LibGuides: Progressive Rock: ELO

Audio

Electric Light Orchestra by Electric Light Orchestra Reissue of Harvest SHVL 797 (1971), LP 33 1/3. Electric Light Orchestra (Jeff Lynne, vocals, guitar, piano, synthesizer; Kelly Groucett, vocals, bass; Richard Tandy, piano, Clavinet, synthesizer; Bev Bevan, drums, percussion); with various additional musicians.
Call Number: CD ELEC-L ELEC 2012
Afterglow by Electric Light Orchestra 3 audio discs : digital ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 booklet. Most selections previously released 1971-1986. Electric Light Orchestra (Jeff Lynne, vocals, guitar, piano, synthesizer; Kelly Groucett, vocals, bass; Richard Tandy, piano, Clavinet, synthesizer; Bev Bevan, drums, percussion); with various additional musicians.
Call Number: BOX ELEC-L AFTE 1990

Articles

Free articles are available on Rock's Back Pages through the Free on RBP link. The articles below may require you to be on-site at the Library & Archives in order to read them.

The Electric Light Orchestra: Eldorado by Ken Barnes, Rolling Stone, 2 January 1975
The Electric Light Orchestra Tunes Up - Bev Bevan’s Early History Of ELO by John Mendelsohn, Creem, 1981
Electric Light Orchestra: Roll Over Chuck Berry and Tell Beethoven the News by Richard Cromelin, Rolling Stone, 19 December 1974
ELO: Live in Philadelphia by Chris Charlesworth, Melody Maker, 5 January 1974
The Move: The Best Of The Move by Greg Shaw, Phonograph Record, May 1974
This article discusses The Move, the 1960s garage band out of which ELO grew with members including Roy Wood, Jeff Lynne, and Bev Bevan.
Electric Light Orchestra: Wembley Arena, London by Harry Doherty, Melody Maker, 10 June 1978
The author reviews a concert from ELO's legendary 1978 spaceship tour.
Electric Light Orchestra/Steve Hillage: Madison Square Garden, New York City by John Swenson, Rolling Stone, 11 February 1977
Electric Light Orchestra: Anaheim Stadium, Los Angeles by Sylvie Simmons, Sounds, 30 September 1978

Podcasts

Spotify Playlist

Video

Electric Light Orchestra Live: The Early Years by Electric Light Orchestra
Call Number: VID ELEC-L LIVE-E 2010
The Midnight Special by Various Artists
Call Number: BOX VAR MIDN 2014

Books

Electric Light Orchestra: Song by Song by John Van der Kiste
Call Number: ML421.E446 V36 2017
The Electric Light Orchestra Story by Bev Bevan
Call Number: ML421.E446 B48 1980

Google Books

YouTube Performances

Scores

Telephone Line by Jeff Lynne, Electric Light Orchestra
Call Number: M1741.2.L956 T44 1976

Archival Resources

Listed below are notable collections and items from the Rock Hall's Archives. You can find more by searching our catalog here.

Herb Staehr Collection
This collection includes an audio recording of an ELO and Fleetwood Mac concert from 1976 January 12, and a video recording of The Midnight Special TV series featuring ELO.

Jane Scott Papers
Rock critical for the Plain Dealer from 1952-2002, this collection includes photographs and promotional material of ELO from 1973.

Jim Clevo Papers
Includes 1981 documents on ELO.

Michael Ochs Collection
This collection includes 1977-1978 materials related to ELO, including a 1977 poster for "Out of the Blue" and a concert poster and program from "The Big Night" tour (spaceship tour).

Philadelphia Inquirer Photographs
Photographs on ELO from 1981, 1988.