Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections: ARC-0101 to ARC-0150

Archival Collections, ARC-0101 through ARC-0150

ARC-0101 Bob Hamilton Collection, 1982-2006, undated, 1.33 l.f.
The Bob Hamilton collection spans the years 1982-2006, and includes some undated material. The collection consists mainly of correspondence, clippings, and promotional items related to Hamilton’s Radio Report magazine and New Radio Star website, as well as two copies of the CD-ROM, Heart: 20 Years of Rock and Roll. The collection provides insight to the history of radio programming.

ARC-0102 Hyde Street Studios Records, 1978-2006, 1.21 l.f.
The Hyde Street Studios Records span the years 1978 to 2006 and provide insight to the activities of the San Francisco recording studio during the 1980s and 1990s. Founded on the site of a recording destination for artists of note since the late 1960s, the studio was purchased and renamed by current owner Michael Ward in 1980. The collection contains handwritten and typewritten press releases, invoices of services rendered, master schedules from 1981 to 1983, and correspondence. Also included is a folder of documents from Ward's earlier recording venture, Rancho Rivera Recording. Musicians and bands featured are Greg Allman, The Dead Kennedys, Flipper, Don Johnson, and Joe Satriani. The Hyde Street Studios Records document the inner-workings of a prominent recording studio and provide a behind-the-scenes look at an integral part of the music business.

ARC-0103 Jorma Kaukonen Collection, 1964-1970, 2005, 1.63 l.f.
The Jorma Kaukonen Collection spans the years 1964 to 1970 and 2005 and consists of a pre-Jefferson Airplane broadsheet from The Offstage Folk Music Theater, promoting musicians such as Jerry (Jorma) Kaukonen, Jerry Garcia, and Paul Kantner; two letters from then-Jefferson Airplane manager Bill Graham to Kaukonen's mother, Beatrice; unpublished lyrics and a manuscript dating from the 1967 After Bathing at Baxter's period; an invitation to Kaukonen to attend Janis Joplin's funeral at Lion's Share, San Anselmo, California; and a presentation copy of lyrics to "Genesis" created by Kaukonen specifically for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. The collection provides a glimpse into the creative process of Jorma Kaukonen and his relationships with manager Bill Graham and Janis Joplin. Seen in a broader context, the collection highlights the late 1960s psychedelic scene in San Francisco, California and its folk beginnings.

ARC-0104 Mertis John Sheet Music, 1996, 0.07 l.f.
The Mertis John Sheet Music consists of three laminated pages of sheet music to "This Is Your Day," written by Mertis John to commemorate the induction of his brother, Little Willie John, into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1996.

ARC-0106 Collection on Paul McCartney, 1976-1997, 1.63 l.f.
The Sharon Bell-Horodyski Collection contains items about or related to Paul McCartney, as both a member of the Beatles and a solo artist. These items range from newspaper clippings about his brother Mike McCartney, to concert programs in both English and Japanese, to unique publications, and are from the years 1976-1997. The collection as a whole offers a glimpse into rock fandom.

ARC-0107 Ocean Way Recording Scheduling Book, 1973-1975, 1.25 l.f.
The Ocean Way Recording Scheduling Book is a ledger displaying the comprehensive master schedule for the studio between 1973 and 1975. The ledger represents the beginning years of the company when founder Allen Sides first operated his studio from a garage in Santa Monica, California. Ocean Way continues to function today as an award winning studio hosting a wide variety of celebrity musicians.

ARC-0108 Jill Landon Collection on Paul and Paula, 1963, 1998, undated, 1.25 l.f.
This collection contains memorabilia related to the career of pop singers Paul and Paula.

ARC-0109 Rick Stercz Collection of Photographs, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Rick Stercz Collection of Photographs contain four color images of David Crosby, Graham Nash, Stephen Stills, and Neil Young performing on stage and a second color photograph of Stephen Stills playing banjo. The Collection will be of most use to researchers interested in images of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young or rock concert photography in general.

ARC-0110 Women in Music Artist Files, 1989-2002, 1.0 l.f.
The Women in Music Artist Files span the years 1989 to 2002 and contain biographical information and clippings featuring prominent women in the music industry. The collection provides rich documentation of the impact of women in rock and pop music, specifically in the 1990s.

ARC-0111 Datwon Thomas Collection, 1999-2008, 1.63 l.f.
The Datwon Thomas Collection spans the years 1999 to 2008 and consists of clippings, correspondence, photographs, flyers, and a calendar documenting Thomas' career as a music journalist and includes information on hip-hop and rap artists from the late 1990s to early 2000s. The hip-hop and rap cultures of the time are also documented. Artists of note include Eminem, G Unit, Method Man, and Young Jeezy. The collection showcases the impact of journalism and mass media on the rap and hip-hop music culture.

ARC-0112 Spooner Oldham Papers, 1966-2007, undated, 2.25 l.f.
The Spooner Oldham Papers span the years 1966 to 2007and provide documentation of Oldham's successful career as a musician and songwriter. The materials in the collection include business papers, photographs, printed materials, handwritten songs, and tour schedule booklets. The business papers contain Oldham's contracts with FAME Studios and Atlantic Records, as well as documents from Warner Brothers. The photographs are images of Oldham in the recording studio with various people, including Aretha Franklin. Oldham’s handwritten song lyrics and chord charts are both from his FAME Studios days and later in his career. The schedule booklets in the collection include information about Oldham's tours with Neil Young and Drive-By Truckers. The collection provides rich insight to the personal life of Oldham and the late 1960s music scene surrounding FAME Studios and Atlantic Records.

ARC-0113 Wanda Jackson Papers, 1955-1958, 0.14 l.f.
The Wanda Jackson Papers span the years 1955 to 1958 and contain one photograph of Jackson with her father, Tom, and a list of tour expenses for the 1955-1956 Elvis Presley tour featuring Wanda Jackson.

ARC-0114 Rolling Stone Collection, 1956-1993, undated
The Rolling Stone Collection span the years 1956 to 1993, with the bulk of the records dating between 1966 and 1989. The collection is organized into four series: artist files; artist, reference and record company files; copy and research files; and editorial files. The two series of artist files consist of newspaper and magazine clippings on artists, their performances, or related subjects. While similar in content, these two series were acquired as distinct sets of files. The copy and research files comprise the majority of the materials in the collection. These files include print copy, draft manuscripts, newspaper and magazine clippings, research notes, interview transcripts, and audio interviews. The editorial files series contains material relating to a selection of Rolling Stone writers, as well as memos and other paperwork produced by various editors. Please note that the collection does not contain materials from the earliest days of the magazine; any file dated earlier than 1974 likely contains newspaper clippings or publicity materials.

ARC-0115 John Vogel Papers, 1976-1994, undated, 2.34 l.f.
The John Vogel Papers span the years 1976 to 1994 and contain materials Vogel collected while working as a lighting engineer for various rock and roll concert tours. The materials are include photographs, stage designs, tour schedules, and personnel information. Also included in the collection are several oversized tour booklets and some of Vogel's personal files. Artists featured in the collection include Peter Gabriel, Genesis, Kiss, Paul McCartney, the Rolling Stones, and The Who. Vogel's papers provide rich insight to the process of creating a rock and roll concert show, specifically the stage design and special effects.

ARC-0116 Churchmouse / Moyssi Programs, 1974, 1978-1984, 0.83 l.f.
The Churchmouse / Moyssi Programs span the years 1974 and 1978 to 1984 and consists of  black-and-white programs. The programs feature original art by James D. Moyssiadis (aka, Moyssi). They were predominately produced for national touring acts that appeared at the Capitol Theatre in Passaic, N.J., but also represent several other venues in New York and New Jersey in association with the "John Scher Presents" series. They were distributed to audiences free of charge, and also contain biographical information on the performers, photographs, and local advertisements. The Churchmouse / Moyssi Programs provide rich insight to rock fan culture of the late-1970s and early 1980s, and showcase the rock music scene on the east coast.

ARC-0117 Tara McPherson Bookmarks and Posters, 2003-2011, 4.07 l.f.
The Tara McPherson Bookmarks and Posters spans the years 2003 to 2011. The collection consists of 26 concert posters and bookmarks designed and created by McPherson. The concert posters feature various bands and concert venues, while the bookmarks promote McPherson's store, Cotton Candy Machine. Bands and artists featured in the collection include Beck, Depeche Mode, Faith No More, Green Day, P.J. Harvey, Mars Volta, and The Melvins. The collection provides a sampling of McPherson's artistic work, across genres and formats. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight to how mainstream and alternative rock bands and venues promoted their shows in the early 2000s and serves as a reference to artists that played during that era.

ARC-0118 Bryan Ehlinger Collection of Posters, 1978-1989, 1994, undated, 4.0 l.f.
The Bryan Ehlinger Poster Collection consists of promotional posters used by record companies for advertising and in-store displays from 1978 to 1989 and in 1994. Performers included are David Bowie, Genesis, Jefferson Starship, the Moody Blues, The Scorpions, and Trooper. The collection provides a glimpse into how record companies promoted their artists and the records they released during the late 1970s and 1980s. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight to the images and styles used to promote rock and roll music.

ARC-0119 Dream Syndicate Collection, 1979-1988, 0.42 l.f.
The Dream Syndicate Collection spans the years 1979 to 1990 and consists of an audiocassette of early band the Suspects and a test pressing of a Dream Syndicate album; photographs and contact sheets of images of the band; a promotional postcard and stationary; typed and handwritten song lyric manuscripts; and an all access tour pass. The Dream Syndicate Collection provides insight into the inner workings of a touring rock and roll band, as well as the songwriting and recording processes.

ARC-0120 Steve Wainstead Collection, 1988-1998, 6.67 l.f.
The Steve Wainstead Collection consists of audio recordings, music logs, and listener requests during Wainstead's tenure as a dee jay on Cleveland State University's radio station, WCSB 89.3 FM, spanning the years 1988 to 1998. This collection contains over six hundred hours of audio recordings of Wainstead's radio shows Wainstead All NightCyclotron, and Punkin' Around. The bulk of these recordings are of Wainstead All Night, Wainstead's longest running and most popular show. The music logs and song requests are a mix of Wainstead's punk rock show Cyclotron and of Wainstead All Night. Local musicians from bands such as Death of Samantha, My Dad Is Dead, and the New Salem Witch Hunters appeared on the recordings for interviews and sometimes co-hosted the show. The Steve Wainstead Collection provides information about bands playing at local venues, is an example of college radio at the apex of its popularity, and offers a slice of the "Cleveland Scene" during the late 1980s through the late 1990s.

ARC-0122 Bob Porcher Collection, 1989, 0.07 l.f.
The Bob Porcher Collection consists of an Intuition Records press kit for the Brazilian alternative pop band Paralamas.

ARC-0123 Robert Krasnow Collection, 1987-1988, 1.0 l.f.
The Robert Krasnow Collection spans the years 1987 and 1988 with undated material, and consists of VHS videocassettes and files relating to the second and third annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction ceremonies, as well as a promotional film for Arena Brains. Krasnow's collection provides rich insight into the process of producing the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremonies, as well as a behind-the-scenes look at the ceremonies and their guests.

ARC-0124 Photograph of Elvis Presley and Bill Haley, 1955 February 26, 0.08 l.f.
One color photograph of Elvis Presley and Bill Haley. Accompanying the photograph is a newspaper clipping with an image of the same photograph, stating that it was Presley's first appearance in Cleveland, opening up for Roy Acuff and Kitty Wells at Brooklyn High School.

ARC-0125 Don Clark Collection, 1991-1994, 0.12 l.f.
The Don Clark Collection contains newsletters and memorabilia relating to Ghoulardi, a fictional character invented and portrayed by disc jockey, voice announcer, and actor Ernie Anderson as the horror host of late night Shock Theater at WJW-TV in Cleveland, Ohio. Also included in the collection are photographs of Don Clark with other local Cleveland celebrities. Clark's collection provides a glimpse into the legacy of a Cleveland popular culture icon.

ARC-0126 Concert Photographs of Les Paul, 2009 May 25, 0.08 l.f.
The Concert Photographs of Les Paul consist of two compact discs of images from one of Paul's last live concerts at the Iridium Jazz Club in New York City on March 25, 2009. Paul played at the Iridium nearly every week to the end of his life.

ARC-0127 Joe Coco Collection, 1988-1997, 0.21 l.f.
The Joe Coco Collection spans the years 1988 to 2012 and consists of materials for The Blues House: A Blues Opera, Clicking the Blues, and Hindsight. The collection also contains course materials from "Rock and Rap," an undergraduate class taught by Coco at Montclair State University in New Jersey.

ARC-0128 Howard Kramer Collection, 1991-2006, 1.21 l.f.
The Howard Kramer Collection consists of VHS videocassettes, clippings, obituaries, artist tributes, and press releases. Artists of note include Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, Elvis Costello, and Peter Frampton.  Kramer's collection provides insight to the history of rock music from the perspective of a collector and music enthusiast.

ARC-0129 Herb Alpert and Jerry Moss Posters, 1970-1975, undated, 3.17 l.f.
The Herb Alpert and Jerry Moss Posters span the years 1970 to 1975 and consist of 23 promotional posters from A&M Records and Ode Records. The artists featured in the posters include Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass, Cheech & Chong, Humble Pie, Carole King, Billy Preston, Cat Stevens, and Rick Wakeman. The Groucho Marx poster is dated September 24, 1972, though the event was postponed until December 11, 1972 due to illness. The collection provides a glimpse into the promotion of artists on a major American record label, A&M Records. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into the popular music scene of the early to mid-1970s and how those popular artists were promoted to the public. It also serves as a reference for the artists that played during that era.

ARC-0130 William Chylik Collection, 2007 September 1, 4.0 l.f.
The William Chylik Collection consist of two copies of the limited edition poster for the Endless Strummer: A Tribute to Joe Strummer and Benefit for Stummerville concert. The concert took place on September 1, 2007 at Bottom of the Hill in San Francisco, California. Performers included the Clash City Rockers (L.A.), La Plebe, David J. and the Odd Numbers, the Hooks, Harrington Saints, the Shakespearos, and the Ferocious Few. The poster, created from a Chuck Sperry photo by Julian Leonard Yewdall of Firehouse Kustom Rockart Co., provides a glimpse into how the Joe Strummer Foundation For New Music raised money, and the artists that supported their efforts. Seen in a broader context, the posters provides insights to the punk rock scene of 2007, its influences, and the graphic styles of promotion used at the time.

ARC-0131 Gary Johnson Collection, 1960s-1970s, 5.0 l.f.
The Gary Johnson Collection consists of three series: Concert Posters, Frank Zappa's 200 Motels: Herb Cohen files, and Zola Taylor, as well as individual items related to The Beatles, Alan Freed, Woody Guthrie, John Lennon, Nirvana, Elvis Presley, Elliot Smith, and Spinal Tap. The collection includes audio recordings, chord charts, clippings, financial and legal documents, manuscripts, posters, sheet music, and teletypes. The material spans from 1940 to 2003 with the bulk of the material dating from 1965 to 1983. The collection provides extensive documentation on the promotion of regional rock and roll acts performing in the Mid- and Northwest of the United States from the mid-1960s to the early 1980s, as well as the production and release of the 1971 film Frank Zappa's 200 Motels. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into the promotion of regional acts, the venues they played, and serves as a reference to performers that were active during that time. The collection also contains information on the management side of the filmmaking process, the arrangement of live musical performance, and reports of celebrity deaths by the press.

ARC-0132 Marv Heiman Papers, 1972-2000, undated, 1.88 l.f.
The Marv Heiman Papers span the years 1972 to 2000, with the bulk of the materials from 1972 to 1980, and consist of awards, magazine articles and various newspaper clippings, contracts, correspondence, a rhythm chart, handwritten lyrics, and photographs related to Heiman's time as the manager for Curtis Mayfield and as an executive for Mayfield's record label Curtom Records. The contracts primarily relate to distribution and ownership deals made by Curtom with Buddah Records and the Warner Music Group. Heiman’s Papers provide documentation of the importance of the manager-client relationship, as well as a behind-the-scenes look at being an artist and manager in the rock music industry.

ARC-0133 Cousin Brucie Morrow Papers, 1959-2010, 2.55 l.f.
The Cousin Brucie Morrow Papers span the years of 1959 to 2010, and consist mainly of photographs and clippings, chronicling Bruce Morrow's career as a popular radio disc jockey, known as "Cousin Brucie." Also included in the collection are press releases from various radio stations where Morrow worked (including WCBS and WABC), fan club files, awards, and some audiovisual recordings of his work. Morrow’s papers provide documentation on the impact of radio disc jockeys on the history of rock music, and a behind-the-scenes look at being a media personality in the rock music industry.

ARC-0134 Mary Martin Papers, circa 1965-2009, undated, 1.55 l.f.
The Mary Martin Papers contain photographs, a manuscript by P.F. Sloan (author of protest song "Eve of Destruction"), newspaper and magazine clippings, a presskit, correspondence, ephemera, biographical information, awards, DVD video-discs, scrapbooks, posters, and an album slick related to Martin's career from the period circa 1965 to 2009, along with some undated material. The collection also contains some sports-related material from the 1970s. The content of the collection is focused on Martin's time as manager for Leonard Cohen and Van Morrison; as an Artist & Repertoire (A&R) representative for Warner Brothers, RCA, Asylum Records, and Mercury; and as an executive director of Earth Communications Office (ECO). Seen in a broader context, the Mary Martin Papers provide a glimpse into the A&R profession, while highlighting the life and career of a successful woman in a stereotypically male profession.

ARC-0135 Joe Reiling Papers, 1985-1989, 1992, 2008, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Joe Reiling Papers span the years 1985-1989, 1992, 2008 and include some undated material. The Papers contain documents related to the careers of disc jockeys Joe Reiling, Renda Lowe, and Damion Bragdon and include photographs, documents of the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and the Armed Forces Radio and Television Service Programming Center, newspaper clippings, biographical information, advertisement copy, and radio production sheets. The papers provide a glimpse into the life and career of radio disc jockeys.

ARC-0136 Del Shannon Collection, 1947-1996, undated, 3.92 l.f.
The Del Shannon Collection spans the years 1947 to 1996 with the bulk of the material dating between 1961 and 1964. It consists of clippings and newspapers featuring Shannon, fan club files, personal files, photographic materials, promotional files, scrapbooks, sheet music, and song files. Items of note include correspondence between Shannon and his family while on tour in the 1960s and 1970s, high school memorabilia, and the handwritten lyrics to many of Shannon’s popular hits, including "Runaway." Shannon’s papers provide documentation of the personal life and rising fame of a pioneering rock music artist. The correspondence intimately shows Shannon's relationship with his family; while the fan club files provide a base line for how rock music fandom has evolved over time.

ARC-0137 Tom Miller Collection, 1981-2002, 5.5 l.f.
The Tom Miller Collection spans the years 1981 to 2004. The collection contains material regarding Cleveland, Ohio bands, of which Tom Miller was a member, with the bulk of the material focusing on Starvation Army and the Offbeats. The audio recordings in the collection contain test pressings and studio master audio tapes for both Starvation Army and the Offbeats. There are concert flyers that largely advertise Cleveland-area bands playing at local venues, with a few national bands included, such as Hüsker Dü and the Misfits. The Offbeats material includes the copyright registration for one of their songs, press kits, and a performance contract. The material on Starvation Army is largely for the later years of 1987-1990, when Tom Miller was a member of the band, and includes advertisements, a press kit, and a copy of the contract between Starvation Army and Rave Records. The oversize material in the collection includes original album art for two Starvation Army releases and for a compilation album of Cleveland musicians titled, From the Eerie Shore. Also included are several posters for the Offbeats and Starvation Army. The collection provides information on the history of the Cleveland bands Starvation Army and the Offbeats; in a broader sense, this collection provides valuable information on the types of concerts performed and venues that were in operation in the Cleveland-area during the 1980s and 1990s.

ARC-0138 Dr. Z Amplification Collection, undated, 4.07 l.f.
The Dr. Z Amplification Collection consists of a signed photograph from Brad Paisley, a photograph of Mike Zaite with Joe Walsh, a poster signed by John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers, and specifications for a gold Bolin Stratocaster presented to Mike Zaite by Steve Miller with an accompanying handwritten note. The items are indicative of the relationship that exists between performers and specialized equipment manufacturers.

ARC-0139 Michael Goldstein Collection, 1967-1993, 1.33 l.f.
The Michael Goldstein Collection spans the years 1967 to 1993, with the bulk of the materials dating between 1967 and 1970. The collections consists of clippings, printed ephemera, photographs, and press releases related to Jimi Hendrix and other various artists with whom Goldstein worked. The Collection provides documentation of Hendrix's short yet influential music career.

ARC-0140 Otis Redding Collection, 1964-1968, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Otis Redding Collection contains contracts, correspondence, photographs, receipts, and sheet music that span 1964 to 1967, and includes some undated materials. The materials are arranged in the order in which they were received by the Museum. The collection consists of a few of Redding's treasured personal effects and career mementos that spotlight his life and musical legacy.

ARC-0141 Collection on Tommy Edwards (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1955-2009, 6.5 l.f.
The Collection on Tommy Edwards spans the years 1955 to 2009 and consists mainly of newspaper clippings and photographs related to the career of Tommy Edwards. Another focus of the collection is "Solid Gold Scrapbook" record albums from 1988 to 1990. The Collection on Tommy Edwards provides insight into the personal life and career of Edwards, as well as a look into the music scene of the greater Cleveland area.

ARC-0142 Collection on the Monkees, 1967-1991, undated, 9.5. l.f.
The Collection on the Monkees spans the years 1967 to 1991 and includes some undated materials. The collection consists of noncommercial audiovisual recordings of Monkees interviews, press conferences, concerts, rehearsals, and television appearances. Also featured in the collection are calendars, clippings, fan club files, and scrapbooks devoted to the Monkees' fan following. The Collection on the Monkees provides rich documentation of the band, as well as the group's impact on its loyal fans. It is arranged alphabetically by type of material.

ARC-0143 Sony Music Entertainment Collection, 2010-2012, 4.0 l.f.
The Sony Music Entertainment Collection (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection) consists of posters and promotional displays for recording artists whose work was released or re-released on the Sony Music Entertainment record label in either 2010 or 2011. Artists featured include AC/DC, Adele, the Dave Matthews Band, Neil Diamond, Bob Dylan, Michael Jackson, Kings of Leon, Elvis Presley, Bruce Springsteen, Rod Stewart, the Strokes, and Tedeschi Trucks Band, among others. Materials are arranged alphabetically by performer.

ARC-0145 Irwin Rabinowitz Collection, 1948-1970, undated, 3.34 l.f.
The Irwin Rabinowitz Collection spans the years 1948 to 1970 and includes some undated material. The collection consists of receipt books and song arrangements. The Collection provides insight into the song writing process of the 1950s and 1960s, when handwritten song arrangements were common.

ARC-0146 Collection on Eric Clapton, 1999-2011, 3.21 l.f.
The Collection on Eric Clapton spans the years 1999 to 2011. The collection contains setlists, posters, and tour itineraries for Clapton concerts. The collection provides insight into the process of the concert tour and, specifically, into the daily life of Clapton on tour.

ARC-0147 Drag City Collection, 1990-1998, 4.21 l.f.
The Drag City Collection consists of audiocassette recordings, posters, and promotional material for both Drag City Records and the artists appearing on the record label, spanning the years 1990 to 1995. Artists covered by materials in the collection include Pavement, Palace Brothers, and Royal Trux.

ARC-0148 Collection on George Clinton and Parliament (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1971-1988, undated, 2.29 l.f.
The Collection on George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic spans the years 1971 to 1988 with some undated materials and consists primarily of notebooks containing handwritten song lyrics and drawings done by George Clinton. Also included in the collection are business papers, printed materials, and two pieces of sheet music. The Collection on George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic provides rich documentation of Clinton's song writing process as well as insight into Clinton's impact of the evolution of funk and rock music.

ARC-0149 Jazz and Blues Playbill Collection (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1923-1952, 1.92 l.f.
The Jazz and Blues Playbill Collection spans the years 1923 to 1952 and consists of playbills from early jazz and blues concerts. Artists featured in this collection include: Louis Armstrong, Count Basie, Cab Calloway, "Big Sid" Catlett, Charles Mingus Quintet, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, Ella Fitzgerald, Dizzy Gillespie, Fletcher Henderson, Billie Holiday, Duke Jordan, Lead Belly, Loumell Morgan Trio, Brownie McGhee, Thelonius Monk, Charlie Parker, Tommy Potter, Ma Rainey, Buddy Rich, Max Roach, Curly Russell, Bessie Smith, Mamie Smith, Art Tatum, Sonny Terry, Fats Waller, Dinah Washington, and Chick Webb. There is also a playbill featuring Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger. The collection provides rich insight to the early jazz and blues scenes that helped shape rock and roll music.

ARC-0150 Josh Gottheil Papers, 1976-2009, undated, 3.17 l.f.
The Josh Gottheil Papers contains material related to the life of Josh Gottheil from the period 1974 to 2009 and includes some undated material. The collection materials are focused primarily on the Champaign-Urbana alternative and punk music scenes, in which Josh was an active figure from an early age, performing in and promoting local bands and, later, bringing headlining acts to perform in the area. His impact on the Champaign-Urbana scene can be traced through the wealth of ephemera and other documentation available on his various activities, while his impact upon individuals within that scene is palpable through the articles, memoirs, and correspondence written during his illness and after his untimely death. The collection as a whole provides a glimpse into the management and promotion of local bands, specifically in the Midwest, as well as the career of a very unique musician-turned-promoter. The types of materials found in the collection include advertisements; calendars; clippings; correspondence; documents, including venue applications, bank statements, contracts, forms, guidelines, and letterhead; ephemera such as brochures, flyers, and tickets; fanzines; friends’ memories of Josh; graphic materials in the form of a cartoon, photographs, postcards, posters, and publicity mockups; mailing and guest lists; newspapers; press releases; printouts of blog postings and online articles; and a yearbook. Artists of note in the collection include ¡Ack-Ack!, Jello Biafra, Bowery Boys, Billy Bragg, the Breeders, Camper Van Beethoven, Didjits, Farmboys, Flaming Lips, Hüsker Dü, the Pixies, R.E.M., the Replacements, Jonathan Richman, and Gottheil’s two bands, the Dangerous Acquaintances and the Dead Relatives. A number of items in the collection relate to the Better Youth Organization, a University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana student group to promote alternative music; the Leukemia Society of America; Mabel’s, a music venue in Champaign, Illinois; the No More Censorship Defense Fund; Record Swap and Record Service, two area record stores; the Urbana Park District; and Gottheil’s two concert promotion companies, Subservice Sounds and Concert One Productions.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org