Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Collections: ARC-0901 to ARC-0950

Archival Collections, ARC-0901 through ARC-0950

National Archives NHPRCARC-0900 Tom Constanten Collection of Scores, 1980-1983, 0.92 l.f.
The Tom Constanten Collection of Scores is dated 1980 to 1983. The collection consists of five scores written by Tom Constanten: "Alaric's Premonition," "Dejavalse," "Fandango Maltallado," "The Heretic Strut," and "Kentucky Chaconne."

National Archives NHPRCARC-0901 Archie Patterson with Malcolm Mooney Interview Transcript, 1980, 0.07 l.f.
The Archie Patterson Interview Transcription is dated 1980 and consists of an introduction and transcript for interview by Archie Patterson with Malcolm Mooney of Can.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0903 Phil Flannagan Photographs of John Mellencamp, 1982, 0.07 l.f.
The Phil Flannagan Photographs of John Mellencamp consist of five 3.5" by 5" color photographs of John Mellencamp and his band performing at the Time Out Bar in Indianapolis, Indiana. The photographs were taken in 1982, prior to Mellencamp's "American Fool" tour in conjunction with the bestselling album of the same name. They depict Mellencamp with various musicians on stage, including two electric guitarists, a bassist, a drummer, and two women who appear to be backup singers (one of whom also appears to be playing keyboards in one photo). The photos help give an overview of the instrumentation, attire, and overall stage environment at John Mellencamp's live shows at this point in his career.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0905 Magic Shop Recording Studio Records, 1988-2015, 10.91 l.f.
The Magic Shop Recording Studio Records range in date from 1958 to 2016 and include undated materials. The records consist of four series: Series I: Client Files, Series II: Equipment Manuals, Series III: Administrative Records, and Series IV: Studio Ephemera. Series I: Client files ranges from 1958 to 2015, and consists of agreements, correspondence, recall sheets, and session reports. The records feature David Bowie, Foo Fighters, Sonic Youth, Jelly Roll Morton, Alan Lomax Collection, Woody Guthrie, and the Rolling Stones among numerous artists. Series II: Equipment manuals range in date from 1981-2004. Series III: Administrative records are dated from 1988 to 2016 and consists of invoices, correspondence, directories, phone messages, equipment purchases, appointment calendars, and booking confirmations. Series IV: Studio Ephemera includes a variety of materials collected by the studio. Materials consist of handmade art, Beatles calendar, and a Charles Brown poster. The materials are dated 1969, 1991, 1996.The records provide insight into the operations of an independent recording studio and provides a behind-the-scenes look at an integral part of the music business.

ARC-0906 Jonathan Blunk Recordings and Press Kit for "Reggae: The Beat of the Heart," 1986, 0.21 l.f.
Originally aired to coincide with Black History Month and the anniversary of the birth of singer-songwriter Bob Marley, "Reggae: The Beat of the Heart" was a four-part series--produced by Jonathan Blunk and Malika Lee Whitney--containing interviews with record producers, writers, and musicians. Over 100 interviews were conducted for the series, taking the producers to Jamaica, London, and major cities in the United States. The collection contains five CD-Rs of digital copy (from the master tapes) of this PBS audio documentary with press kit. The CD-Rs also include radio promos created for the series. The press kit includes a summary and playlist for each part of the documentary, as well as an incomplete list of interviewees for the series. Some of the individuals featured in the documentary are Jimmy Cliff, Taj Mahal, Toots Hibbert, UB40, Albert Griffiths (Gladiators), Louise Bennett, Bunny Lee, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Freddie McGregor, Pablo Moses, and James Mtume. "Reggae: The Beat of the Heart" sought to acquaint listeners with the full richness of Jamaican popular music and its impact upon other world musics and culture.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0907 East Baton Rouge Parish Library Advocate Historical Archive Photographs and Clippings, 1957-1998, undated, 11.68 l.f. 
The East Baton Rouge Parish Library Advocate Historical Archive Photographs and Clippings contains photographic publicity materials and clippings on popular musicians, spanning 1957 to 1998. The collection was originally a part of the The Advocate Historical Photograph Archive at East Baton Rouge Parish Library. The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by artist name. This collection will be of interest to researchers who are looking for images of musicians from almost any popular music genre.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0908 "Back to the River" Lyrics, 1969, 0.92 l.f.
The collection consists of one page of handwritten lyrics to "Back to the River", by Jim Quinn, Adam Blessing, Bill Schwark, Bob Kalamasz and Ray Benich; recorded by the Damnation of Adam Blessing. The lyrics are dated 1969.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0909 Shawn Mullins Lyrics for "Lullaby," undated, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of one page of handwritten lyrics to "Lullaby" written by Shawn Mullins. The lyrics are undated.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0910 Larry Little Collection, 1958-1960, 0.92 l.f.
The Larry Little Collection is dated 1958-1960 and contains undated materials. The collection includes 10 black and white snapshots featuring LaVern Baker, the Drifters, Duane Eddy, and the Kingston Trio during performances. It also contains a black and white postcard for the Tassels, and 6 programs for Dick Clark Caravan of Stars, Biggest Show of Stars, and Hitmakers of 1960.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0911 Gerry Goffin High School Diploma, 1957, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of the 1957 diploma for Gerald Goffin from Brooklyn Technical High School.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0912 Anne Warwick Yearbook Featuring the Stooges, 1971, 0.07 l.f.
The Anne Warwick Yearbook Featuring the Stooges is dated 1971. The collection contains one copy of "Focus Green", the yearbook of W.F. Herman Collegiate Institute, featuring an Iggy and the Stooges performance in 1971. This collection provides insight into the early years of Iggy and the Stooges.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0913 Nathaniel Best Collection, 2000, 0.07 l.f.
The Nathaniel Best Collection is dated 2000 and contain undated materials. The collection consists of materials from the career of Nathaniel Best and includes a DVD of performances of Best with Best with the O'Jays and the Fairfield Four, two promotional photographs of the O’Jays, a signed invitation and backstage pass for a private screening of “Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?”

National Archives NHPRCARC-0915 Minnesota Twins Prince Tribute Photograph, 2016, 0.07 l.f.
The collection consists of a photograph of a tribute to Prince held at a game between the Minnesota Twins and the Cleveland Indians on April 25, 2016. It contains one autographed photograph of Joe Mauer wearing a purple wrist band.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0916 Cleveland Indians Photograph and Line-Up Card for Prince Tribute, 2016, 0.92 l.f.
The collection contains a photograph and line-up card of a tribute to Prince held at a game between the Minnesota Twins and the Cleveland Indians on April 25, 2016. The photograph is of baseball player Michael Brantley wearing a purple wristband and is signed by Brantley. The line-up card is signed by the Minnesota Twins and Cleveland Indians players.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0917 Mike Cretsinger Collection, 1973-2004, undated, 4.07 l.f.
The Mike Cretsinger Collection is dated 1973 to 2004 and includes undated materials. The collection consists of flyers, tour programs, trading cards, and posters. All of the materials document the band Yes, with the exception of a tour program for Elton John.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0918 Frank Zelko KYW and WKYC Radio Surveys, 1965-1968, 0.07 l.f.
The Frank Zelko KYW and WKYC Radio Surveys are dated from 1965 to 1968. The collection consists of 35 radio surveys from WKYC Radio 1100 and its predecessor KYW Radio 1100. The collection provides insight into the popular music of the mid to late 1960s andthe influence of radio.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0919 Fan Asylum Collection on Journey, 1977-1986, 2.57 l.f.
The Fan Asylum Collection on Journey is dated 1977 to 1986. It contains a Billboard magazine featuring Journey, tour program, poster, promotional photographs, Journey Force fan club member card, and an instruction manual to the Journey home video game. The collection provides insight into Journey’s popularity in the late 1970s and 1980s. 

ARC-0920 Chicago Collection, 1967-2015, undated, 11.46 l.f.
The Chicago Collection contains items from the period of the band’s history dating from 1967 to 2015. Most of the photographic imagery, in a variety of formats, is from 1968-1977; however, some of the collection is undated, and taken from numerous national and international performances. Posters, made up of both tour and promotional items, are also mostly from this period, but there are a few from the 1980s, 1990s, and 2000s. Tour itineraries are also found in the collection, with the earliest itinerary dated 1977, and rounding out the collection is a 2015 series of live performances from the U.S. to Australia and Asia. A small series of original lyrical compositions, and a group of promotional publications and programs complete the collection, spanning from 1969 to 1970.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0924 Dennis Corrigan Photographs of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Groundbreaking , 1993, 0.07 l.f.
The Dennis Corrigan Photographs of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Groundbreaking includes 14 4" by 6" color photographs of the groundbreaking ceremony for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame from June 7, 1993. The photographs feature Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees Chuck Berry, Ruth Brown, Billy Joel, Pete Townshend, Ahmet Ertegun, Bill Pinkney, and Sam Moore. Also featured are architect I.M. Pei, who designed the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame building, and musicians Dave Pirner and Michael Stanley, along with a shot of the crowd. A CD-R includes digital copies of all the photographs. While the momentof actual groundbreaking itself is not depicted, the photographs provide an overview of celebrity attendees at the ceremony, and give some idea of the crowds present on the Cleveland waterfront at the event.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0930 Robert West Record Sleeve for Record Rendezvous, undated, 0.92 l.f.
The Robert West Record Sleeve for Record Rendezvous is a promotional record sleeve for the Record Rendezvous store located at 300 Prospect Avenue in Cleveland, Ohio. It appears to be for a 10-inch record, likely a 78-rpmdisc. The sleeve is undated.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0931 Nicole Yvonne Williams Michael Jackson Bad Tour Program, 1988, 0.92 l.f.
The Nicole Yvonne Williams Michael Jackson Bad Tour Program collection contains one tour program for Michael Jackson's Bad Tour from 1988.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0932 Collection on James Brown, 1964-1966, 0.07 l.f.
The Collection on James Brown is dated 1964 to 1966. The collection contains four black and white photographs, two promotional photos from T.A.M.I. Show film, a one newspaper clipping titled "James Brown Is Out of Sight" by Doon Arbus, and a "James Brown Story" promotional booklet. This collection gives insight into the stardom of James Brown in the 1960s.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0933 Randy Ada Collection of Photographic Materials, 1995-2005, undated, 1.67 l.f. 
The Randy Ada Collection of Photographic Materials consists of slides, negatives, and prints from performances at venues including the 9:30 Club (Washington, DC), Ziggys (Winston-Salem, NC), RFK Stadium (Washington, DC) and Coney Island High (New York, NY) between 1995-2005. Some of the featured artists include Van Halen, Green Day, Metallica, Pearl Jam and the Ramones. The majority of the materials are negatives, and it is noted at the file level if the format includes slides, photographs and/or contact sheets.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0936 Michael Mulvihill Big Star Set List, 1993, 0.07 l.f.
The Michael Mulvihill Big Star Set List consists of a handwritten set list from Big Star's 1993 reunion show.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0937 Tom Clareson Collection,1986-1992, 0.42 l.f.
The Tom Clareson Collection is dated 1986 to 1992 and contains undated materials. Series I: Promotional Photograph contains 120 black and white promotional photographs of musicians and bands from the 1980s and 1990s. The photographs arranged in alphabetical order by artist name. Series II: Programs and Directories consist of programs and directories from music conferences and seminars, including SXSW, CMJ Music Marathon, and Undercurrents, a Cleveland music conference. The promotional photographs will be useful for images of popular bands during the last quarter of the 20th century.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0938 MC Ren Lyrics, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The MC Ren Lyrics contain handwritten lyrics for N.W.A.'s "Niggaz 4 Life" and "100 Miles of Runnin'."The lyrics are undated.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0940 Marcus Henderson Studio Sheets and Photograph, undated, 0.07 l.f.
The Marcus Henderson Studio Sheets and Photograph contains undated materials. The collection consists of two handwritten studio sheets for "Hangar 18" (Megadeth) and one unknown song, recorded for the Guitar Hero video game. Also included is a signed promotional photograph of Henderson.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0941 Gordon Waller "Go Go Mania" Photographs, 1965, 0.07 l.f.
The Gordon Waller "Go Go Mania" Photographs consist of 2 photographs of a still of Peter Asher and Gordon Waller from the 1965 film "Go Go Mania," released in Britain as "Pop Gear."

National Archives NHPRCARC-0943 Tom Hamilton Aerosmith Collection, 1975, 0.07 l.f.
The Tom Hamilton Aerosmith Collection consists of one handbill for Alex Cooley's Electric Ballroom, Atlanta, 1975 with shows by Aerosmith, Steely Dan, ELO, and others. Also included are a blank piece of stationery and envelope featuring the Aero Force One fan club logo and a postcard or the Joe Perry Project International Fan Club.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0944 Des McAnuff Collection of The Who's Tommy Photographs and Program, 1992, 0.07 l.f.
The Des McAnuff Collection on The Who's Tommy stage production at California's La Jolla Playhouse (1992) includes one playhouse program featuring the cast, crew, and production notes. Also included are six 8 by 10-inch black-and-white production stills with scenes from the play.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0945 Victor Vanacore Conductor's Score for "Somewhere Over the Rainbow," undated,  0.92 l.f.
The Victor Vanacore Conductor's Score for "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" is undated. It was as arranged and conducted by the donor, Victor Vanacore, and recorded by Ray Charles and Johnny Mathis.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0947 Bill Graham Presents Collection, 1966-1996, 9.6 l.f
The Bill Graham Presents Collection is dated from 1996 to 1996 and contains undated materials. The collection is divided into two series: Series I: Posters, Tickets, and Handbills and Series II: Personal Papers. Series I contains a nearly comprehensive collection of 446 posters and 557 tickets from Bill Graham Presents concerts, which were primarily held at the Fillmore Auditorium (Fillmore West) in San Francisco, from 1966-1995. Series II consists of correspondence from Graham to his foster brother, Leroy Ehrenreich, asking for a reference to lease a property that would later become the Fillmore Auditorium, a small number of photographs of Graham and his son, and newspaper clippings relating to Graham presumably collected by Ehrenreich. The collection is of particular significance concert promoter, Bill Graham, had a profound influence on rock music and helped create San Francisco as the center of psychedelic music of the 1960s and 1970s. Seen in a broader context the collection provides insight into the promotion of rock concerts and bands from the 1960s to 1980s

National Archives NHPRCARC-0948 Tom Morello Veterinary Invoice, 1999, 0.07 l.f.
The Tom Morello Veterinary Invoice consists of one invoice for veterinary services for Tom Morello’s dogs. It is dated October 14, 1999.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0949 Bobby Jones Collection on Gene Vincent, 1950-1957, 0.07 l.f.
The Bobby Jones Collection on Gene Vincent consists of ESSO Standard Oil Company credit card signed by Gene Vincent dated March 31, 1957 and a poster for Gene Vincent and the Blue Caps dated 1950.

National Archives NHPRCARC-0950 Rick French Post-Induction Video, 2017, 523.8 MB
The Rick French Post-Induction Video was filmed after the 2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony and includes performances and interviews with members of Journey, Heart, and Yes.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum | Library and Archives
2809 Woodland Avenue | Cleveland, OH 44115 | 216.515.1956 | library@rockhall.org