LibGuides: World Series of Rock: 50 Years Later: Rolling Stones

Books

All of our books on the Rolling Stones can be found here.

The Rolling Stones by Heather Miller
Call Number: ML421.R655 M555 2011
The Rolling Stones by Simon Wells; Getty Images, Inc. Staff
Call Number: ML421.R655 W46 2006
Old Gods Almost Dead by Stephen Davis
Call Number: ML421.R655 D39 2001
The Rough Guide to the Rolling Stones by Sean Egan; Rough Guides Staff
Call Number: ML421.R655 E43 2006

Podcasts

It's December 1969 and a young Mick Jagger announces a free outdoor show that some believe will be the Woodstock of the West. But things don't go as planned, the consequences of which will be felt for decades to come.

Behind the Song

The song "Angie," released on the Rolling Stones' Goats Head Soup album in 1973, has been the subject of much debate over the years. Is there an actual "Angie" and if so, who is she? Unravel the many rumors about the namesake of this classic tune in this episode of the Behind the Song podcast.

Audio

All of our audio by the Rolling Stones can be found here.

'Get yer ya-ya's out!' : the Rolling Stones in concert.
Call Number: CD ROLL GET-Y 2002
Grrr! by The Rolling Stones
Call Number: CD ROLL GRRR 2012
The singles, 1971-2006
Call Number: BOX ROLL SINGL 2011

Video

All our video on the Rolling Stones can be found here and here.

The Rolling Stones : the video
Call Number: DVD ROLL VIDE 2009
Ladies & gentlemen : the Rolling Stones
Call Number: DVD ROLL LADI 2010
The Rolling Stones : the Mick Taylor years : 1969-1974
Call Number: DVD ROLL UNDE 2010

Youtube

Archival Collections

Archival materials related to ELO can be found here . Listed below are notable collections and items of interest.

ARC-0001 Art Collins Papers
Series III and IV of this collection contain correspondence and audiovisual materials documenting the Stones during Collins' time as an executive at Rolling Stones Records and beyond, as Collins followed their career.
ARC-0031 Atlantic Recording Corporation Records
Series I, III, IV, and V of this collection contain materials on the Rolling Stones, including album artwork, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and documents relating to albums Sticky Fingers , Exile on Main Street, Goat Head's Soup, Made in the Shade, and Black and Blue, among others.
ARC-0037 Jeff Gold Collection
Series I, II, and III of this collection contain materials related to Rolling Stones' album artwork, photographs, press releases, tour itineraries and programs. Series II contains documents from Alvenia Bridges, executive production assistant for the live concert film Let’s Spend the Night Together; while Series III contains documents from Rolling Stones Records executive Art Collins, 1975-1981. Series V, VI, and VII of the collection also contain Rolling Stones materials, including audio, video, photographs, posters, and press releases.

Articles

These articles are available in the Free section of the database Rock's Back Pages.

World Series of Rock: 50 Years Later: Rolling Stones

Rolling Stones

During their 50-plus year career, The Rolling Stones have married their love of blues and American R&B with a vast array of styles and genres: disco, garage, psychedelic rock and even punk.