Archival Collections: ARC-0351 to ARC-0400

ARC-0352 Mike Kole Collection, 1988-2002, 3.0 l.f.
The Mike Kole Collection spans the years 1988 to 2002 and includes 199 audiocassettes of recorded radio shows and music logs for shows hosted by Mike Kole, as well as related correspondence. The collection provides insight into 1990s Cleveland college radio.

ARC-0355 Bobby Charles Lyrics, 2001, 0.07 l.f. 
The Bobby Charles Lyrics consist of lyrics to “Forever and Always” handwritten on a manila envelope. The lyrics are dated 2001.

ARC-0357 Smile Revolution Concert Poster, 2010 August 8, 1.34 l.f.
The Smile Revolution Concert Poster documents the first concert held to support the work of Mindy Fradkin-Mousaa, aka Princess WOW! The concert took place on August 8, 2010, at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock, New York, with Pete Seeger as the headliner. All of the participants signed the poster.

ARC-0358 Darlene Love Collection, 1965-2009, 1.33 l.f.
The Darlene Love Collection contains materials from the 1960s through the 2000s, covering the span of her career. Love collected clippings of her career from the 1960s through the 2000s; the clippings range from magazines to newspapers around the country. Photos in the collection include one autographed publicity shot and several candid photos. Included is a letter from the Rhythm and Blues Foundation for her Pioneer Award, given in 1994. There is a VHS tape from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum's Black History Month television program in 1999. The collection is arranged by format.

ARC-0360 Collection on Goose Lake International Music Festival, 1970, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Goose Lake International Music Festival documents the festival in three ways: advertising, ticketing, and video. It includes a double-sided handbill, five colored tokens that were used instead of paper tickets, and a DVD with 107 minutes of concert and audience footage. These items will be useful to researchers interested in festivals and the youth culture of 1970.

ARC-0361 Cynthia Dobson Photographs of Frank Zappa, 1967-2012, 0.92 l.f. 
The Cynthia Dobson Photographs of Frank Zappa are from 1967 and 2012. The collection contains one colorized photograph of the Frank Zappa statue in Vilnius, Lithuania. The collection also contains two low resolution 11" x 14.5" prints of a scan of a black and white image of the donor with Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention. The collection provides insight into the popularity of Frank Zappa.

ARC-0362 Images of the World Series of Rock, 1980 August, 0.07 l.f.
The Images of the World Series of Rock consist of approximately 30 color slides, digital files, and photographic prints from the World Series of Rock concert in Cleveland in August 1980. The materials are arranged by format: the slides show scenes inside the Cleveland Free Clinic tent, the crowd, and the arena before and after the show; there are also digital versions of the slides on CD and two color 4" x 6" prints.

ARC-0363 Babes in Toyland Collection, undated, 2.0 l.f.
The Babes in Toyland Collection is comprised of a print of the album art for Fontanelle and lyrics to "Middle Man."

ARC-0365 Joe Koelliker Radio Spots and Film, 1973-1974, undated, 4.0 l.f.
The Joe Koelliker Radio Spots and Film collection spans the years 1973 to 1974 and includes some undated material. The collection consists of multiple copies of 1/4-inch audiotape of promotional radio advertisements for new album releases, as well as a 16mm film clip for Captain Beefheart on Warner Records. Artists featured in the clips include ABBA, the Allman Brothers, America, Bad Company, Badfinger, Dickey Betts, Jackson Browne, Tim Buckley, Eric Clapton, Deep Purple, the Doobie Brothers, Emerson Lake and Palmer, Fleetwood Mac, the James Gang, Peggy Lee, Little Feat, Marshall Tucker Band, Van Morrison, Randy Newman, Bonnie Raitt, Seals and Croft, James Taylor, Ron Wood, Bill Wyman, Neil Young, and Frank Zappa. Record labels featured are Atlantic, ATCO, Elektra, Rolling Stone, and Warner/Reprise. The collection provides insight into how record labels promoted their artists and new releases during the 1970s. The tapes are organized alphabetically by artist or title of the tape.

ARC-0367 Photographs of Jan and Dean, 1989, 0.07 l.f. 
The Photographs of Jan and Dean is dated 1989. The collection contains 20 negatives and 44 images of Jan and Dean at the pool.

ARC-0370 Jane Scott Papers, 1937-2011, undated, 73.94 l.f.
The Jane Scott Papers span the years 1937-2011, including undated materials. The collection consists of 16 series with subseries, arranged as follows: Scott's address and appointment books; audiovisual materials; autographs; clippings; copy and research files; correspondence; memorabilia; oversize birthday greetings; personal files; photographic materials; posters; promotional materials; notebooks; Rock and Roll Hall of Fame; set lists; and tickets, press and backstage passes. Jane Scott, dubbed "The World's Oldest Rock Critic," had a career spanning nearly 50 years writing for the Cleveland Plain Dealer, and her papers provide valuable insight into rock and roll music, its performers, and influence both local and national.

ARC-0371 Jerry Zolten Collection, 2011-2012, undated, 1.0 l.f.
The Jerry Zolten Collection documents distinct parts of the music industry. The first series contains filmed interviews with the founder of Specialty Records, Art Rupe, and folk singer Pete Seeger, conducted by Zolten in 2011 and 2012. The second series contains examples of various record company sleeves for 10-inch records; these sleeves are not dated. This collection will be of interest to researchers of record labels and folk music.

ARC-0372 FNHarsh Design Collection, 2002-2012, 1.34 l.f.
The FNHarsh Design Collection spans the years 2002 to 2012 and contains 70 posters with illustrations by Scott Kustowski and designs by Denis Mutter. The Collection also contains some promotional materials for FNHarsh and Flatstock, a poster show series presented by the American Poster Institute (API) that features the work of many of the most popular concert poster artists working today. The posters, for the most part, document shows performed in the Dayton, Ohio, area, but also include venues in other Ohio cities, California, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Montana, New York, South Carolina, Utah, and Washington, D.C. Performers featured in the collection include Accidentally on Purpose, Crazy Joe Tritchler and the Mad River Outlaws, the Dead Kennedys, Detroit Cobras, Deke Dickerson and the Ecco-Fonics, Heartless Bastards, Los Straightjackets, the Professors, Reverend Horton Heat, Shonen Knife, the Singles, Switchblade Serenade, Hank Williams III, Link Wray, and X. The FNHarsh Collection provides a sampling of artistic work by Kustowski and Mutter and illustrates their involvement in the API and with the Flatstock poster show series. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight to how alternative rock bands and local venues promoted their shows in the early 2000s and serves as a reference to performers that played during that era. The FNHarsh Design Collection is organized into two series by format: the posters are arranged alphabetically by headlining performer; while the promotional materials are arranged chronologically.

ARC-0373 Collection on New Orleans Jazz in Cleveland, 1961, 2004, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on New Orleans Jazz in Cleveland consists of four contracts for engagements at the Hotel Tudor Arms that featured New Orleans jazz musicians. These contracts represent the efforts of H. Lee Osborne, the hotel's promotion manager, to bring this type of music to Cleveland in 1961. The collection also includes several pages of supporting material from the book Cleveland Jazz History.

ARC-0375 Cream Concert Poster, 1968 November 3, 1.92 l.f.
The Cream Concert Poster is for a show on their farewell tour of the United States; held on November 3, 1968 at the Baltimore Civic Center in Baltimore, Maryland.

ARC-0376 Moonalice Collection, 2009-2011, 4 items
The Moonalice Collection consists of four electronic files: two PDF files that log the downloads of the Moonalice single "It's 4:20 Somewhere" over the course of two years (November 2009-November 2011) and two audio files for the same song (MP3, FLAC). Moonalice was the first band to reach 1 million downloads of a song from its own servers, without distribution on a label.

ARC-0377 Henry Niedzwiecki Audiocassette Recording of Alan Freed, 1952 March 22, 0.07 l.f.
The Henry Niedzwiecki Audiocassette Recording of Alan Freed contains the beginning of Alan Freed's radio show from March 22, 1952 with a running time of approximately 38 minutes. The show starts with Alan Freed explaining what happened the previous night at the first Moondog Coronation Ball, when 25,000 people showed up for the show at a venue with a capacity of only 10,000. The show was shut down, and Freed begins his show the next day refuting rumors that the show was over sold and that he was the organizer of the show. When Freed has finished explaining what happened at the show the night before, he begins his radio show as usual.

ARC-0378 Emek Posters, 2003-2012, 4.0 l.f.
The Emek Posters span the years 2004 to 2012 and consist of 37 items, with art by Emek, a few pieces by Emek with his brother Gan, and a piece each by Emek with Stanley Mouse and Emek with Horkey. Performers and groups featured include Audioslave, the Black Keys, Erykah Badu, Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, Coheed and Cambria, DeadMau5, Death Cab for Cutie, the Decemberists, Flaming Lips, the Grateful Dead, Massive Attack, Pearl Jam, Ravi Shankar, Sonic Youth, Them Crooked Vultures, Thievery Corporation, Ween, Weezer, Wide Spread Panic, and Zero Seven. Music festivals featured include the Azkena Rock Festival (ARF) (Vitoria-Gasteiz (Álava),Spain), Coachella, Moe Down (Turin, N.Y.), Rothbury Festival (Rothbury, Mich.), and the Wakarusa Music and Camping Festival at Mulberry Mountain (Ozark, Kan.), as well as the KCRW 89.9 (Santa Monica, Calif.) series "A Sounds Eclectic Evening." All posters are signed by Emek. Show proofs (used by promoters or for display), artist proofs, printer's proofs, and color or foil variations are noted at the item level. The posters are arranged alphabetically by the name of the headlining artist or event; then chronologically as necessary.

ARC-0379 Photograph of Jim Morrison's Grave, 1987, 1.0 l.f.
The Photograph of Jim Morrison's Grave is a 12" x 16" black-and-white photographic print by Michelle Campbell from 1987.

ARC-0381 Chuck Kennamer Collection of Newspapers on Elvis Presley's Death, 1977-1978, 1.92 l.f. 
The Chuck Kennamer Collection of Newspapers on Elvis Presley's Death contain Memphis, Tennessee newspaper issues on the death of Elvis Presley and on the first anniversary. The newspapers are dated August 17, 1977 and August 15 and 16, 1978 and consists of issues from the Memphis Press-Scimitar and The Commercial Appeal. The collection provides a glimpse into the local reaction to Presley's death, and its impact upon his fans.

ARC-0382 Door's Strange Days Reel, 1967, 0.07 l.f.
This is the commercial release of the album Strange Days by the Doors on 1/4-inch reel audio tape. The content of this item is not unique, but the format of the item requires archival storage and handling.

ARC-0383 Marc Rubinstein's Pig Light Show Handbills, 1970-1971, 19 items
Marc Rubinstein's Pig Light Show Handbills consist of JPEG image files of handbills from Fillmore East concerts that used the Pig Light Show during 1970 and 1971. Artists featured include Alice Cooper, Black Sabbath, Blodwyn Pig, Bloodrock, the Byrds, Chicago, Emerson Lake and Palmer, Fleetwood Mac, Flying Burrito Brothers, Free, Glass Harp, Grand Funk Railroad, Hot Tuna, Humble Pie, J. Geils Band, Jethro Tull, Albert King, Manhattan Transfer, Lee Michaels, Mott the Hoople, Pacific Gas & Electric, Poco, Linda Ronstadt, Leon Russell, Santana, Savoy Brown, Sha-Na-Na, the Small Faces, Ten Years After, Edgar Winter, the Youngbloods, and Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention. Joe's Lights is also featured and indicated at the item level. The files are listed in alphabetical order by the name of the headlining artist.

ARC-0384 Maureen Mann Collection on the Beatles, 1964-2004, 0.21 l.f.
The Maureen Mann Collection on the Beatles spans the years 1964 to 1997 and includes catalogs, correspondence, magazines, photographs, and a miscellany of printed ephemera associated with the Beatles and the death of John Lennon. The ephemera includes brochures, envelopes, postage stamps, stationary, and ticket stubs. Of particular note is a letter from Ringo Starr's wife, Maureen Starkey, thanking Mann for her congratulations on the birth of the Starrs' first child, Zak.

ARC-0385 Luther Vandross Collection (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), circa 1987, 2000-2003, undated, 1.33 l.f.
The Luther Vandross Collection spans the years circa 1987, 2000 to 2003, and includes undated materials. The collection includes a 2003 letter from Clive Davis to Vandross regarding a track by Shep Crawford, "Buy Me a Rose," and a new song by Harold Lilly, "Got You Home;" undated handwritten lyrics, song lists, and photocopied performance and recording notes for "My Sensitivity (Gets in the Way)," "If Only For One Night," "It's Over Now," "'Til My Baby Comes Home," "Creepin'," "Wait For Love," and "The Night I Fell In Love;" handwritten orchestration for "Never Too Much;" a poster for an appearance at the Hammersmith Odeon, circa 1987; and the contents of two binders of tour documents from 2000 and 2001. The tour documents include information on pyrotechnics, stage and set design, lighting and sound design, and catering; as well as requirements for hired crew, technical specifications, travel itineraries, venue maps and contact information, site plans, and invoices, contracts, and licenses. The collection will be of most use to those interested in Vandross' later career and artistic process.

ARC-0387 David Jacobs Photographs, 1977, 0.07 l.f.
The David Jacobs Photographs consist of two digital images of Muddy Waters, one of which includes Bonnie Raitt, sitting on Waters' knee, originally taken in 1977. These images will be of interest to researchers studying the history of the blues.

ARC-0388 Raymond F. Kearney Collection on Simon and Garfunkel, 1957-2012, undated, 13.42 l.f.
The Raymond F. Kearney Collection on Simon and Garfunkel spans the years 1957 to 2012 and includes some undated materials. The collection contains 25 bound volumes, 10 three-ring binders, tour programs, 15 bound books of collected photographs, posters, audio recordings, and random ephemera and periodicals. The bound volumes and binders include histories, lyrics, discographies, screen plays, criticism, magazine and newspaper articles, photographs, publicity stills, and photocopies of images–all featuring the careers of Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel from their beginnings as "Tom and Jerry" to their solo careers. The collection is incredibly well-documented on the item-level through a detailed catalog created by the donor, which can be found in Series I.

ARC-0389 Collection on Spin Magazine, 1935-2006, undated, 6.33 l.f.
The Collection on Spin Magazine spans the dates 1935 to 2004 and includes some undated materials. The collection contains photographs, slides, negatives, and promotional materials relating to the artists featured in Spin magazine, primarily during the 1990s. The collection sheds light not only on Spin's content focus during the 1990s but on the artists featured and the photographers responsible for the content as well.

ARC-0390 Photograph of Foreigner, 1996, 0.07 l.f.
The Photograph of Foreigner is a promotional image by Allyn J. Borrino from 1996, Hard to Handle Management, signed: "To the Rock and Roll 'Hall of Fame' all the best" with the signatures of Mick Jones, lead guitar, keyboards, synthesizers, bass, and vocals (1976-present); Lou Gramm, lead vocals and percussion (1976-1990, 1992-2003); Jeff Jacobs, keyboards, synthesizer, and backing vocals (1991-2007); Bruce Turgon, bass guitar and backing vocals (1992-2003); and Ron Wikso, drums and percussion (1995-1998).

ARC-0391 Richard Byrd Photographs, 1966-1969, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Richard Byrd Photographs span the years 1966 to 1969 and include some undated materials. Individuals featured include Chuck Berry, Bob Dylan, Bill Graham, Arlo Guthrie, Gary Hoey, Janis Joplin, Doug Kershaw, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, Rick Nelson, Peter Paul and Mary, Ringo Starr, and Buffy Sainte-Marie. Of particular note are images from Janis Joplin's last San Francisco show at the Winterland Ballroom on October 5, 1969.

ARC-0392 Dru Baird Collection on Ray Charles, 1958-1959, 0.92 l.f. 
The Dru Baird Collection on Ray Charles is dated 1958 to 1959 and contains undated items. The collection consists of three advertisements for Ray Charles LPs, two black and white promotional photographs, and two Atlantic record sleeves. The collection provides insight into the advertising and promotion of Ray Charles in the late 1950s.

ARC-0393 Collection of Elvis Presley Photographs, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection of Elvis Presley Photographs contains twelve images of or related to Presley. The photographs are primarily black-and-white, and, in addition to Elvis, they feature Priscilla and Lisa Marie Presley, as well as Elvis' parents. There are three color snapshots that were likely taken at Graceland. The photographs are arranged in the order which they were received.

ARC-0394 Bunny Paul Papers, 1955-1959, 1983, 0.14 l.f.
The Bunny Paul Papers document the career of Bunny Paul, an early female singer-songwriter. The papers primarily date from 1955 to 1959, with a clipping from 1983. In addition to clippings, the papers include a press release, promotional photographs, and a handwritten lead sheet for the song, "Love Birds."

ARC-0395 Photographs of Paul McCartney, 1968 December, 0.07 l.f.
The Photographs of Paul McCartney document McCartney's visit to the Beverly Hills Hotel in California in 1968. The five color Instamatic prints show McCartney signing autographs or posing with fans at the hotel. There is no information about the photographer; however, the reverse of each photo states "Registered Photo - Do Not Copy, Register No. 1030." These photographs are arranged in the order received. They will be useful to researchers interested in the Beatles.

ARC-0396 Photograph of Ritchie Valens, 1959 January 24, 2009 January 18, 0.07 l.f.
The Photograph of Ritchie Valens was shot in Kenosha, Wisconsin at what was then known as the Eagles Ballroom on 58th Street on January 24, 1959, during the ill-fated Winter Dance Party bus tour of the Midwest and a little over a week before Valens, Buddy Holly, J.P. Richardson ("The Big Bopper"), and the pilot of their plane were killed in a crash in the early hours of February 3, 1959. Five photographers from Sterelczyk Photo who had been shooting weddings that day showed up at the end of the show to catch whatever images they could. The donor appears in the image, behind Valens' guitar cable. The file also contains a an article from January 18, 2009 by Peter Jackel, Journal Times, detailing the events of the night of January 24, 1959.

ARC-0399 Bill Greenfield Collection, 1964-1965, 2010, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Bill Greenfield Collection consists of over 450 digital jpeg images on a DVD-R of engineering drawings, sketches, photographs, and documents used in Greenfield's position as lighting director for CBS TV and the Ed Sullivan Show, from 1960-1971. Approximately 180 of the images are engineering drawings and sketches used to set the stage for the Ed Sullivan Show, including for a performance by the Beatles in 1965. Of particular note is a nearly complete set of drawings for the February 9, 1964 episode. Many of the conceptual drawings are by Bill Bohnert, who worked in the art department for the Ed Sullivan Show from 1964-1965. Also in the collection are a few digital images of photographs and printed ephemera related to Bill Greenfield and to the donor, Stephen Gill, and his personal experiences with the Ed Sullivan Show over the years, including attending the Beatles performance on August 14, 1965.

ARC-0400 Chet Helms Family Photographs, 1985, undated, 10 items
The Chet Helms Family Photographs include five images of Chet as a child and adult, as well as three images of Helms' parents, Chester and Novella Helms, and two of Helms with his siblings, John and Jimmy.