrika Bambaataa, Ray Barretto, Stiv Bators, Pat Benatar, Big Youth, Ruben Blades, Kurtis Blow, Bono, Duke Bootee, Jackson Browne, Ron Carter, Clarence Clemons, Jimmy Cliff, George Clinton, Miles Davis, Will Downing, Bob Dylan, The Fat Boys, Peter Gabriel, Peter Garrett, Bob Geldof, Daryl Hall, Herbie Hancock, Nona Hendryx, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Stanley Jordon, Kashif, Eddie Kendrick, Little Steven, Darlene Love, Malopoets, Grandmaster Melle Mel, Michael Monroe, John Oates, Sonny Okosun, Bonnie Raitt, Joey Ramone, Lou Reed, Keith Richards, David Ruffin, Run-D.M.C., Scorpio, Gil Scott-Heron, L. Shankar, Bruce Springsteen, Zak Starkey, Ringo Starr, Tina B., Pete Townshend, Via Afrika, Tony Williams, Peter Wolf, Bobby Womack, and Ron Wood. The footage provides a comprehensive, behind-the-scenes look into "Sun City" and features the concert at Central Park, a protest march at the Embassy of South Africa, and a statue dedication featuring Rosa Parks.

ARC-1279 John Gibson Audio Recordings, 1967-1975, undated, 3 l.f.
The John Gibson Audio Recordings span the years 1967 to 1975 and includes some undated materials. The collection is split into two series based on subject: materials related to the 1975 radio program "The California Special" and audio interviews by Gibson and colleagues during his time at Atlantic Records. Within each series, the materials are arranged by format and then alphabetically by person. Artists and executives featured include Lou Adler, David Cassidy, Micky Dolenz, Ahmet Ertegun, Nesuhi Ertegun, Glenn Frey, Carole King, Mike Love, Ray Manzarek, Roger McGuinn, Huey Meaux, Michelle Phillips, Stephen Sholes, Phil Spector, Elmer Valentine, Hy Weiss, Brian Wilson, and Frank Zappa. The collection provides insight into the popular music scene, particularly in Southern California, during the early 1970s.