Archival Collections: ARC-0651 to ARC-0700

ARC-0651 David Spero Collection, 1968-2017, undated, 12.93 l.f. 
The David Spero Collection spans the years 1968 to 2017, with the bulk of the materials dating from 2000 to 2014. The collection consists of four series: Artists, Subjects, Posters, and Upbeat Digital Files. Series I: Artists ranges from 1991-2017 and includes contracts, correspondence, invoices, budgets, royalty statements, clippings, legal documents, and tour information for several of Spero’s clients, including Dickey Betts, Funk Brothers, Richie Furay, Survivor, and Cat Stevens. Series II: Subjects ranges from 1968-2014 and consists of materials on artists not under Spero's management, benefits and events organized and attended by Spero, correspondence, and materials relating to Spero’s business ventures. Series III: Posters ranges from 1968 to 2005 and contains four posters for the Eagles, Funk Brothers, and Jimi Hendrix. Series IV: Upbeat Digital Files consists of seven digital videos of performances from the Cleveland television program, Upbeat, which include Gary Lewis and the Playboys, Jeff Kutash and the Upbeat Dancers, Jackie DeShannon, Bobbie Gentry, O.C. Smith, Chicago, John Denver, the Impressions, Occasions, Guess Who, Yardbirds, Stevie Wonder, Otis Redding, and the Fifth Dimension, during the 1970s. The collection provides insight into the career of a northeast Ohio based manager, primarily for musicians in the later stages of their careers.

ARC-0652 Tommy Shannon Collection on Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble, 1981-1990, 1.55 l.f.
The Tommy Shannon Collection on Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble contains tour itinerary books and a poster from Shannon's time playing bass as a member of Double Trouble. The poster is for a show at Antone's in Austin, Texas, and dates from approximately 1981. The tour books cover the period 1985-1990 (including the group's final shows at Alpine Valley Music Theatre in Wisconsin); many of them are annotated. The collection is arranged chronologically.

ARC-0654 Ben Delfino Collection of Radio Surveys, 1959-1984, 0.42 l.f.
The Ben Delfino Collection of Radio Surveys are dated 1959 to 1984, and contains undated materials. The collection consists of radio surveys from radio stations in the United States and Canada; fromcities including New York, Cleveland, Detroit, and Windsor, Ontario. The collection is arranged alphabetically by station name. The radio surveys provide insight into how a song performed indifferent radio markets in the United States and Canada.

ARC-0655 Frank Derrig Postcards, 2002-2004, 0.07 l.f.
The Frank Derrig Postcards are dated 2002-2004 and consist of 21 postcards from the series "Rock-n-Roll Cleveland - With a Twist" which depict unexpected moments in Cleveland’s rock history through the illustrations of Frank Derrig.

ARC-0656 Photographs of John Cipollina, 1968-1968, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of two black-and-white photographs (5" x 7" and 8" x 10") of John Cipollina of Quicksilver Messenger Service in 1968.

ARC-0657 Darlene Clark Handbill for Bon Jovi, 1982, 0.07 l.f.
The Darlene Clark Handbill for Bon Jovi is a photocopied handbill advertising a concert by John Bongiovi and the Wild Ones at the Galaxy in Somerdale, New Jersey, on May 6, 1982. The handbill features a large photograph of Jon Bon Jovi, and implores audiences from southern New Jersey to "find out what New York and North Jersey already know", billing Bon Jovi as a talented singer-songwriter who had opened for bands like Squeeze and Hall & Oates. This handbill illustrates how an artist who would achieve significant future fame was advertised to local audiences near the beginning of his professional music career.

ARC-0658 Jeff Castelaz Citizen King Lyrics and Audiocassette, 1996, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Jeff Castelaz Citizen King Lyrics and Audiocassette are dated circa 1996 and consist of handwritten lyrics and demo audiocassette for Citizen King's "Better Days (and the Bottom Drops Out)."

ARC-0659 Donald Green Poster of Jimi Hendrix, 1990, 2.5 l.f.
The Donald Green Poster for Jimi Hendrix consists of a promotional poster printed in 1990. It consists of four composite images of Hendrix in concert in Cleveland, Ohio in 1968. The original images were shot by photographer, George Shuba.

ARC-0660 Harry S. Coughlin III Collection on Bandstand, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Harry S. Coughlin III Collection on Bandstand contains undated materials. The collection consists of two membership cards for WFIL-TV Bandstand Club and three black-and-white photographs (plus the negatives) from the Bandstand set.

ARC-0662 Gail Torok Collection of Radio Ephemera, 1962-1969, 0.07 l.f.
The Gail Torok Collection of Radio Ephemera consists of promotional materials related to a number of AM radio stations located in Northeast Ohio, along with one station from Windsor, Ontario. The stations represented include CKLW, KYW, WHK, WIXY, and WKYC. The items predominantly date from the mid-1960s, though many of them are undated. Included in the collection are radio surveys, “license to listen” and permit cards, invitations, a record sleeve, and a souvenir program. Taken as a whole, collection materials illustrate how radio stations related to their fans and listeners during portions of the 1960s, with a specific focus on Cleveland-area broadcasting.

ARC-0663 Matthew Sweet Collection, 1989-1994, 0.07 l.f.
The Matthew Sweet Collection is dated 1989 to 1994. The collection consists of notebooks of handwritten lyrics and notes from “Earth” and “Girlfriend” albums. It also contains work notes and track listings for “Alter Beast” album and handwritten lyrics for an early draft of “Sick of Myself.”

ARC-0664 Philco Transistor Radio Advertisement, 1956-1956, 0.92 l.f.
The collection consists of an advertisement for a 1956 Philco transistor radio, T-7 model, removed from a publication.

ARC-0665 Robert Hunter Lyrics and Stationary, 1970, undated, 0.07 l.f.
Handwritten lyrics for the songs "Operator," and "Truckin'," performed by the Grateful Dead, as well as stationary for Shady Management that was designed by Bill Graham.

ARC-0667 Clive Davis Induction Speech by Patti Smith, 2000, 0.07 l.f.
Four page handwritten document used during the 2000 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction ceremony. The speech was written on stationary from the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel, and in it Smith reminisces about her relationship with Davis. She also compares Davis to a phoenix, who has risen, risen again, and is "still rising."

ARC-0668 Brian E. Nessler Collection of Handbills and Flyers, 1969-1970, 0.07 l.f.
The Brian E. Nessler Collection of Handbills consists primarily of handbills and flyers from concerts and other events, including anti-war protests, from the West Coast of the United States and Canada in the late 1960's and early 1970's. This collection has been arranged alphabetically, the exception being two historical documents that are categorically different from the rest of the contents, and have been placed at the beginning of the file.

ARC-0669 Duran Duran Collection, 1983-2000, undated, 4.21 l.f. 
The Duran Duran Collection contains items from the period of the band's history spanning 1983 to 2000. Most of the photographs are from the 1980s; however some of the collection is undated. The posters are primarily from this period, but also include a few from 1999 and 2000. Also included in the collection are a variety of other promotional materials from the 1980s including a calendar, Japanese language photo magazine, and a biographical press program. These promotional materials provide insight into the band's commercial success through their marketing.

ARC-0670 Ari and Helene Bousbib Collection of Photographs, 1954-1997, 0.63 l.f.
The Ari and Helene Bousbib Collection of Photographs contains 135 black-and-white images of a variety of musical performers and events from 1954 to 1997, with the bulk of the photographs dating from 1967 to 1993; including some undated material. The photographs are arranged into two series: Series I: Artists and Series II: Events. Series I: Artists, 1954-1997, undated includes images of the AC/DC, David Bowie, Crosby, Stills, and Nash, Commodores, Michael Jackson, Elton John, Billy Joel, Jimi Hendrix, Cher, Robert Plant, Prince, Diana Ross, Frank Zappa, James Taylor, Sting and Steeleye Span, as well as a handful of images of a number of actors and actresses. Additional information on lesser-known individuals is included at the folder level. The photographs are arranged alphabetically by artist name. Series II: Events, 1969-1986, undated includes images of music festivals, such as Altamont Festival, Live Aid, Amnesty International, and a Phil Ochs Benefit. There are also unidentified photographs, simply labeled as "Crowds." The photographs are arranged alphabetically by subject. The collection contains photographs from a number of professional photographers including Don Rypka, Ezio Peterson, and Ken Regan. The collection provides documentation of a number of rock and pop musicians who became popular during the late 1960s to early 1990s.

ARC-0675 Delmore Brothers Collection, 1946, undated, 0.07 l.f.
Items that highlight the career of this country music duo. There is one clipping of an advertisement for their song "Hillbilly Boogie," from a 1946 issue of Billboard magazine. A contemporary press kit put together by Alton Delmore's youngest daughter Debby rounds out the collection with a set of prints showing the brothers in various poses, and includes a cast photo from the 1936 Grand Ole Opry.

ARC-0676 Karen Cobb Promotional Photographs, 1987, 0.07 l.f.
The collection is dated 1987 and contains two promotional photographs of Madonna and Fleetwood Mac.

ARC-0677 Joey Ramone Collection, 1951-1980, 4.07 l.f.
The Joey Ramone Collection contains items that document the life and career of Jeffrey Hyman, better known by his stage name of Joey Ramone. The collection includes an enlarged copy of Hyman's birth certificate, as well as three pages of handwritten lyrics, a concert poster, and a scrapbook he created in 1975. The collection is arranged alphabetically by format.

ARC-0678 Folklore Center Handbill for Bob Dylan, 1961 November 4, 0.07 l.f.
The Folklore Center Handbill for Bob Dylan documents Dylan's first New York concert outside of the Greenwich Village coffeehouses where he first gained a following. Held on November 4, 1961, at Carnegie Chapter Hall, the event was produced by Izzy Young of the Folklore Center. The handbill includes a biography of Dylan that is perhaps the first written account of his life at that point, and which added a legendary aspect to his persona. The back page of the handbill contains a short newsletter listing new publications available at the Folklore Center.

ARC-0679 Ron Stein Collection on Metallica, 1983-2000, 0.07 l.f.
The Ron Stein Collection on Metallica consists of financial agreements and correspondence relating to Metallica. The documents detail a loan of $3000.00 between Ron Stein and Metallica for the purchase of orchestral equipment for use on their 1983 Kill 'Em All Tour. The materials are dated 1983 to 1985 and 2000. The materials provide insight into the first major tour by Metallica.

ARC-0680 Suzanne Vega Lyrics, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Suzanne Vega “Pilgrimage” Lyrics are undated and consist of single page of handwritten lyrics to the song "Pilgrimage", written and recorded by Suzanne Vega.

ARC-0681 Bobby Darin Collection, 1960-1963, undated, 0.42 l.f.
The Dodd Darin Collection on Bobby Darin is dated 1960 to 1963 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of nine black-and-white photographs of Bobby Darin, one reproduction of a sketch of Darin, one report card for Walden Cassotto (Darin’s given name), and two original leather-bound scripts: "Captain Newman, M.D." and "Bobby Darin and Friends." The scripts are bound with clippings and photographs from the productions. The collection also contains sheet music for a trumpet arrangement of “Mack the Knife.”

ARC-0685 Erasure Lyrics and Set Lists, 1988, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Erasure Lyrics and Setlists consist of handwritten lyrics and setlists by the group from the late 1980s, at the apex of their career. The songs documented here include "Blue Savannah," "A Little Respect," and "Ship of Fools." The setlists appear to be from Erasure's 1988 tour in support of their album The Innocents.

ARC-0686 Bootsy Collins Photographs and Poster, 1994, 4.07 l.f.
The Bootsy Collins Photographs and Poster contains items from 1994 and undated items. The materials consist of a promotional poster for "Blasters of the Universe" and two 8" x 10" black and white photographs: Bootsy Collins performing with Funkadelic and Collins performing with the James Brown Band.

ARC-0687 Ed Robertson Bruce Springsteen Program, 1984, 0.92 l.f.
The Ed Robertson Bruce Springsteen Program is dated 1984 and consists of one program from the Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band Born in the U.S.A. tour.

ARC-0688 Lisa Loeb Collection, 1994, .07 l.f.
The Lisa Loeb Collection is dated circa 1994. It contains handwritten lyrics to "Stay (I Missed You), " an artist biography, and two promotional photographs from the "Stay" cover shoot by photographer Eduardo Patino.

ARC-0689 Janice Vitton Notebook on American Bandstand, 1958, 0.07 l.f.
The Janice Vitton Notebook on American Bandstand is a 6” by 9” spiral-bound notebook that contains handwritten notes on the contents of episodes of American Bandstand that aired between August 14, 1958, and September 20, 1958. The notebook lists the songs featured in individual episodes of the show, but primarily features extensive notes on the show’s teenage cast members, including descriptions of what they wore and who they danced with. The notebook provides a window into the way young audiences viewed and related to American Bandstand in the 1950s.

ARC-0693 Percy Sledge Collection, 1967-1995, undated, 0.92 l.f.
The Percy Sledge Collection is dated 1967-1995 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of photographs of Sledge as a child and performing on stage, a program for the 7th Annual Summer Show of Stars, and a certificate from his induction to the Louisiana Hall of Fame.

ARC-0694 Kathy Steffen Collection on Phil Collins and Genesis, 1974-2012, undated, 10.76 l.f.
The Kathy Steffen Collection on Phil Collins and Genesis is a fan collection devoted to Phil Collins and his work both with the group Genesis and as a solo artist. It spans the years 1974-2012 and includes undated material. The collection is arranged by format; it contains non-commercial audio and video recordings, and approximately 1500 photographs.

ARC-0696 Destiny's Child Collection, 2000, undated, 2.57 l.f.
The Destiny's Child Collection is dated 2000 and contains undated materials. It consists of two promotional posters, a five pack of promotional images of Beyonce Knowles, Kelly Roland, LaTavia Roberson, and LeToya Luckett with their signatures, and a promotional postcard for The Writing's on the Wall. The materials are produced by the Destiny's Child fan club, DC-Unplugged. The collection provides insight into the promotional efforts of the fan club and Destiny's Child.

ARC-0697 Maimbourg Family Collection on Elvis Presley, 1971-1972, 0.92 l.f.
The Maimbourg Family Collection on Elvis Presley is dated 1971-1972, and contains undated materials. The collection consists of memorabilia relating to Elvis Presley and includes a concert edition photo folio, an Elvis Headquarters membership brochure, and a souvenir menu from Elvis Summer Festival at the International Hotel.

ARC-0699 Craig Bobby Collection of Publicity Materials, 1973-2002, 1.46 l.f.
The Craig Bobby Collection of Publicity Materials spans the years 1974 to 2002 and contain undated materials. The collection consists of promotional photographs, press releases, and press kits for a number of bands, record labels, and radio stations. Included are NEO sound artists Devo, Pere Ubu, and Rachel Sweet. The collection documents the publicity efforts of bands in the last quarter of the 20th century.