Archival Collections: ARC-0951 to ARC-1000

ARC-0951 Alan Licht Collection of Jimmy Baynes Photographs, 1954-2012, undated, 73 items, 0.07 l.f.
The Allan Licht Collection of Jimmy Baynes Photographs spans the years 1954 to 2012 and includes some undated materials, with the bulk of the collection materials falling between the years 1954 and 1963. The collection is arranged by content: photographs and manuscripts. The collection consists of black-and-white and color photographs taken at Cleveland music halls, restaurants, and bars, as well as some photographs taken at political and civil rights events. Prominent artists featured in this collection include: Louis Armstrong, James Brown, Ray Charles, the Drifters, Aretha Franklin, Jackie Wilson, Duke Jenkins, and Faye Adams. Cleveland venues/locations featured include the Pla-mor Ballroom, Eva’s Den, the Corner Tavern, Abbott’s Bar-B-Q, Ebony Boy Bar-B-Q, and the Hotel Garfield. The collection also includes a manuscript of an untitled, unpublished book about Baynes and his photography in the Cleveland area, written by Allan Licht. The manuscript includes some photos not described separately in the collection. These materials provide rich insight to the R&B, jazz, and rock performers of the 1950s and 1960s, but more specifically to the local Cleveland music community of that time.

ARC-0952 Joy Bush Photographs, 1996-2017, 0.07 l.f.
The Joy Bush Photographs contains three black-and-white, and 14 color, photographs featuring musicians receiving honorary doctorates from Yale University between 1996 and 2017. The musicians depicted in the photos are Paul Simon, Paul McCartney, Aretha Franklin, Ralph Stanley, and Stevie Wonder. The photographs are all 5 x 7-inch in size, and have notes on the back identifying the people in each photo. The collection would be of interest to those examining how figures from the world of popular music have been recognized and honored in academic circles.

ARC-0954 Manny Greenhill Collection on Joan Baez, 1958-1995, undated, 14 l.f.
The Manny Greenhill Collection on Joan Baez spans the years 1958-1995 and contains undated materials. The collection details Baez's career--and, from a surface level, her life--through clippings correspondence, legal, financial and tour documents, promotional materials, and information on Baez's former husband, David Harris. The collection as a whole provides insight not only into Baez's career, including the international critical and fan response to her music, performance, and social justice work, but also the artist management, promotional and tour operations of Folklore Productions, Inc.

ARC-0955 Sandra Beasley Collection, 1983-1989, undated, 0.92 l.f.
The Sandra Beasley Collection dates from 1983 to 1990 and contains undated materials. The collection includes tour programs for Tina Turner, Paul McCartney, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Depeche Mode, and Ziggy Marley and the Melody Makers. It also includes a flyer for the 10,000 Maniacs.

ARC-0956 Paul Barker Motown Song Parts, undated, 1.34 l.f.
The Paul Barker Motown Sheet Music is undated and consists of sheet music for four Motown songs. The collection contains handwritten parts for the following: "Baby Don't You Go," performed by the Supremes for strings; "Bernadette," performed by the Four Tops for the harp, trombone, percussion, and viola; "Just My Imagination," performed by the Temptations for cello; and "Mickey's Monkey," performed by the Supremes.

ARC-0957 Tal Bachman "She's So High" Track Sheets, 1997, 1998, 2.5 l.f.
The Tal Bachman Collection of Track Sheets is dated 1997 and 1998. The collection consists of three track sheets for the song "She's So High," written by Tal Bachman.

ARC-0958 Steve Lynch Collection on Autograph, 1985, 1987, undated, 1.74 l.f.
The Steve Lynch Collection on Autograph is dated 1985-1987 and includes undated materials. The collection consists of 15 photographs, a signed album cover and advertisements for a collaboration between the band and Paper Mate. This collection will be of interest to researcher of Autographs and 1980s American rock music. Seen in a broader context, the collection can provide insight into the promotion of rock bands in the 1980s.

ARC-0959 Terry Quirk Zombies Artwork and Photograph, 2004, 2014-2015, 1.41 l.f.
The Terry Quirk Zombies Artwork and Photograph consist of a limited edition print of the Odessey and Oracle album cover design, illustrations of the members of the Zombies, and an undated photograph. The artwork is dated 2004, 2014-2015 and is signed by the members.

ARC-0960 James Pankow Collection on Chicago, 1976, 0.92 l.f.
The James Pankow Collection on Chicago is dated from 1976 and contains the score and lyric sheet to the song "Old Days," written by James Pankow and recorded by the band Chicago. This collection provides insight into the songwriting process.

ARC-0961 Michael "Doc" Dreyfuss Collection, 1970-1974, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Michael “Doc” Dreyfuss collection is dated 1970-1974 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of materials from the band McKendree Spring. Included in the collection are McKendree Spring promotional posters, an 8 x 10-inch black-and-white photograph of the band, and flyers, programs, and handbills featuring McKendree Spring, Eagles, Livingston Taylor, Jefferson Airplane, Chuck Berry, James Brown, Bo Diddley, Pete Seeger, Country Joe, and Odetta.

ARC-0965 Michael Kurman Photographs, 2005-2009, 2017, 2.66 GB
The Michael Kurman Photographs contains 808 digital images taken from concerts from 2005 and 2017 and features Rock Hall inductees including U2, Paul McCartney, Chuck Berry, Radiohead, Bob Dylan, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, Lionel Richie, and candid photos from the 2009 Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival

ARC-0966 Radley D. Hirsch Collection, 1980-1998, undated, 9.0 l.f. 
The Radley D. Hirsch Collection spans the years 1980-1998 and includes some undated material; the bulk of the material dates from 1983 to 1995. The collection is split into three series based on material type: audio recordings in various formats (cassette, ¼-inch reel, DAT, VHS), VHS video recordings, flyers, business documents, and photographs relating to the Gilman Street Warehouse in Berkeley, California, as well as concerts and events from the surrounding area. Recordings include demo tapes and studio recordings, as well as live performances and radio broadcasts. Many of the recordings include additional written or printed material such as set lists, personnel listings, and other information on the recordings, such as the specific audio equipment used. The collection provides insight into the regional punk rock community and the musical and cultural scene that surrounded 924 Gilman from its early days through the 1990s, including the running and organization of the club, as well as the advertising of its shows. Live recordings from other Bay Area venues such as the Cotati Cabaret, Bottom of the Hill, Mabuhay Gardens, The Farm, and Oasis provide a more complete picture of the local performing arts scene during the era. Artists featured most prominently in the collection include Operation Ivy, Polkacide, Jain, Z Axis, Crimpshrine, Capitol Punishment, Econochrist, Jawbreaker, Neurosis, Rancid, and Spitboy. Other famous artists represented include Green Day, Jello Biafra/Dead Kennedys, Fugazi, and Bikini Kill.

ARC-0970 Susan Backus Iguanas Correspondence, 1964, 0.07 l.f.
The Susan Backus Iguanas Correspondence is dated 1964 and consists of two letters written to Susan Backus from Sam Swisher of the Iguanas.

ARC-0971 Christopher Parr Live Aid Program, 1985 July 13, 0.07 l.f.
The collection is dated 1985 and contains the program from the Philadelphia Live Aid concert in 1985.

ARC-0975 Gene Chandler Collection, 1963-1964, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Gene Chandler Collection is dated 1963 to 1964 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of an American Guild of Variety Artists contract for Gene Chandler, four handwritten musical scores, and promotional and performance photographs.

ARC-0977 Bastille Handwritten Lyrics, circa 2017, 0.07 l.f.
The Bastille Handwritten Lyrics are dated circa 2017 and consist of two pages of handwritten lyrics to the song "Good Grief," written by Dan Smith and recorded by the band Bastille.

ARC-0979 Hank Ballard Collection, 1960-1988, 1.34 l.f.
The Hank Ballard Collection, 1960-1988, contains eight promotional photographs, one photocopy of a stage plan, one photocopy of a Goldmine award, and the album cover for Hank Ballard and the Midnighters' "Live at the Palais." This collections will be of interest to those looking for graphic materials of Hank Ballard and the Midnighters.

ARC-0982 Wally Gunn Collection on the Baloney Heads, 1973-1981, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Wally Gunn Collection on the Baloney Heads is dated 1973 to 1981 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of photocopies of photographs and flyers for the Cleveland bands Bluestone Union and the Baloney Heads.

ARC-0984 B*Witched Postcards and Trading Cards, 1999, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The collection is dated 1999 and contains postcards and trading cards for the girl group, B*Witched.

ARC-0985 Trevor Rabin "Owner of a Lonely Heart" Lyric Fragment, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of one undated handwritten fragment for the opening to "Owner of a Lonely Heart" by Yes. The piece consists of both the opening lyrics and the musical notes for the opening riff of the song. “Owner of a Lonely Heart” was primarily written by guitarist Trevor Rabin with help from lead vocalist Jon Anderson and bassist Chris Squire of Yes. The song is the first track off of their eleventh studio album, 90125, released in 1983.

ARC-0988 Thomas A. Lazzaro Biggest Show of Stars Program, 1957, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of one program for the Biggest Show of Stars for '57, a package tour featuring Fats Domino, Clyde McPhatter, Chuck Berry, LaVern Baker, Charles Brown, and the Moonglows.

ARC-0990 Diane Fariello Souvenir Programs, 1957, 1.34 l.f.
The Diane Fariello Souvenir Programs consists of an "Annual Yearbook" for American Bandstand, dated 1957, and one undated program for the musical group the Rascals.

ARC-0991 Deb Jameson Collection, ca. 1966, undated, 1.34 l.f.
The Deb Jameson Collection is dated circa 1966 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of tour programs from the Dave Clark 5, Herman's Hermits, and Paul Revere and the Raiders, and a photocopy of a promotional photograph of the musical group Mid-West Hydraulic Company.

ARC-0992 John Curley Collection on the Afghan Whigs, 1993-1996, undated, 4.07 l.f.
The John Curley Collection on the Afghan Whigs is dated 1993 and 1996 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of six posters, one flyer, and a Conan O'Brien television program dressing room sign for the Afghan Whigs. The collection documents the ways in which the Afghan Whigs were promoted and serves as an indication of their popularity during the late 1990s.

ARC-0993 Joseph Kondalski Photographs, 1980-2017, 40.41 GB
Photographs (born-digital and digital scans of transmissive originals) and digital video of various musical performances and record store events from 1980 to 2017, created by Joe Kondalski. Artists include ZZ Top, J. Geils Band, Tom Petty, Queensryche, Van Halen, Machine Head, Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Pearl Jam, Guns n' Roses, Paul McCartney, Alice Cooper, Soundgarden, Motörhead, Dio, and Iron Maiden. Digital photographs created with Canon SX710 camera and Apple iPhone 7.

ARC-0996 Billy Pinkney Collection on the Drifters, circa 1950s, 1988, undated, 0.92 l.f.
Billy Pinkney Collection on the Drifters is dated 1950s to 1988 and some materials are undated. The collection contains a 78 rpms Atlantic record sleeve and three newspaper clippings. The collection gives insight into the original Drifters popularity. The Billy Pinkney Collection on the Drifters is arranged alphabetically.

ARC-0997 Tooniversal Company Collection on "Go, Johnny, Go", 1959, 1983, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Tooniversal Company Collection on "Go, Johnny, Go" contains film stills, a pressbook, an original call sheet for Ritchie Valens, photocopies of the promotional soundtrack album and 1/4" audiotapes of the soundtrack from the 1959 movie "Go, Johnny, Go." Most of the items in the collection are from either the original 1959 film or the 1983 re-release. The collection is arranged by material type and provides a glimpse into rock and roll film production from the 1950s.

ARC-0998 Alan McGinty Collection, 1979-1988, undated, 1.34 l.f.
The Alan McGinty Collection is dated 1979 to 1988 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of flyers, photographs, a poster, and newspaper clippings on Cleveland area bands and record labels, with a focus on the band Wild Giraffes.

ARC-0999 Tony Davis Poster for Sly & the Family Stone, 1973, 2.5 l.f.
The collection consists of one poster from a Sly & the Family Stone concert in Cleveland from 1973.

ARC-1000 Evelyn Brown Collection on Tommy Edwards, 1944-1979, 0.42 l.f.
The Evelyn Brown Collection contains photographs, correspondence and other documents from the life and career of Cleveland disc jockey and Record Heaven store owner Tommy Edwards.