Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections: ARC-0301 to ARC-0350

Archival Collections, ARC-0301 through ARC-0350

ARC-0301 Gord Berg Posters and Programs, 1975-2006, undated, 28.25 l.f.
The Gord Berg Posters and Programs were collected by Berg during his career as a tour director for rock musicians. The earliest item is a Spinners program from 1975; the majority of the collection dates between 1991-2006. Artists featured in the collection are a mix of classic rock acts, such as the Eagles and the Rolling Stones, alongside more contemporary popular music acts like Britney Spears. Other artists of note include David Bowie and Prince. The collection is arranged by format. Researchers studying marketing and merchandise will find this collection useful.

ARC-0302 Danny Fields Collection on the Ramones (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1975-1978, undated, 1.48 l.f.
The Danny Fields Collection on the Ramones (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection) contains items originally kept by Fields in a scrapbook. It covers the time period of Fields' management of the band, 1975-1980, though many of the items are undated. The Collection does not provide comprehensive documentation of his work with the Ramones. Highlights include a 1977 set list handwritten by Dee Dee Ramone, a letter to Fields from Roberta Bayley, a performance contract signed by Fields for the band, and two contact sheets from an early photo session. The Collection will be of use to researchers interested in the Ramones during the early part of their career. Each folder in this collection is arranged chronologically, with the undated material at the end.

ARC-0303 The T.A.M.I. Show Production Documents (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1964-1965, 0.21 l.f.
The T.A.M.I. Show Production Documents consist of business records kept by Electronovision Productions, Inc., the production company that created this concert film. The documents include contracts, correspondence, memoranda, and notes on the production, which are arranged in original, reverse chronological order. Researchers will gain insight to the legal and financial dealings that occurred to make The T.A.M.I. Show possible. Please note that there is very little information in the collection on the performers featured in the show.

ARC-0304 The Big Beat Scrapbook (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1959-1960, 0.21 l.f.
The Big Beat Scrapbook (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection) documents the taping of this Alan Freed television show from approximately October 1959 through January 1960. It contains photographs of performers, including Chuck Berry and Fats Domino, audience members, and detailed taping notes for select shows. This scrapbook will be useful to researchers interested in rock and roll television, and popular culture during the 1950s. Please note the book is in poor condition, with loose pages and photographs.

ARC-0305 Darren Grealish Posters, 1995, 2003-2011, 4.0 l.f.
The Darren Grealish Posters consist of 48 items designed by Grealish for a variety of bands and venues that span the years 1995 to 2011. The posters are organized alphabetically by featured musical artist. All the posters are from a second printing and are numbered limited editions; most measure 18" x 24" (exceptions are noted), and are also signed by Grealish. The collection provides a sampling of Grealish's artistic work, and, seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight into how mainstream and alternative rock bands and venues promoted their shows in the early 2000s and serves as a reference to artists that played during that era. Posters are arranged in alphabetical order by headlining artist.

ARC-0306 Symphonicity Tour Collection, ca. 2010, 1.42 l.f.
The Symphonicity Tour Collection contains a page of lyrics for "Fragile" and two conductor's scores for orchestral arrangements of "Englishman in New York" and "Fields of Gold." All materials are assumed to be circa 2010, when the tour began and the album of studio-recorded tracks Symphonicities was released.

ARC-0307 Tom Dowd and The Language of Music Poster, 2003, 4.0 l.f.
The film Tom Dowd and the Language of Music is from 2003 and profiles the life and legendary work of music producer and recording engineer Tom Dowd. This is a promotional poster for the film. Historical footage, vintage photographs, and interviews with a who's who list of musical giants from the worlds of jazz, soul, and classic rock shine a spotlight on Dowd, whose creative spirit and passion for innovative technology helped shape the course of modern music. Dowd's credits include recording sessions with the Allman Brothers Band, Booker T. and the MG's, Ray Charles, Eric Clapton, John Coltrane, Cream, Aretha Franklin, Dizzy Gillespie, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Thelonious Monk, Tito Puente, Otis Redding, Rod Stewart, and countless other musical luminaries--many of whom are featured in the film through music and interviews.

ARC-0308 James Gallett Photographs of Frank Zappa, 1978 October, 0.07 l.f.
The James Gallett Photographs of Frank Zappa consist of four color photos taken by Gallett in late October 1978. They are from one of the six shows that Zappa played at the Palladium in New York City between October 27 and 31. The photographs measure 8" x 10" and feature close-up views of Zappa. Members of Zappa's band can be seen in the background of three of the photographs.

ARC-0309 Jean Thomas Logs, 1963-1972, 0.21 l.f.
The Jean Thomas Logs contain four books that Thomas used from 1963 to 1972 to document her singing career. These logs list the recording sessions that Thomas participated in and the companies with which she worked. Many of the entries note the songs on which she sang backing vocals, as well as other information, such as if it was a demo recording and the amount of money she earned for the work. Three of the four logs originally had yellow Post-It notes at the top of select pages that highlighted lead singers with whom she worked, including Connie Francis and Neil Diamond. These pages were photocopied, the Post-Its removed for preservation purposes, and the copies can be found in folder 5.

ARC-0310 Ralph Gleason File on Hank Williams (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Collection), 1949-1957, 1969, 0.14 l.f.
This file on Hank Williams was originally part of a collection held by influential American jazz and pop critic Ralph Gleason. The file contains a variety of information related to Williams, including seven mini notebook pages by Gleason from an interview he conducted with Williams on June 1, 1952, and a personal letter to Gleason from Williams's sister, Irene Smith, dated February 19, 1953. The other materials in the file include original manuscripts submitted to Gleason when he worked at the San Francisco Chronicle, an MGM Records biography on Williams, and clippings.

ARC-0311 Rick Taylor Papers, 1982-2000, undated, 1.42 l.f.
The Rick Taylor Papers document Taylor's work in the concert touring industry from the early 1980s through 2000. The collection contains Taylor's personal papers, Luther Vandross files, legal papers, and tour itinerary booklets. The bulk of the collection includes tour itinerary books for a variety of artists, and many include notes he wrote while on the road. Financial files and contracts make up the majority of the rest of the collection, with Luther Vandross as the primary subject. These files include ticket sales and merchandise reports. The collection will be useful to researchers studying the concert industry of the 1980s and 1990s.

ARC-0312 Mark Orlandi Collection, 1968-2005, undated, 4.42 l.f.
The Mark Orlandi Collection spans the years 1968 to 2005, includes undated materials, and consists of five series: 8-track audiotape cartridges, album flats, album inserts, files, and posters. The files include promotional materials related to performers, genres, and events that were of interest to the donor. Artists featured include the Beatles, David Bowie, Eric Clapton, the Doors, Bob Dylan, Peter Gabriel, the Grateful Dead, George Harrison, Jimi Hendrix, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, Pink Floyd, the Rolling Stones, Talking Heads, Roger Waters, The Who, Neil Young, Frank Zappa, ZZ Top, and many others. Seen in a broader context, the collection provides insight to how new album releases were promoted, particularly those from the mid-1980s through the 1990s.

ARC-0314 Time-Life History of Rock 'n' Roll DVDs, 1995, 1.25 l.f.
Time-Life's Emmy-nominated series, The History of Rock 'n' Roll (1995), covered rock and roll history from its origins in the 1950s to Lollapalooza in the 1990s and included interviews, classic footage, and in-concert performances. Time-Life conducted over two hundred interviews as part of its production, and DVDs of the full, unedited interviews are what constitute this collection. In Part I of The History of Rock 'n' Roll, "Rock 'N' Roll Explodes," the roots of rock were explored, featuring Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Fats Domino, Little Richard, and more. Part II, "Good Rockin' Tonight," was a look at how rock and roll affected America's color barrier. Part III, "Britain Invades, America Fights Back," investigated the impact of the Beatles and the gains Motown made simultaneously during this time period. In "Plugging In," part IV, the burgeoning electric music scene was examined. In Part V, "The Sounds of Soul," Otis Redding, Marvin Gaye, James Brown, Aretha Franklin, and more were discussed. Part VI, "My Generation;" Part VII, "Guitar Heroes;" Part VII, "The 70's;" and Part IX, "Punk" follow. The series concludes with "Up From The Undergound," which chronicled the rise of street music to mainstream success and featured Michael Jackson, Madonna, N.W.A., Run-DMC, and others.

ARC-0315 Collection on Bobby Darin, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Bobby Darin consists of two wallet-sized promotional photographs and three pieces of Darin's stationary. The items originally belonged to Harriet "Hesh" Wasser, Darin's publicist.

ARC-0316 CKLW "Big 8" Logo Print, circa 1967, 0.07 l.f.
The CKLW "Big 8" Logo print is a color depiction of the Windsor, Ontario, radio station's logo as it was in the late 1960s. The logo is carved in stone with roughly-drawn people dancing at its base, as though they were at a rock concert.

ARC-0317 Victor Colantoni Photographs of the Cars, 0.07 l.f.
The Victor Colantoni Photographs of the Cars consist of 13 3" x 5" images of the band performing in an unidentified club. There are eight black-and-white and five color photographs, all taken from the audience's perspective. The date on the photographs is September 1978, but this may refer to date they were printed, rather than the date they were taken. There are negatives for seven of the photographs, as well as other unidentified negatives (several of which appear to be backstage at an outdoor concert).

ARC-0318 Damion Bragdon Collection, 1976-2012, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Damion Bragdon Collection spans the years 1976 to 2012 and includes some undated material. The Collection consists of Bragdon's biographical information, including a resume and career history as an on-air radio disc jockey and voice announcer; letters of thanks from concert venues, record stores, and charitable associations; and recommendations of Bragdon from former employers. Also included are promotional photos (one DVD-RW) and clips of performances on one CD (25 MP3 files) and four VHS videocassettes. The Damion Bragdon Collection provides insight to the career and achievements of a radio disc jockey.

ARC-0319 Martin "Red" Schwartz Collection, 1973-1976, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Martin "Red" Schwartz Collection spans the years of 1973 to 1976 and includes undated materials. The Collection consists of Schwartz's business papers, including promotion notes on radio stations from around the country as they relate to the record labels that employed Schwartz; contact lists and addresses for radio station liaisons; correspondence with radio stations and local organizations; lists of radio stations that played singles from Schwartz's record label employers and other sales analysis documents; a "Polydor, Inc. Promotion Manager's Manual" and "Billboard Programming Guide to Progressive Rock Stations in the United States." The files are organized chronologically.

ARC-0320 Poster of Alice Cooper, 2002 November, 4.5 l.f.
The Poster of Alice Cooper is for his European tour, specifically the November 2002 show in St. Petersberg, Russia.

ARC-0322 Frank Hebblethwaite Collection on Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band, 1963-2012, undated, 17.17 l.f.
The Frank Hebblethwaite Collection on Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band is a comprehensive collection that documents the psychedelic rock group as well as the artistic career of Don Van Vliet. The collection also contains information on artists that were associated with Captain Beefheart, such as Frank Zappa and Henry Kaiser. There are five series that separate the collection by format: audiovisual materials, gallery publications, photographs, posters, and research and ephemera.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0323 John J. Kearns Collection, 1967-2010, 9.42 l.f. 
The John J. Kearns Collection is dated 1967 to 2010 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of three series: Series I: Artist files, Series II: Posters, and Series III: Video Cassettes. Series I: Artist files is dated 1967 to 2010 and contains undated materials. The artist files contain a variety of materials including promotional photographs, press kits, clippings, programs and handbills. Artists represented in the files include David Bowie, Eric Clapton, John Lennon, the Sex Pistols, Janis Joplin and Big Brother and the Holding Company, and Otis Redding. Series II: Posters is dated 1968 to 2008 and contains undated materials. The series consists of a variety of posters, including album inserts, album promotion posters, concert posters, record label advertisements, film releases, and promotional posters of the artists. Artists documented in the collection include Janis Joplin, Nina Hagan, Blondie, Cyndi Lauper, Madonna, Patti Smith, Ramones, Bette Midler, Lou Reed, and Velvet Underground. Films represented in the posters include Rock 'n' Roll High School, The Rose, and Rockers. Series III: Video Cassettes is dated 1988 to 1996 and contains undated materials. The series consists of five VHS tapes featuring Patti Smith and includes an interview with Smith, a video promotional postcard for Gone Again, and the Summer Cannibals music video. The collection documents the wide variety of formats and materials used in the promotion of artists and heavily features Patti Smith.

ARC-0324 Robert and Margo Roth Collection of Handbills, Postcards, and Posters, 1966-1971, 1993-1995, 4.14 l.f.
The Robert and Margo Roth Collection of Handbills, Postcards, and Posters spans the years 1966 to 1971 and 1993 to 1995. The Collection consists of one handbill, 65 postcards, and 44 posters that are organized first by the artist or production company associated with the item, and then by series number or date. The handbill, 54 of the postcards (including duplicates), and five of the posters are from Fillmore Auditorium shows (San Francisco, California) presented by Bill Graham; five of the posters and 11 of the postcards (including duplicates) are from Family Dog Productions at the Avalon Ballroom (San Francisco, California); and 32 of the posters are designed by Derek Hess, the majority of which are for shows in Ohio, as well as Florida, Michigan, and Texas. In addition, there are three other posters in the collection for shows by Big Brother and the Holding Company and the Charlatans that are not related to Bill Graham, Family Dog, or Derek Hess, and are therefore arranged separately. The collection provides insight to the psychedelic artwork associated with the music of the 1960s, while also illustrating how concert poster art had evolved by the 1990s. Artists and photographers, besides Derek Hess, featured include ALSO, D. Bread, Larry Conklin, Bob Fried, Joe Gomez, Herb Greene, Rick Griffin, Gut, Jack Hatfield, Charles Laurens Heald, William Henry, Greg Irons, Alton Kelley, Nicholas Kouninos, Ned Lamont (aka Tom Glass), Carl Lundgren, Bonnie MacLean, Jim Marshall, Victor Moscoso, Stanley Mouse, Norman Orr, P. Pynchon, Salas, Bob Schnepf, Bob Seidemann, David Singer, Randy Tuten, Eric Weber, Wes Wilson, and Paul Zavorskas. Performers featured include the 13th Floor Elevators, Afghan Whigs, Bad Religion, the Band, Chuck Berry, Big Brother and the Holding Company, Buffalo Springfield, Butterfield Blues Band, Canned Heat, Captain Beefheart, Chambers Brothers, the Charlatans, Country Joe and the Fish, Miles Davis, Donovan, Fishbone, Grass Roots, Grateful Dead,  Guided By Voices, Buddy Guy, Gwar, Helmet, Iron Butterfly, Jeff Beck Group, Jefferson Airplane, Jimi Hendrix Experience, Janis Joplin, Albert King, Led Zeppelin, Marilyn Manson, Moby Grape, Mothers of Invention, Mule, Nine Inch Nails, Pavement, Pearl Jam, Pink Floyd, Procol Harum, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Reverend Horton Heat, Rollins Band, Sam and Dave, Santana, Boz Scaggs, Steve Miller Band, Junior Wells, White Zombie, the Who, Peter Wolf, the Youngbloods, and Young Rascals.

ARC-0325 John D. Morton Flyer and Postcards, 2002-2012, 0.07 l.f.
The John D. Morton Flyer and Postcards contains artwork by Morton, including eight postcards of his photographs and a reproduction of a flyer from an Electric Eels show in 1974.

ARC-0326 Les Paul Papers,1925-2008, undated, 7.59 l.f.
The Les Paul Papers span the years 1925 to 2008, with the bulk of the material dating between 1952 and 1963. The Papers comprise 7.59 linear feet of material related to careers of Les Paul and Mary Ford. The bulk of the collection consists of publicity materials, including advertisements; newspaper and magazine clippings from publications such as Billboard, Cash Box, Melody Maker, Tuney Tunes, and The Music Reporter; newsletters and dailies, such as "Top Hit Club News," "This is Nashville," "The Motion Picture Daily," "Officer's Open Mess" (Elmendorf Air Force Base, Alaska), and "The Columbia Record;" handbills; press kits; press releases; and programs. These materials are primarily in English, though some of the files contain materials in German, Japanese, Danish, French, Swiss, and Dutch. The Papers also contain academic papers on Paul, biographical information, brochures, catalogs, chord sheets, contracts, copyright documents, correspondence, hit charts, index cards of jokes, lyrics, music arrangements and manuscripts, orchestrations, Paul's passport, photographs, publications, record covers, recording notes, royalty reports, scrapbooks, scripts, set lists, sheet music, stage design drawings, and miscellaneous materials. Persons of note featured in the collection include columnist, radio critic, editor, and talent agent Buddy Basch and artist manager Gray Gordon. The American Federation of Musicians, American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, Capitol Records, Columbia Records, the General Artists Corporation, Gibson, the Iridium Jazz Club, Music Operators of New York, Oahu School of Music in Cleveland, Professional Music Men, Robbins Music Corporation, Roz Starr, Star Sound Record Company, WGN, Wurlitzer, and Young and Rubicam Advertising are also featured in the collection. Only a portion of the original order was able to be maintained; most faithfully in the correspondence. The collection as a whole is organized alphabetically by file title, and then chronologically where possible, with undated materials at the end.

ARC-0327 Jim Clevo Papers, 1978, 1990-2000, 6.67 l.f.
The Jim Clevo Papers span 1984 to 2012 and includes undated materials. The files are organized into personal materials, artist files, and audiovisual materials; then alphabetically by title. The bulk of the papers consist of artist files for bands that Clevo assisted through his work under Jim Clevo Presentations and with the Jim Clevo Stage. The collection also contains photocopied articles and ephemera related to Clevo's work as a band manager, concert promoter, and journalist. The collection provides a wealth of information on the Northeast Ohio popular music scene. In process. Check the finding aid Access note for what is currently available.

ARC-0328 Neal Smith Photograph, 1973, 0.07 l.f.
The Neal Smith Photograph is an 8 1/2" x 11" black-and-white image of Smith and the mirrored Premier drum set he used on the Billion Dollar Babies tour.

ARC-0329 Perpetual Mass Cards for the Ramones, 2012, 0.21 l.f.
The Perpetual Mass Cards for the Ramones contain a card for each member of the original Ramones: Dee Dee, Joey, Johnny, and Tommy. The cards were requested by donor Robert Murray in order that the Ramones would "share in the daily Masses, Prayers, and Works" of the Holy Apostles Seminary in Cromwell, Connecticut.

ARC-0330 Derek Hess Posters, 1994-1999, 16.0 l.f.
The Derek Hess Posters consist of 85 concert and exhibit posters featuring Hess's artwork and highlighting a number of 1990s alternative rock groups. Many of the posters document concerts performed at Cleveland, Ohio venues, including the Agora, Euclid Tavern, Odeon, Peabody's, and the Wolstein Center. The posters are arranged alphabetically by title of event and then chronologically.

ARC-0331 Charlie Auringer Collection on Creem, 1969-1985, 0.21 l.f.
The Charlie Auringer Collection on Creem contains materials on Creem magazine, including promotional materials, artist photographs, and negatives. Much of the materials are undated, but dated materials suggest the bulk of the collection is from the 1970s and early 1980s. The bulk of the collection consists of artist photographs, many modeling the Creem t-shirt.

ARC-0332 Fillmore West Posters, 1969-1971, 1.92 l.f.
The Fillmore West Posters include four posters for concerts held at the Fillmore West venue. The posters feature the Steve Miller Band, Albert King, Ike and Tina Turner, the Grateful Dead, and more from 1969 to 1971. The posters are arranged chronologically.

ARC-0335 Yellow Submarine Poster, 1968, 3.42 l.f.
The Yellow Submarine Poster is a three-sheet in two sections, promoting the Beatles' 1968 film.

ARC-0336 Poster of the Beatles at Shea Stadium, ca. 2006, 4 l.f.
Beatles at Shea Stadium Poster consists of one reproduction poster for the Beatles August 23, 1966 concert at Shea Stadium. The reproduction was signed and dated by Sid Bernstein on January 18, 2006. The poster illustrates how Beatles' live shows were promoted in the United States. Seen in a broader context, the poster provides insight to the advertising of the period and ticket pricing for popular music concerts.

ARC-0337 Vans Warped Tour Posters, 1997, 2001-2006, 1.92 l.f.
The Vans Warped Tour Posters include five concert posters for the tour featuring a number of different artists, including the Alien Ant Farm, Ataris, Bouncing Souls, Descendents, Dropkick Murphys, Good Charlotte, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Less Than Jake, Mighty Mighty Bosstones, NOFX, Pennywise, Rise Against, and Social Distortion. The posters are from concerts held in 1997 and 2001-2006, and mention several venues in Michigan, from the Pontiac Silverdome to Phoenix Plaza and Downtown Detroit.

ARC-0341 Collection on Johnny Cash, 1964-1964, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on Johnny Cash encompasses the years 1964-1965 and includes some undated materials. The collection is primarily comprised of photographs featuring Johnny Cash with musicians and members of his production team at Columbia Records. The photographs appear to be taken on the same day, with everyone holding RIAA Gold Record awards for the song "Ring of Fire." "Ring of Fire" was certified Gold on February 11, 1965. The collection also includes two handwritten letters from Johnny Cash. These letters describe his experiences signing with Columbia Records in 1958, and detail his dealings with Columbia Records producer Don Law. The items provide valuable insight into Cash's early relationship with Columbia Records and the musicians and producers he worked with on "Ring of Fire." This collection also shows the Carter Family's prominence in Cash's life before he and June Carter were married, as Maybelle, June, and Helen Carter are all featured in photographs.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0342 Berlin Airlift Festival Poster, 1970, 1.34 l.f. 
The Berlin Airlift Festival Poster is dated July 25, 1970. The promotinal poster advertises the music festival that featured Steppenwolf, John B. Sebastian, Big Brother and the Holding Company, Allman Brothers, and Little Richard among a number of other artists.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0343 Bobby Elliott Collection, 1964-1996, 4.42 l.f. 
The Bobby Elliott Collection is dated 1964-1996, with undated materials. It contains documents, photographs, and posters of the Hollies while on tour. The collection includes a venue contract and rehearsal schedule for their Hullabaloo performance , record sleeves, sheet music, tour books, and posters. The collection provides insight into the popularity around the world of the Hollies as well as British rock bands in general during the 1960s up to the 1990s.

ARC-0345 Ian Whitcomb Collection, 1964-1995, undated, 0.21 l.f.
The Ian Whitcomb Collection documents Whitcomb's career as an entertainer from 1965-2011. It primarily consists of audiovisual and promotional materials that demonstrate his multiple talents. This collection will interest researchers of the British Invasion, as well as those with a focus on pre-rock-and-roll genres such as ragtime and vaudeville.

ARC-0346 Curtis Johnson Negatives and Photographs, 1963 August 23, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Curtis Johnson Negatives and Photographs consist of 79 digital images on a CD-RW; 72 of which are preservation-quality digital scans of Johnson's negatives of the Beatles' first press conference in the United States on August 23, 1963; five are JPEGs of prints, the images of which are duplicated in the digitized negatives; and two are JPEGs of a Joan Baez photograph from an undated performance at the Long Beach, Calif. Auditorium, captured at different resolutions.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0348 Pat St. John Collection, 1967-1971, 0.21 l.f. 
The Pat St. John Collection is dated 1967 to 1971 and contains undated materials. The collection consists of a WNEW Christmas card, Pat St. John postcard, a CD Radio brochure, and radio play lists from 1967 to 1971.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org