Archival Collections: ARC-1151 to ARC-1200

ARC-1151 Thrill Hill Recording, Inc. Manuals, 1983, 1989, 0.42 l.f.
The Thrill Hill Recording, Inc. Manuals are dated 1983 and 1989. They consist of five manuals for a Sony PCM-3324 digital audio multichannel recorder used by Bruce Springsteen.

ARC-1153 Dave and Esther Wright Collection on Johnny Cash, 1991, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Dave and Esther Wright Collection on Johnny Cash is dated 1991 and includes undated materials. The collection consists of items found on Johnny Cash's JC Unit One tour bus. The items include tour itineraries and hotel accomodation documents for the Highwaymen tour.

ARC-1162 Dallas Johnson Photographs and Articles on the Ramones, 1996-2002, 0.07 l.f.
The Dallas Johnson Photographs and Articles on the Ramones contains two newspaper articles written by Johnson on the Ramones from February 1996 in the Southern News, as well as 24 4 x 6-inch color prints of the band performing live at Toad's Place in New Haven, Connecticut on February 23, 1996. There is also a color photo of Johnson with the Ramones from February 1996 and a letter from Johnson to the Rock Hall from 2002.

ARC-1163 Gary Stewart Collection on Rhino Records, 1965-2008, 2.63 l.f.
The Gary Stewart collection on Rhino Records is dated from 1965 to 2008, and contains undated materials. The collection consists of promotional photographs, press kits, clippings, concert programs, and track listings. The collection features Elvis Costello, Beat Farmers, The Last, Nuggets, and Sex Pistols. The collection will be of interest to researchers of the record industry.

ARC-1169 D.C. Punk Collection, 1981-2019, undated, 1.67 l.f.
The D.C. Punk Collection is dated 1981 to 2019 and contains undated materials.The collection consists of flyers and posters for punk bands and venues primarily in the Washington, D.C. area, but also includes Maryland and Pennsylvania. This collection will aid researchers interested in the promotion of punk bands in the Washington D.C. area during the 1980s and 1990s.

ARC-1170 Richy Victor and Larry Einhorn Beatles Bedsheet Squares, 1964 September 6, 0.07 l.f.
The Richy Victor and Larry Einhorn Beatles Bedsheet Squares are dated September 6, 1964 and consist of one-inch-by-one-inch squares from the sheets the Beatles slept on during their stay at The Whittier Hotel in Detroit, Michigan.

ARC-1172 Freddie James Disc Jockey Collection, 1976-2017, undated, 1.55 l.f.
The Freddie James Disc Jockey Collection is dated 1976-2017 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of radio surveys and bumper stickers for Cleveland radio stations, flyers, and guides to Cleveland nightclubs, newspaper clippings of articles and advertisements for Freddie James events, photographs of James with visiting artists, and signed promotional photographs. It also includes signs and business cards for James. The collection provides insight into the influence of radio disc jockeys and the Disco era of the 1970s and 1980s in Cleveland. The materials are arranged alphabetically.

ARC-1176 Dan and Camille Speca Collection of R.E.M. Audiocassettes, 1980-1997, undated, 14.25 l.f.
The Dan and Camille Speca Collection of R.E.M. Audiocassettes covers the years 1980 to 1997 and contains 639 audio cassette tapes. The collection primarily consists of bootleg tapes of various R.E.M. concerts, with most covering the tours promoting the albums Reckoning, Fables of the Reconstruction, Lifes Rich Pageant, Document (R.E.M. No. 5), Green, Out Of Time, Automatic For The People, and Monster. The live concert performances range in venue and size, with some recorded for radio stations or television shows. Other tapes in the collection include B-Side compilations, radio interviews, and demos and outtakes for some of the aforementioned albums. The collection provides insight into the touring and setlists of R.E.M. during their meteoric rise in popularity and worldwide stardom, as well as the bootleg tape culture created out of the wide dissemination of commercial cassette tapes.

ARC-1196 Richie Unterberger Collection of Dino Valenti Audio Files, 1961, 0.64 GB
Chester William Powers, Jr. (October 7, 1937 – November 16, 1994) was an American singer-songwriter, and under the stage names Dino Valenti or Dino Valente, one of the lead singers of the rock group Quicksilver Messenger Service. The digital audio files in this collection contain unreleased demos Valenti recorded in the early 1960s. The digital audio files were digitized by the donor from a cassette copy of the recordings.

ARC-1197 Academy Film Archive Collection, 1979-1985, 3 l.f.
The Academy Film Archive Collection contains 22 original film negatives and soundtracks dated 1979-1985. Artists featured in this collection include The Cars, Heart, Ian Hunter, Journey, Boz Scaggs, and Bruce Springsteen. The collection also includes the film lab notes found in the original boxes and cans. All films are 16mm unless otherwise noted in the title. The films are arranged by artist and provide insight into the filmmaking and recording process for music videos and promotional films.

ARC-1198 Andrew Wroblewski Photographs of Metallica, 1983 May 10-1983 May 27, 0.07 l.f.
The Andrew Wroblewski Metallica Photographs span the dates May 10-27, 1983, and consist of 29 4"x6" color prints of photographs taken by the donor at the Music America recording studio in Rochester, New York, during recording sessions for Metallica's first studio album, Kill 'Em All. Images include band members James Hetfield (rhythm guitar and vocals), Lars Ulrich (drums), Kirk Hammett (lead guitar), Cliff Burton (bass guitar), as well as assistant audio engineer, Andrew Wroblewski (donor), and others involved in the recording process. Kill 'Em All was critically praised after its release on July 25, 1983, through independent label Megaforce Records, and has since been regarded as a groundbreaking album for thrash metal because of its fusion of fast-paced hardcore punk tempos and new wave of British heavy metal riffs. The collection provides a unique glimpse into early recording methods by a group who would be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2005. The collection also provides invaluable photo documentation of bassist Cliff Burton just three years before his untimely death on September 27, 1986, after the band's tour bus crashed in Kronoberg County, Sweden, while on tour in support of their third album, Master of Puppets.

ARC-1199 Mark R. Friedman Photographs, 1973-1979, .42 l.f
The Mark Friedman Photographs span the dates 1973 to 1979 and includes 35mm film negatives and transparencies of concert and event photography for the bands Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention, Captain Beefheart, Baby Snakes, Blue Oyster Cult, Average White Band, Wishbone Ash, Waylon Jennings, New Riders of the Purple Sage, Camel (with Peter Frampton), Carmen, David Peel, and a currently unidentified punk show at CBGB's. The collection exemplifies concert photography for rock, folk-rock, and avant-garde bands performing during periods of peak popularity in the 1970s.